Fashion inspiration and fixing broken seams.

How do you like to wrap your body?

Wandering through the streets of Istanbul I am crossing every possible style coming from any corner of this world. There is no unity in the way people dress. Everyone an individual, getting lost in a huge ocean. You are not special anymore, your vis a vis isn’t following the same dress code as you.

If I am ever going to establish my own, proper, slow fashion Brand, it’ll have at least one leg in this colourful City, Istanbul.

Meanwhile I have no energy, nor resources to create any sort of slow fashion at the moment, I am exposed to countless inspiration.

I still picked up my favourite swimsuit bottom.

A seam ripped.

Today I am going to fix it.

The contrast of traditional and modern.

I see a lot of girl-friend-couples walking in the streets of which one will be dressed traditionally, looser fabric, long dresses and a headscarf and the other one choosing a more modern way, loose hair, tight top, long trousers.

Hand in hand they are walking down the street.

White threads with very inspirational backgrounds.

Needles.

A series of slow stitches is waiting for me.

How are you choosing to dress your body?

No doubt there are probably a thousand ways and theories behind how and why people dress a certain way or not. But there is one I observed in recent days.

I missed my stitches.

As if I had never worn it before, I am happy to have this piece back in my garment collection.

Wearable.

Are you wrapping your body or highlighting it?

Essentially we have the choice between putting on a second layer of skin or throwing drapery around our body, covering and protecting it, in both ways but different.

One day I go out and I can relate to the long dresses the scarfs wrapped around neck and head. Being accompanied by a lot of floating fabric around your legs and arms, following and protecting you each step you are taking. Why would you even want to wear anything tight?
And the next one I find beauty in appreciating every shape of your body, pulling over, nothing but a thin layer of fabric. Able to move in each direction, feeling the sun on bare skin.

Maybe it is the contrast, which ads the magic!

Thank you all for stopping by, have a lovely week!

All words and photos are my own, written and taken by me.

Sort:  

I think I wrap my body more than I highlight it. 😊 I love clothes and enjoy choosing them. It's nice to do sewing, very creative and inspiring.

Thank you for stopping by😊
I do appreciate the wrapping as well, the sound and movement of fabric in the wind or while moving is such a lovely thing!!

Yes! Ciao dearest @kesityu.fashion - this is such a lovely post, and I have been thinking about you being in Istanbul... wonderful descriptions... beautiful imagery of the contrasts and women linking hands...

Like you, I love to be able to transform according to what I feel: as a woman who lives very present in her skin and flesh, my energies are elemental, and I need a very dynamic relationship with my surroundings and especially my clothing, to keep everything in harmony in my life!

I often change clothes throughout the day, of course when I'm changing activities, but also according to who I will be exposed to: some places and people I need to cover myself quite a lot! Other places and more trusted energies, I can wear less and feel really happy in being witnessed in my beauty with - as you mention - the sun caressing my skin.

Mmmm - many good wishes on your continuing journey... and I love your stitching here!

Of course I love to hear what you have to say about that..:)

And yes, changing clothes durning the day and as you say depending on who you are exposed to, it makes so much sense! ...as much as you can wear a thing one day and feel great in it, since it reflects the mood perfectly and the next day makes you feel bad and you can't touch it.
Funny thing how there is so much about and around the way we dress. Just a never ending subject to explore! ...very exciting:)

💜

I didn’t think about it but Ja, Turkey is a sewing and craft nation. I agree that you have one leg in Turkey if you have your fashion business. In Europe, I see quite a lot of fabric and clothes are from Turkey. There are fabric sellers look like from Turkey at Berlin markets.

I add Turkey especially Istanbul to my travel list 😊 Talking about fabric cities, I’d love to visit Jaipur in India too.

I like your hand stitches. They have nice friendliness which sewing machine made ones don’t have.

Safe trip and enjoy your stay in Turkey!

I add Turkey especially Istanbul to my travel list

Yes!! Oh and India, as well! It is really inspiring, to just observe all those different ways of dressing or designing or get to know the craft each region is into... I guess travelling is just great inspiration😊

And thank you😊❤️

@kesityu.fashion - oh, and will you keep cycling all the way to India???? 🤗😋😍

Hahah 😂 I am wondering that too!!
...but I might keep India for a next time, or maybe not, who knows what can happen😉 for now I am still in Turkey though...

How I've missed your post and was looking g forward to seeing you today, Turkey wear are flooded in my country, as they make really nice and quality clothing.

And yes it's easy to get immersed in different style of fashion especially as a traveler which you are. Those stitches are neat and precise, you are so good in this slow fashion.

Looking beautiful as always🥰

❤️ That is so nice to hear from you!! Thank you😘

It is getting more difficult to find ways to sew on this journey and then even share about it, but it is always a pleasure, and very inspiring, when I get to do so😊

This is a very beautiful question, I think most style of clothing comes with a mood hehe.

You always share amazing tops and topics and I always look forward to reading from you.

The mood is crucial, I agree!!
And thanks to you, that is very nice to hear!!!😊

It's a pleasure ma'am