Sewing a sweater with self-designed fabric.

Priorities.

What do I really need to create? And what do I make myself because I can’t afford to buy it?

I asked myself this question last week, it came up during some of my creative process.

When it comes to creating, building, designing things I do get very overwhelmed at times, because I would like to learn every skill.

I want to work with wood, I want to know how to build with metal, sew of course… you name it.

Meanwhile some of those objects I would make because I know it wouldn’t be affordable for me, at the moment to buy it.
Meanwhile other things I make purely because I love the process, I enjoy creating them from the beginning until the end. Where sometimes I find myself in the middle of such a process, stopping what I do for a moment to admire the mess I created around me. Admiring the off cuts, the tools or the beauty of my sewing machine or that particular splash of paint that took its place there by accident.

While I am in the process of creating something I had a vision for, I love the esthetic of the process as much as the result.

Which is what I really want to do.

I don’t want to get distracted producing things for their outcome just because I couldn’t afford them. (at least I don’t want to set my focus there, nothing wrong with making myself instead of buying when I have the time)

With that idea in mind, I am working on my two-piece sweater set, using the fabric I printed last week.

Already printing the fabric was delightful. The blue paint all over the place, seeing the Lino print I carved on for so long gathering all over that bright red piece of material in front of me. Placing one pint after the other. I didn’t see the time pass.

After I printed and fixed the fabric, I had to start on the cutting.

I worked until I was too hungry and tired to keep going.

The other day I focused fully on the sewing.

Assemble all the different pieces.

What I thought to be a “few hours” job, ended up filling my whole day.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed it, enjoyed fixing every part that didn’t go according to plan.

Even though I couldn’t wait to wear the two-piece…

The sweater was done in the first part.

Quite easy.

And smooth.

Maybe it calmed me down, to already wear the sweater, while I was working on the second part.

The “trousers”.

Turns out the Leggins-pattern I used didn’t work for that fabric.

I thought it would be a lot stretchier.

It wasn’t.

Therefore, the trousers turned out too tight.

Which I tried to fix twice, by inserting a strip on the side.

Trousers fitted, or should I say at that stage I was just over it.

It was getting dark, and I just wanted to wear all of what I was working on.

Pretending the trousers weren’t too loose around my waist and ankles and too tight around my tights.

I acknowledged that now and will do some more fixing about the trousers.

Meanwhile the paint tinted the saddle of my bike blue.

And I am happy wandering around in the forest.

Not wearing black.

Being my own version of a red autumn tree.

Thank you all to stop by once more, I appreciate you! Have a lovely week!

(all photos are mine taken by me)

Sort:  

This is lovely, this looks lovely, I would love to have something like this also

thank you!! thats awesome to hear:)

The pleasure is mine

You did amazing beautiful 💕

Thank you!!:)

You are highly welcome 😁

Your fabric looks amazing. What a great job on that sweater 😍❤️

Thank you!!! thats really nice to hear:)

Sewing yourself indeed helps you cut the cost and you made a very beautiful sweater.

Well done.

Yes it does, and on top of it you get to choose the design:)
thank you!!

I always love going on your creative journeys with you. I can really see how much you enjoy the process because you even take in and appreciate the frustrating times when things don’t add up.

Your sweater turned out amazing and even though the tights aren’t to the fitting you hoped for they still look good and the outfit as a whole is very cute.

Thanks for always inspiring us and sharing your creative moments ~ 🤗

❤️
This is sooo nice, reading your reply inspires me every time!! And especially hearing such things about the things I loove to do, is awesome!!
I was planing on trying to fix them soon, (maybe for next Monday?:)
Appreciate having you around💕 until soon!

Aww of course! Reading your posts inspire every time. 🥰🤗

These are so called cocktail pants,
no sitting - no eating. :D

Me like it, little Red riding hood!
How much do you piss off when something goes wrong, but you are literally almost project done?

I mean, kudos to your nerves as mine would crack in this "repairing" part. 😂

Hahah.. well in that case no sitting but eating works (so maybe I should leave them like that?)🙃
Yesyes some times I manage but its always at this last stretch of patience that you dont even have, that the needle breaks or some awful shit like that, I give up I guess...
...but I think experience made it better (so now I know from the beginning that it will fuck up this way it is no more surprise..😅

(so maybe I should leave them like that?)🙃

You have no idea how many blessings you would get worldwide if so.:D

...but I think experience made it better (so now I know from the beginning that it will fuck up this way it is no more surprise..😅

Okay, I have to adopt this as a daily practice!

...tell me how it went:)

Such luscious fabric, so beautiful. You take such excellent quality photos that are also very creative. Loved your post, everything you made, how you presented it, your photos, all so well done.

Oooh Thank you!!! What a wonderful compliment:)
I did really enjoy the process, but getting such a reply inspires me even more to keep going😊

You're welcome, stunning post and it makes me very happy seeing someone be so creative with heightened sensitivity towards aesthetic.

Please do keep going. 😍 I love what I've seen so far. Can't get all those colours of thread out of my mind. The only other places I've seen so many are where I buy sewing supplies and also yarn.

I love the results! You nailed it girl!

Thank you @gabrielatravels I loove to hear that:)

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 800 comments.
Your next target is to reach 900 comments.
You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking