You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hooks and Crosses (Crochet and Cross Stitch)

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

So cool you are inspired to learn crochet!!! I also never learned it at school and not from my mother (she teaches me knitting, but at that time I sadly found it not „cool“) I guess the main difficulties at the beginning in crochet is to identify the individual stitches (and therefore where to place the stitch) and the turning chains. You are nearly there with your granny square (which is by the way not the easiest thing to do :-D)
I will write about your second attempt:
The first round is perfect, you have evenly spaced 4x3 stitches divided by the chains for the corners. But in the next row the stitches are no longer evenly distributed. You have too many/too less stitches in the corners.
I find it easier to work with a schematic for crochet, as I can visualise better where the stitches are placed.

0BAC9B45-DF59-4C83-8164-75ABFE073A76.jpeg

You can see that the stitches are becoming more per round as you always place three stitches in one chain.... (this is only one pattern for a granny square, there are several others, but they have in common that the stitches get regularly more per round)
So, many words on my side, but I am not sure I could help. Perhaps @crosheille or @muscara has an idea how to explain it better?

Sort:  

Aha! I have not explored these kinds of diagrams and they indeed seem to be easier to follow. I was following a yt tutorial and it was a pain to pause/play each time-- sure way to get lost. 😂 I'll try with these schematics next time around. Thank you for the tips! ❤️