Finishing Even When We Know It Isn't How We Want It...

DSC_0042.JPG

My beautiful Needlework community,

DSC_0035.JPG

I wanted to sew a lot more this week, and was frustratingly pulled into dramas with a neighbour's cats and her offending Workawayers, which led to me worrying too much about someone else's animals, and less about my projects in hand...

DSC_0037.JPG

It is amazing how much frictions from outside can get in the way of creativity: there is such a subtle symbiosis of quiet mind and heart, wide open space and time, emptiness from distractions - and various other essential pillars, that make it a space to make in.

DSC_0036.JPG

By Sunday things had calmed down for the major part (the cats have a continuum of caretakers, and I have drawn my boundaries with the Drama Friend), and after constructing a simple-but-large bamboo porch frame from my Arthouse front door, made a magnificent Sunday lunch with fresh fava beans, washed my new vintage linen from the market... I settled into sewing for the evening!

DSC_0038.JPG

It is also amazing to me, how much resistance can endure throughout a project that I am essentially very excited about and proud of... BUT the perfect, quaint, artistic shoes are NOT going to come into manifestation this time!

DSC_0039.JPG

DSC_0041.JPG

There is quite a sticky energy that I have to wade through, to get to the 'I did it!! I made my perfect shoes!!' part. Knowing that this perfection is not going to happen THIS week, is a dampening influence on my enthusiastic powering forward.

DSC_0043.JPG

DSC_0040.JPG

It is not the only place where I'm dampened; I have fabric overwhelm and some remorse about leaving my Art. behind (whilst attempting to keep climbing this immense learning curve where I most certainly do NOT have the mastery that I aspire to). I kind of hate having to be a child again, to be un-master at something, whilst holding this strong vision of all that wants to come into being through me!

DSC_0048.JPG

It is wholly disrupting to to be able to simply switch needle for paintbrush, and sewing machine for easel. Immersing in that career which I MIGHT have had also is bringing up so many emotions of all the ways that my natural passions have been quelled by others, and by the world.

DSC_0049.JPG

So my gratitude is really huge, to all of you who encourage and support my learning! Being on Hive is like having community sponsorship, giving me not just the great words of inspiration and the examples of others who have made it past this hard part - but the financial reward (and to some degree the stability) to help me see that this will all come together in the end.

DSC_0046.JPG

Thank you BEAUTY-FULL community, especially of you here in NeedleWorkMonday!! I love you all, and I love seeing your work unfold alongside my own: it feels at times as if we are all sharing a big old building as a workshop, with a cosy tea corner and a stove warming us all... This is essential to have, when one is trying to shoot for the stars - without a spaceship ;-)

DSC_0045.JPG

Big love and thanks, and I hope you are all thriving this week!

Clare.signed.JPG

www.claregaiasophia.com

homepage.png

Sort:  

They look fabulous. Be proud of yourself for the crafting of such shoes!

Thank you so much for commenting so beautifully, dear @jendasek ... I am getting more confident with them as they progress - and thanks to the encouragement! Hope you are having wonderful travels.... You are both much missed here 🪷🤗

Ah, I know that feeling so well, I’m kind of in the sane boat right know with my attempts to make videos (I’m practicing for over half a year now). It’s something completely new to me and actually the hardest thing I’ve ever learned, and I do feel like a child sometimes ^^
But it feels so right, even though it is so hard. I just know I have to push through the discomfort somehow and it will be amazing and so worth it sometime.

Yes, so worth it! It is very good to acknowledge that something can feel so very difficult AND YET so very Right at the same time: we are so conditioned to accept only 'bought' success, and not the sweated-for kind... but those of us who know, get this embodied, multidimensional learning and integration when we embrace the hardest challenges... YEH! All power to you dearest @anafae ! 🌞😍❤️‍🔥💫🌻

Such an important message! I know that there are many projects that I have left half undone because it isnt going in the right direction, or rather, not as I had hoped. I dislike looking at my slopy first tries but, it is so important to try new things. Actually now I have a lot of my first tries at basket weaving on display on the wall above my kitchen. Now that I have gotten to a place where I am happy with my baskets the first tries seem cute, kind of like the expressing (though unrefined) drawings of little kids which are just so endearing.

Aaaah, @calendulacraft - this is a lovely way to look at it: I agree too, with when we have our earlier attempts on display - WHEN the better versions have evolved! - they can look pretty cool and sweet, hehe! It is good too, to think of such a moment as not so far in the future, to avoid being bogged down with the present struggles.
And it helped a lot, writing the post today: I already went down outside to sit and work in the sunlight, and this brought a whole new energy - I can see the finish line now!
Thanks for your lovely encouragement, masterful friend!

😚

Greetings @clareartista, reading your experience in the process of making the shoes, made me remember when I made my first bag, things did not turn out as I had thought and it took me much more time than it required, I left many projects on hold because I wanted to make the bag and after several weeks I managed to do it, I was very happy to achieve it and along the way I discovered new techniques that until today have been very useful.

I hope to see your finished shoes in the near future, I'm sure it will be very satisfying for you to see your project finished, after a long journey.

Have a great week!

Aw, thank you most sincerely dearest @belkyscabrera ! YES, I already found my mojo after writing the post this morning, and have a second post in mind, as it seems to have gone from barely-scraping-past-the-middle... to suddenly almost being fully complete! Just saying it all out loud helped enormously, and now I am off outside again in the sunshine to do the small buttons at the inside of the shoe. I am much more motivated, so thank you again for being the wave of enthusiasm carrying me forwards!
#🤗