Let’s Make A Hair Bonnet-A Must Have

in NeedleWorkMonday4 months ago
For some days now,I’ve been going to bed without scarfing my hair which makes it very unkempt anytime I wake up. I’m sure so many people experience this too and it gets very annoying especially after you’ve braided your hair. One of the most easiest way to keep your new hairdo is to scarf before going to bed but mostly we see the scarf come off in the morning(still wondering how that happens).This makes a hair bonnet the next reliable thing to depend on to keep your hairdo very neat and intact throughout the night.

After experiencing this for a while,I decided to make a hair bonnet for myself.Since I am learning how to sew and have the opportunity and tools at my disposal,I decided to just try my best.I made this within less than an hour and would recommend this for anyone who is finding ways to keep thier hairdo for a longer period or anyone who always wants to wake up seeing their hair just as how they went to bed.


The materials I used:

  • Ankara fabric
  • satin
  • measuring tape
  • a pair of scissors
  • elastic band


Process
I started by cutting a circle from both the ankara fabric and satin.The circle was big enough to cover braids and heads of all kinds.I’m sure you might be asking why “braids and heads of all kinds”.As a little sister to two elder sisters,this bonnet is not even entirely for me as they have their share in it.I’m sure you’d understand this if you have siblings.

I now sewed the ends of the circle so the satin and the fabric sticks together.The satin will be the inner of the bonnet because it has a protective texture that is good for hair and will prevent any oil or moisture leakage from hair as it cannot absorb moisture so well.

I measured about an inch and sewed to make a casing for the elastic band.If you can remember,the easiest thing for me when I started learning how to sew was sewing in circles,so I really enjoyed sewing the casing.

I now measured my head circumference using a measuring tape and transferred it onto an elastic band and cut that length.Using a safety pin, I passed the elastic band through the casing and sealed the entrance of the casing to complete the bonnet.

The result is as seen below and I really love it.I was so excited by the time I finished and I can’t wait to sleep to tonight.

This was my first time making a hair bonnet and it was even very easier than I thought. What I realised after this project was that my confidence was boosted because I barely made a mistake.
It’s very important to start from the little things to the bigger things especially if you’re learning how to sew.They really help you understand the basics in sewing and also boost your confidence as I said earlier.Above all, you really have fun making them and the joy you get when you finish is unmatched.
Thank you for your time and I hope you like it as much as I do.

Sort:  

Congratulations @abenad! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 900 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

The bonnet is beautiful,especially the material you used..don't worry I will soon order one for my mum.

Thank you.
Will be expecting your order soon.

Nice one dear.
Make it plenty let's put it in market 😅

That's a Ghanaian colour... I mean the design of the fabric 😅.
That's what Black Stars wore to Cote d'Ivoire

😂😂don’t remind me of our loss

Lol😅

God and pray hard on the next game

Is there anything you can't make ?

😂😂😂😂😂

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you.

I love the simplicity of the hair bonnet you made, it came out very beautiful and the fabric used is so attractive. Nice job dear.

Thank you.

My dear you are trying o. This cap really look beautiful. I love the material you used for this project

Thank you so much.

This looks very simple and nice. I particularly love the fabric!

Thank youuu.

It looks pretty good. Good to see how you made this bonnet. Great job!

Thank you.

Abenad!!!!!!!! This bonnet!!!! I’m definitely taking it from you. It’s mine. It’s so pretty.

Yes please,I’m sending it☺️
Thank you.