Dinosaur Fabric and Gender / 恐竜の生地から考えるジェンダー

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago (edited)

0DA78CF4-BDB8-4A2D-AF7B-B8DF35075074_1_201_a.jpeg

My daughter likes monsters (you may know our @monster.factory), robots, and dinosaurs and wear green and blue. Of course she is interested in Anna and Elsa from Frozen as other girls in her age do.

Few days ago my eyes were caught by an Instagram post by Melonie, one of my favorite fabric stores. It is a dinosaurs fabric but not a typical boy-ish one. The dinosaurs printed on the fabric look friendly and peacefully living in nature.

Why not I sew something for my daughter with the fabric. I rush to the shop and bought a meter of the fabric today. I was so happy to see it in real.

I like my daughter's unique preference. Yet it is not influenced too much by friends, adults in her surrounding, marketing etc. I wish she keeps it and insists on what she likes and not.

While I raise my daughter, I notice there are a lot of push of "typical girl image". Glittery unicorn shirt is the typical example. I don't think all the girls like it naturally but they start liking it by seeing it. We should wear what we really like and what we really feel comfortable.

I myself wasn't a girlish girl. I didn't like to wear skirt (it's not practical), I wanted to keep my hair short and enjoyed making robot and car figures. On the other hand I liked activities that is more regarded as girls' such as cooking, baking, gardening, knitting, sewing etc.

I grew up comfortably as my mother supported most of my choices. I'm glad she didn't push me dolls and put on pinky clothes.

So same as my mother did, I would like to respect what my daughter likes and don't want to push my preference or typical gender image formed in society. Instead, I would like to tell her to choose what she likes and feels comfortable about. If she cannot find something she wants, we can make it!

Ja, my role is to support her to find how she can live her life happily.


うちの子どもは女の子でモンスター(@monster.factory!)、ロボット、恐竜が好きで、緑と青の服をよく着ています。もちろん同年代の女の子と同じようにアナと雪の女王にも興味があります。私は食わず嫌いです 😅

数日前、お気に入りの生地屋さんMelonieの恐竜の生地のInstagramの投稿に目がくぎづけになりました。よくある男の子っぽい生地ではなくて、恐竜が自然の中で平和に暮らしているような親しみのあるデザインです。

この生地で子どもに何か縫いたいなと思い、今日1メートルほど買ってきました。実物を見て想像通りで大喜びでした。

私は子どもの個性的な好みが好きです。まだ友だちや周りの大人、マーケティングなどにはあまり影響されていないようで、おもしろいものを好きだといいます。このまま、自分の好きなもの、嫌いなものを主張していってほしいです。

子どもを育てていると「典型的な女の子像」の押し付けが多いことに気づきます。キラキラしたユニコーンのシャツなどがその典型。すべての女の子が生まれながらにそれを好きなのではなく、それを見ているうちに好きになるのだと思います。本当に好きなもの、本当に心地よいと思うものを身につけるのがいいのになと気持ち悪く感じます。キラキラはあまり環境にもよくないだろうし・・・なんて、でもこれは私の好みですね。

私自身は、女の子らしい女の子ではありませんでした。スカートを履くのは嫌いだったし、髪は短くしたかったし、ロボットや車のプラモデルを作るのが好きでした。漫画も少年漫画が好きでした。でも料理やお菓子作り、ガーデニング、編み物、裁縫といった一般的に女の子らしいとされることも好きでした。男の子になりたかったわけではなく、単に好きなことが両方にまたがっていただけです。

母が私の選択のほとんどを支持してくれたので、私は思い返してみるとのびのび大きくなったと思います(勉強だけは厳しかったけれど)。人形を押し付けられたり、ピンクの服を着せられたりしなくてよかった w

母がそうであったように私も娘の好みを尊重し、私の好みや社会で形成された典型的なジェンダーイメージを押し付けないようにしたいと思っています。その代わり、子どもには「自分が好きなもの、心地よいと思うものを選ぶといいよ」と伝えたいです。もしほしいものがみつからなかったら一緒に作ろう。

私の役割は、子どもがのびのび幸せに大きくなれるようにサポートすることだなあなんて考えるのでした。

Sort:  

Thank you for voting for @pizza.witness. I noticed that your account recovery is set to "steem". This means that if you lose access to your Hive account, you will likely be unable to recover it. I would highly recommend changing the recovery account to someone in the community that you know and trust.

Thanks @hivetrending. It's a really good advice! I think about who to ask to.

Wow nice thanks for sharing @akipponn

いい話です〜。親子代々の素敵な子育て方法がそうやって伝わっていくんですねー。恐竜大好きなお子さんかっこいいです!

好きなもの、心地よいと思うもの

ほんとですね。大賛成です!