You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More Leggings or why sewing your own clothes?

in NeedleWorkMondaylast year (edited)

I like everything that has had an owner. Whether it's an old flat, a car, furniture or even a piece of clothing. It has a history, even if I don't know it. The ghosts of the previous owners are in the things. HaHa! Or at least that's what I like to think. The tinkering and the doing, the mental and physical occupation of tailoring gives me just as much pleasure. I am just mighty proud to see something homemade in front of me, the result of a process from start to finish. When do you have that in this modern world where everything depends on everything else and where ready-made things can be bought on every corner? But I certainly wouldn't want to miss it. Without these finished things, I couldn't make a single piece of clothing. Making a sewing needle alone would be an impossibility.

I hope you enjoyed the post.

You too have a good evening.

Sort:  

Yes I did enjoy your post!
I love how you talked about all the background of you stile-inspiration and the Epoche!

The ghosts of the previous owners are in the things.

...imagining those stories. And then you transform them and put different ones together and create a whole new story collaging the old ones and adding your own.

For sure making the needle yourself, it gets onto another path (fish bones?) mad if you think that you could somehow make everything yourself... but for some tings I am happy that they are there and I dont have to bother:)