Hooks and Crosses (Crochet and Cross Stitch)

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Howdy Needleworkers!

It's been a while. We've been busy with our homeschool lately, but thankfully we're finally done, and can relax a bit until we start the next academic year.

Looking back to my last #needleworkmonday contribution, I cannot believe that it's already been a month! Seriously, I think there's something wrong with the calendars. Even that cross stitch project had to be parked for a while to give more time to finish our academics before the assessment.

So now we're back to our "crafter mode", both me and my Little Miss trying to learn something new during this break.

Hooks and Crosses

Mommy Learns How To Crochet

As I mentioned, we now have more time for other activities and thanks to this amazing community, I got introduced to crocheting. I keep on saying, I wished I learned this skill at school. Crochet was never a part of our curriculum, so whenever I see amazing projects shared here, I get amused and inspired.

There's no sense "wishing", when not taking action! During one of our chats at the HivePH Discord, I asked @romeskie how I can somehow start this journey, like what kind of hook and yarn should I get? She said something about... well I cannot actually remember. It sounded like a chemical equation to me though I am sure it was something basic. LMAO. So next time I went for grocery, I went to the crafts section to pick up my first hook and a ball of yarn.

Let's learn how to crochet.

I really had no idea what I was up to, and just took a 3.00mm hook and whatever yarn I thought made sense (and the color I liked Lol).

It still took me a few days before I had the time to really sit down and watch a few tutorials. I'd say, it was really "addicting". The videos kept on replaying in my mind even in my sleep. "Yarn over, pull through. Yarn over, pull through." Lol.

After a few videos, I learned how to make chains, single crochet, double crochet, and half double crochet.

I seriously need to work on my grip and tension to be able to make better looking stitches!

Just last night, I tried to follow a tutorial on how to make a granny square. I thought I followed the instructions properly, but what I got was a "granny round"! Lmao.

"Granny Round" 😂

Definitely, there is something wrong with the tutorial... err, my counts, stitches, and the tension. Haha. I decided to park my hook for the evening and tried again this morning.

IMG_20200824_133221.jpg

This one looks more "square-ish", though I know something is still wrong. Haha. Definitely more room for improvement. Any tips and tricks from the pros here is really appreciated. 😍


Little Miss and Her Cross Stitch Project

She sees me stitching, she wants to stitch too! So Little Miss took out her cross stitch project and started working on it. I have to say, she has already made tremendous improvement since the last time.

When before, I needed to be with her all the way through, she can now finish a line without or with very little supervision. I only need to point out to her where she needs to start and where to end. She does half cross stitch all the way through first, then goes back to finish the cross.

Is there something like a "pro" needle threader? Well, she's that already. Haha. She can easily slip the thread through, not like her "blind" mom.

She can also now spot where she made an error and come to me for help. Sometimes I do the correction, but sometimes, I just teach her how to rectify it on her own.

So far, she is really enjoying this activity. She gets anxious whenever she makes "accidents", but I try to explain to her that it's part of her learning.

Likewise, I am keen to get better at crocheting, so that I can also teach the same to my children. Wouldn't be a nice idea to make crochet projects together? Yay! I'm so excited, and just can't hide it!

How about you dear friends, what's stitching?

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

when she found out i was your sister, i do remember mrs enriquez saying something about your handicraft skills... or lack thereof. 😂

Oh, I can't wait to show her my "granny rounds". hahaha

I don't see a problem, just some very nice coasters ;D

Have yours ever been to school? I'm trying to work out where this terror of getting stuff wrong comes from and with my middle child I am blaming the three terms she spent in high school (she desperately wanted school to work out for her so shrilly maintains she always hated getting stuff wrong but it didn't cripple her previously, now she sometimes won't even try things in case she gets it wrong).

I better start making more coasters for a business. haha

Nope, this girl has never been to school. Only my eldest attended 3 years of trad school though. I think for her, in this project, since there are patterns and squares, then she immediately sees that some strands are different from the rest. But yeah, she tends to often say "accidents", I think for things that do not go as what she intended.

 4 years ago  

So cool you are inspired to learn crochet!!! I also never learned it at school and not from my mother (she teaches me knitting, but at that time I sadly found it not „cool“) I guess the main difficulties at the beginning in crochet is to identify the individual stitches (and therefore where to place the stitch) and the turning chains. You are nearly there with your granny square (which is by the way not the easiest thing to do :-D)
I will write about your second attempt:
The first round is perfect, you have evenly spaced 4x3 stitches divided by the chains for the corners. But in the next row the stitches are no longer evenly distributed. You have too many/too less stitches in the corners.
I find it easier to work with a schematic for crochet, as I can visualise better where the stitches are placed.

0BAC9B45-DF59-4C83-8164-75ABFE073A76.jpeg

You can see that the stitches are becoming more per round as you always place three stitches in one chain.... (this is only one pattern for a granny square, there are several others, but they have in common that the stitches get regularly more per round)
So, many words on my side, but I am not sure I could help. Perhaps @crosheille or @muscara has an idea how to explain it better?

Aha! I have not explored these kinds of diagrams and they indeed seem to be easier to follow. I was following a yt tutorial and it was a pain to pause/play each time-- sure way to get lost. 😂 I'll try with these schematics next time around. Thank you for the tips! ❤️

@JustinParke here on behalf of ASEAN Hive Community.

Awesome post @arrliinn, you and @romeskie are both very talented.

My mom tried to teach me this as a kid, but I only ended up very frustrated. I did, however, manage to learn the basics of a sewing machine.

⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀ 100% ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ & ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
SUBSCRIBE TO ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY
⋆ ᴀ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ ᴏʀɪɢɪɴᴀʟ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ғᴏᴏᴅ, ᴛʀᴀᴠᴇʟ, ᴘʜᴏᴛᴏɢʀᴀᴘʜʏ, ᴘᴏʟɪᴛɪᴄs, ᴀʀᴛ, & ᴍᴏʀᴇ
⋆ ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴏᴜʀ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
 4 years ago  

That is so sweet, @justinparke. 😍 She uis indeed very talented. I'm looking forward to @arrliinn's crochet projects! 😍😍😍

Aww, thanks! @justinparke! @romeskie is a legend already. 😎

My kids are too eager to learn this already, but I told them to wait for a while until I become better. Besides, I only have 1 hook. Haha

 4 years ago  

Oooooh! Galing galing!!! Ganyan din mga ginawa ko nung una ko pa lang magtry. Panay doily kasi tinuturo ng mama ko sa kin. Tapos nag explore na lang ako ulit nung 2018. Youtube na ng mga designs! Tamang tama, makakagawa ka ng costume ni Little Miss para sa Halloween party! 😊😊😊

So ciempre nagconsult pko kay Mr G Kung ano ung doily. 😂 Nakaka excite pag may nakikita ka na kasi na nabubuo. Oi, 2 months to make a halloween costume. God bless me. 😂

Congratulations @arrliinn on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community. Your post is featured in our

ASEAN Hive Daily Top 3️ 📅 August 25th, 2020 🌏.

You are 10% beneficiary of the post and you get a !BEER too.


Hey @arrliinn, here is a little bit of BEER from @asean.hive for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #40.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

Hello @arrliinn! Your post was selected by our staff on behalf of the OCD Community Incubation Program and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!!! Please keep sharing these quality posts :)

I invite you to continue sharing anything needlework related directly to the NeedleWorkMonday Community. On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days the #needlework tag.

Written by @crosheille for the NeedleWorkMonday Community ~