creating my dream jeans from scratch

I am into sewing for quite a while now, and I must say there is one subject that I always avoided: trousers.

13finished.jpeg

It is, in my eyes, tough I believe to share that opinion with many others, one of the most difficult clothing to create from scratch. Why? Because any little curve or line you move for one centimeter, changes the whole look. You can observe that pretty well when you try on trousers. In some your ass looks bigger or flatter, the legs seem longer or shorter, in some you would feel fat or too thin. Whatever you like or dislike, about looks, you’ll find it just by trying on different clothing, when your shapes and sizes and look stay the same all along…
Especially trousers are known to pinch you in certain places and have too much loose fabric in another, and some will only look good in that one position, that you can certainly not maintain for a full day, not even an hour.

Now I would love to share with you my latest project, took me over a week to accomplish, but there it is, my first pair of fitting jeans.
1skizze.jpg

4fabric.jpg

3matterial.jpg

The idea was to make a pair of jeans, that would be comfortable enough to wear all the time but elegant at the same time. Therefor I used my working trousers, for the sewing-pattern, that I transferred onto my fabric. (I wrote about that whole process of copping the pattern in my last post …. so, I won’t talk about it here)
Then I did add the details. What my imagination, regarding elegant jeans came up with was, that the waist should be plain and show no buttons at the front, instead I placed the sip at the back. On the legs I wanted to leave the side seam open, up to the ankles. Like that I create an optic of wide-leg trousers from the front and on the side ankles or shoes would show through.

Really the most part of my attention I did pay to the waistband. Adding folds at the front and in the back.

6tryon.jpeg

It was an endless back and forth to the bathroom-mirror, to check if everything is still in place...

10theback.jpeg
...until I managed to create the waistband I had imagined.

If you read one of my previous posts here on hive, you would have noticed, that a lot of my work turns around upcycling and the term of “slow fashion”. Well in this case I did design, construct and sew the trousers from scratch. Nevertheless, the jeans-material I had was from a secondhand shop. You could say I didn’t upcycle an existing item, but I reused an existing fabric, without using “new” materials.

2matterial.jpg

5thread.jpg

Even a lot of the threads I can find them second hand. One thing that I find amazing about that, is that very often you’ll find high quality materials, that if you would buy them new would cost quite much, or that don’t even get produced in that way anymore. Here you go for example 100% silk thread made in Switzerland. On top of it the color of it is just beautiful and fitting perfect to give a invisible seam on the outside of my jeans.
7sewing.jpg

9mesewing.jpeg

Regarding Jeans in fashion, it is probably one of the most popular pieces of clothing, regardless of country and culture, you’ll find a pair of jeans in almost every corner of this planet, I guess. Apart from that it is an item that, unfortunately also plays a big role in the destructiveness of the fashion industry. Just naming the example of how much water is used to produce one pair of jeans (it is around 10`000 to 7000 liters), is quite shocking.

Regarding those numbers, jeans are an item, that is definitely worth being reused, or upcycled. In that matter it was very inspiring to come across the #needleworkyourjeans contest of the @needleworkmonday community. And even though I got inspired by the contest to work with jeans fabric, I didn’t get to upcycle another pair of jeans. (So, I didn’t make it in time to the contest) Nevertheless, I appreciate the trigger of inspiration I got from it to work with jeans fabric and to finally complete the object of creating my dream trousers from scratch. And thats what they look like...

11finished.jpeg

12finished.jpeg

14finished.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed this project I share with you, and I am looking forward to what you might say about it.
Thanks for stopping by, see you around and util then have a lovely time!!

Sort:  

They look great. I really like the pattern. Very like shape.

Thank you!! That is very nice to hear:))

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!!!:)

I Like the way the down part is and the opening by the side looks really beautiful thanks for sharing

Thanks!! You are welcome, It is very nice to hear that you like it!:)

I admire people that know how to draw a design and bring it to life. The jean is awesome and it suits you perfectly.

Thanks for stopping by, well it too me some time to get there.. a lot of practice i guess.. appreciate your feedback:)

It turns out good imo. Is the jeans material all elastic? I wish that I have the skills as you are, I will make a lot of design for myself and take photos xD , thank you for sharing this and keep up the great work!

Thank you, thats very nice, I will!!!:) no the material is not elastic at all.. it is like a common thick jeans fabric.

I really like the way you formatted and arranged your post. Seeing the steps helps people like me, that don't know much about what goes into the fabrication, get a better understanding of all the work involved. I have always thought that jeans/trousers would be one of the more challenging things to make from scratch... Escpecially, to be fitted for women. Great job and you definitely put your style into the final look.
Have a great weekend and keep up the awesome work! =)

Thank you!!:) Thats great to hear, I was especially paying more attention onto the Photos of the process, going more in the direction of an overview, and also trying to show different aspects of the process, so I am very happy that you actually pointed that out:) And yess it was difficult.. but thats cool that you can see my stile in the final piece:) You too, have a beautiful weekend!!

This format is definitely more comprehensive... but you have always put a great effort into your content and how to display it in your posts. I just wanted you to know this post seemed to have a little extra something! =)

:)) thats cool, I do find it quiet difficult sometimes to understand how others will perceive my work, since in my head it all makes sense in my way hahah so it is nice to hear that me somehow experimenting with the photos even makes sense:))

Yes, i know what you mean. I especially liked the sketchbook photo of your rough draft design! hahaha =)

comfortable enough to wear all the time but elegant at the same time

This is my go to. I prefer comfy and cute at the same time. At one point in my life I didn’t mind giving up the comfort to look cute but nowadays I prefer both.

I am so glad the contest inspired this successful project! We appreciate this type of feedback so thanks for mentioning that :)

I love your drawings (reminds me so much of our dear artistic @neumannsalva) and the pretty blue thread and how you are rocking those jeans. I love how comfortable the waistline looks and that you gave yourself some leg room to walk.

Nicely done and congratulations on these! It’s nice to have you here sharing your experiences with us ~

B0B4E240-6AFA-41AC-8135-AC218B47115B.png

Thank you for that lovely reply!!:) that is very much inspiring me to keep going! it is great to get all that exchange in this community, I appreciate that!
I guess i see you around, until then have a good time, cheers:)

You're very welcome ;)

Yep I’ll see you around!!

Me agrada querida amiga ver que pudiste confeccionar con tus propias manos tu jeans, me encanta el color seleccionado de la tela y por supuesto que la modelo luce muy hermosa con su prenda de vestir...

Gracias:) Reading in spanish works, for me, writing not really so I hope english is also fine for you:) well thank you, I really appreciate your lovely comment:)

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy 6th Birthday to the Hive Community
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Lovely jeans. I look forward to seeing you installing your invisible zipper in your next post. Bravo!

Thank you!! yes there is fore sure going to be more zippers in the upcoming projects:))