Basics of Weaving (01) : How to draw design in a fabric (Diamond Design)

Woven Fabric Design


In Textile fabric production, there are at least 4 types of fabric making techniques and thus fabric is classified into four categories. These are-

  • Knitting
  • Weaving
  • Braiding
  • Non woven

Out of four, first three are related to needle work. Similar to knitting, weaving needs some ups and down movement of yarn to produce different looking design. In that case loom is used to interlace the vertical (warp thread) and horizontal (weft thread) at right angle. But when it is done at home by needle to achive design by interlacement, there need to follow some formula. Most of the cases rural women do this from experience here in Bangladesh. But if they would follow the rules of design, then they could make it more easily and variations could be achived easily as well. So, Today i shall show Diamond design today in step by step guidelines. Hopefully, it will be interesting learning post for the diamond design producers.


Some Basic Information

Fabric produced by weaving weather in hand loom, power loom, modern loom or by needle is the interlacement of two sets of yarns. By changing the variation, a variety of design can be achieved in a fabric.

This variation is called the Woven fabric structure and fabric design. A woven cloth is formed by the interlacement of two sets of threads, namely, warp and weft threads. Warp yarns (vertical or parallel to the width of fabric) basically the yarns along the length of the fabric and weft yarns (horizontal yarns which are perpendicular to the fabric side) means the yarns along the width of fabric.

Pattern of Woven Fabric.jpg

In the figure above and all in this post, Bold Black or Cross sign in the cell indicates the warp yarn is up above the weft yarn and Blank cell indicates the weft yarn is up above the warp yarns. This is the general information (basic) you need to know first.

Now lets move on to the Diamond design


Diamond Design


As the name is diamond its basically looks exactly like a diamond. We know how diamond looks like. So, we need to achive the diamond shape by interlacing of warp and weft thread. It can be achieved anywhere you are going to draw this pattern beyond woven fabric also.

Some Example of Diamond First

See some example of Diamond design first-

Diamond Sample.png


Steps to Follow

Step 01

The design needs to be drawn in a point paper or graph paper first, then move to the incorporation into fabric. Here i am showing in a spreadsheet to make it clear to you that how it exactly looks like. In my excel sheet, i shall draw a reapeat, and finally in the right side you can check how it looks like in fabric.

1.png

You can see here, i have taken 10 cell for warp and 10 cells for weft. And divided these into four equal parts.


Step 02

Out of this the four cells, i have drawn twill design (2/3). Twill design is the design which produces diagonal line. Here 2 is up and 3 is down.
(Note: This is the variation you can do, if you know the rules. Like you can use here 4/1, 3/2, 1/4 also)

1.png
In right hand side, you can see how it will looks like. (green is warp thread and red is weft thread)


Step 03

This the crucial steps. You must concentrate and be careful at this step. Figure below you can see the numbering at the bottom of the design.

2.png

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 5. It means 1-5 frist, then exclude the highest one (5), then reverse the numbers (4-1) then place the highest one (5) at last. This is the rule for all diamond design.
For example, for 12 warp and 12 weft desing, the numbering should be like 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 6.
Now just copy paste. I have copied 1 in 1, 2 into 2 accordingly. Here i have shown copying of 5 number yellow colour and 1 & 5 by arrow colour. Right hand side is showing how the design will looks like at this stage. Hope you have understand. If not, can comment below in the post.


Step 04

See the same numbering at the right side. That is 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 5 top to bottom. Now just copy paste of first five into rest five according to number same as previous step.

4.png
Here, i have shown beside the design, how i have copied 4th number into the next 4.
Now you can see the magic done. The Diamond Design Right side is showing how the fabric will look like.


Lets see some examples

Diamond 1.jpg
Figure: Diamond Design shown in the example above




Diamond 2.png
Figure: This Diamond Design is construed based on 2/2 twill (that means 8 warp and 8 weft)




Diamond 3.jpg
Figure: This Diamond Design is construed based on 3/3 twill (that means 12 warp and 12 weft)


Hope you have understand it. Now you can prominent several diamond design into your fabrics, quilts, hand fans and many places by following this principle. You can draw hundreds of diamond by changing the number of ups and downs of twill. That't it.


Application of Diamond Design

For longer float diamond design fabrics are not firm enough, this design is normally in hand fans, towels, bed sheets, quilts, sofa covering, curtain, table cloth, decorated and fancy fabrics etc purposes.


My towel.jpg


IMG20200828071226.jpg

Here, you can see my towel and hand fan made by my sister with diamond design. If you still face trouble, then feel free to ask me in comment.





Be creative and make some needle works.

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxJ4wFsG4h87wPThsAYPWQQG5Mp6ohvcJnAdTCW2XmJpX4hedRgyD8hk1EVH7AskWH6VKLkF95MiWEhst4efBoDyw2HvGpq6sGPhF1KSWtLPqNbBuAkiBfX4.jpg


Thanks for stopping by.



You can check some of my previous post’s into this community on Needle Work

01. Making Quilt for my baby and Procedure of quilt making
02. Hand Fan made with needle and thread by my sister
03. Basics of Knitting : Technical Face and Technical Back
04. Quilt culture in Bangladesh and some quilts for my baby


Thanks to @crosheille for initiating such a good community



Who I am:

I am lecturer of Textile Engineering in Bangladesh. I love Textile and its related accessories. Being a lecturer on Fabric Manufacturing, I need to perform knitting and weaving activities regularly. I stay with needle and textile machineries. Recently I have found this amazing needle work community. Hopefully I shall share my needle works which I love to do to this community.


So, in this community I shall show one after one about my needle work. As a Textile Engineer, I need to knit several fabrics with knitting machine by the help of needle. Hopefully I shall show one after one of those knitting, crochet and weaving works from both manual and mechanical.


I want to express my ideas and learnings to this community so that anyone can be benefited from me. I blog in YouTube, DTube and Hive on Textile, Online Money making and Random topics. I love to capture Natural Photography. I am always a learner and wants to go to the moon with this platform.

zxddz4gt63.gif

Upvote, Resteem and Follow me on hive @engrsayful


Find me on social media

Follow me on DTube
Follow me on Youtube
Follow me on ThreeSpeak
Follow me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter

Sort:  

once upon a time my wife and my mom also do this work .really this are very interesting. anyway gentleman thanks for share your experience. hope those people interest this kind of work if they check this post , I believe they benefited.

thanks for your comment brother. I have made this long post and with some hard work for the community of needlework