Needle work Monday - Sewing during my trip: first time using a sewing machine that isn't my own. / Cosiendo durante mi viaje: la primera vez que uso una máquina de coser que no es la mía. 😃❤️

in NeedleWorkMonday8 months ago

Hello friends of Hive & Needle Work Monday. One month and ten days passed since I started this trip in the province of San Juan and I must say that that was too fast. As part of completing my travel objective, which is to visit at least one place in each province of Argentina, this time I arrived at this place with a different type of travel. To extend my stay, I'm currently exchanging work time for accommodation in a hostel and I want to tell you that everything is being more fun than I thought. So far, I've had the chance to visit a lot of beautiful landscapes and I've been able to feel at home because I've met a lot of beautiful people. And to feel even more at home, a few days ago they brought me a sewing machine, what I needed to complete the experience ❤️.

Hola amigos de Hive & Needle Work Monday. Un mes y diez días pasaron desde que empecé este viaje en la provincia de San Juan y debo decir que eso fue demasiado rápido. Como parte de completar mi objetivo viajero que es conocer al menos un lugar de cada provincia de Argentina, esta vez llegué hasta este lugar con una modalidad diferente de viaje. Para prolongar mi estadía, actualmente estoy intercambiando tiempo de trabajo por alojamiento en un hostel y quiero contarles que todo está siendo más divertido de lo que pensé. Hasta ahora, tuve la posibilidad de recorrer un montón de paisajes hermosos y pude sentirme como en casa porque conocí muchas personas hermosas. Y para sentirme aún más como en casa, hace unos días me trajeron una máquina de coser, lo que me faltaba para terminar de completar la experiencia ❤️.


Needle Work Monday (18x12).png



When I left my house with the idea of making this trip a little longer than the others, I feel like I saved everything I needed to survive. Unfortunately, the only thing I can't take with me is my favorite hobby of machine sewing, but since I'm sure that at some point in the not too distant future I'll be returning home, I figured I can put it off for a bit. When I arrived at this hostel and talked to the owners to get to know each other a little more, I told them that I really liked sewing. At that moment they told me that they had to make some repairs to the hems of sheets and pillowcases and I replied that I would have no problem doing this work during my agreed shifts. So just a few days later, the owner of the hostel brought this machine and left it at my complete disposal, so that I could start with the sewing work whenever I wanted 😃.

Cuando salí de mi casa con la idea de hacer este viaje un poco más largo que los demás, siento que guardé todo lo necesario para subsistir. Lamentablemente, lo único que no puedo llevar conmigo es mi pasatiempo preferido que es la costura a máquina, pero como estoy segura de que en algún momento no muy lejano voy a volver a mi casa, supuse que puedo postergarlo un poco. Cuando llegué a este hostel y conversé con los dueños para conocernos un poco más, les conté que me gustaba mucho la costura. En ese momento ellos me contaron que tenían que hacer algunos arreglos en los dobladillos sábanas y fundas y yo contesté que no tendría ningún problema en hacer este trabajo durante mis turnos pactados. Así que solo algunos días después, la dueña del hostel trajo esta máquina y la dejó a mi completa disposición, para que avanzara con el trabajo de costura cuando quisiera 😃.

IMG_20231011_165141944.jpg


This machine looks brand new, even though the owner said she has had it for a while. The reason is because she doesn't know how to use it, so she just has it there with the promise of learning one day. I told her that she had never used a machine other than mine, but that I assumed things wouldn't be much different with this one. Before starting to sew, I had to make preliminary adjustments such as thread tension and stitch adjustment, but it took a little work: at first the stitches came out imperfect and after touching absolutely everything, I couldn't find the problem. I spent more than an hour trying to solve the problem, until almost on the verge of giving up, it occurred to me to turn the needle and that's when the machine started sewing wonderfully 😅.

Esta máquina se ve completamente nueva, a pesar de que la dueña dijo que la tiene hace bastante. El motivo es porque ella no la sabe usar, así que solo la tiene ahí con la promesa de aprender algún día. Yo le dije que nunca había usado una máquina que no fuera la mía, pero que suponía que las cosas no serían muy diferentes con esta. Antes de empezar a coser, tuve que hacer los ajustes preliminares como tensión del hilo y regule de la puntada, pero me llevó un poco de trabajo: al principio las puntadas salían imperfectas y después de tocar absolutamente todo, no lograba dar con el problema. Pasé más de una hora intentando solucionar el problema, hasta que casi a punto de rendirme, se me ocurrió dar vuelta la aguja y ahí la máquina empezó a coser de maravillas 😅.

IMG_20231011_165210380.jpg


One of the things I had to improvise to be able to sew comfortably was a thread holder. We seamstresses know that if the thread is untwisted incorrectly, the stitches will also come out imperfect, so it is better to have a support that unthreads it from above. For this I helped myself with a soda bottle and a hook-shaped wire, which may not be very aesthetic but are highly functional for this purpose 😅.

Una de las cosas que tuve que improvisar para poder coser cómodamente fue un soporte para el hilo. Nosotras costureras sabemos que si el hilo de desencona incorrectamente, las puntadas también salen imperfectas, así que mejor tener un soporte que lo desenrrosque desde arriba. Para esto me ayudé con una botella de gaseosa y un alambre con forma de gancho, que no serán muy estéticos pero son altamente funcionales para este propósito 😅.

IMG_20231011_165155153.jpg


The work that has to be done first is the easiest: all these sheets are new and for double beds, but the hostel requires sheets for single beds, so from each fabric we will obtain a sheet and with the rest we will make a cover for pillow. My coworker, the owner of the hostel, and I did this entire procedure: the two of them cut the fabrics and ironed the hem, while I was in charge of sewing everything. In a few afternoons of work we were only able to finish with the individual sheets because there were more than 20 cloths, but it was entertaining because in the meantime we gossiped a little. I guess these days we're going to get to work on the pillowcases and soon, all the sewing work will be finished 😃.

El trabajo que hay que hacer en primer lugar es de lo más fácil: todas estas sábanas son nuevas y de dos plazas, pero el hostel requiere sábanas para camas individuales, así que de cada tela obtendremos una sábana y con lo restante haremos una funda para almohada. Todo este procedimiento lo hicimos mi compañera de trabajo, la dueña del hostel y yo: ellas dos cortaron las telas y plancharon el dobladillo, mientras lo me encargaba de coser todo. En unas cuantas tardes de trabajo solo pudimos terminar con las sábanas individuales porque eran más de 20 paños, pero fue entretenido porque mientras tanto chusmeábamos un poco. Supongo que en estos días vamos a poner manos a la obra con las fundas de almohada y dentro de poco, todo el trabajo de costura estará terminado 😃.

IMG_20231011_164212463.jpgIMG_20231011_162239968.jpg


If you have seen any of my sewing posts, you will know that my machine is "vintage" from the 60s. Of course I am very fond of my machine and I already know all its tricks to make it work correctly, but I also liked having worked with it modern machine. It felt very light and practical, and I was able to finish all the hems with no problems. It is not yet in my plans to renew my sewing machine, but when I do, I will undoubtedly take this brand and model into consideration 😃.

Si han visto algún post de costura mío, sabrán que mi máquina es "vintage" de los años 60. Por supuesto le tengo muchísimo cariño a mi máquina y ya conozco todas sus mañas para hacerla funcionar correctamente, pero también me gustó haber trabajado con esta máquina moderna. Se sentía muy liviana y práctica, y pude terminar todos los dobladillos sin problemas. Aún no está en mis planes renovar mi máquina de coser, pero cuando lo haga, sin dudas voy a tomar en consideración a esta marca y modelo 😃.

IMG_20231011_165618441.jpg


I liked that this opportunity to sew arose during my trip: as I say, sewing is my personal therapy and I have no problem spending hours in front of the machine doing what I like. I also like to think that this sewing job is going to be the small mark that I am going to leave from my time in this hostel, since with this almost the entire stock of bedding in the place is being renewed. And in the future, when I continue my trip somewhere else and see photos of this hostel with the sheets and pillowcases that I sewed, I will be happy to know that my work here was useful and lasting ❤️.

Me gustó que haya surgido esta oportunidad para coser durante mi viaje: como digo, coser es mi terapia personal y no tengo ningún problema en pasar horas frente a la máquina haciendo lo que me gusta. También me gusta pensar en que este trabajo de costura va a ser la pequeña huella que voy a dejar de mi paso por este hostel, ya que con esto se está renovando casi todo el stock de ropa de cama del lugar. Y en el futuro, cuando continue mi viaje por alguna otra parte y vea fotos de este hostel con las sábanas y fundas que yo cosí, me va a poner contenta saber que mi trabajo acá fue útil y duradero ❤️.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️



IMG_20231010_214901381~2.jpg


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Sort:  

This is beautiful dear, Laura. Visiting different places in all the provinces of Argentina isn't an easy one but the fun is incomparable. I have always been an advocate of doing things you love best. I'm really glad that you do what you love best even in San juan.

Wow! I learned a big lesson from experience with the new machine at the hostel. Seriously, I wondered why the machine started working at the verge of giving up. I discovered that whatever category or anything we do, life will never present a clean sheet to us. This is why we need to keep trying and stay resilient to any sordid circumstances.

You sound like a very proficient seamstress. My aunty is also a needle worker and she told me about hive recently. well, good to stumble on your post. I've been wandering all around the blockchain, looking for somewhere to settle. Currently crafting my intro post anyway!

 8 months ago  

Hello! Thank you very much for stopping by and welcome to Hive. I wish you the best for your blog :) If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask me!

Alright, my lady. Well, my onboarder told me alot, rules and regulations. But, I still find it hard to start something. I have always been a blogger on other platform but I decide to just stay here after hearing it's a decentralized platform, I feel it's an opportunity to meet with beautiful people and get supported as a blogger.

Maybe your mentoring might give an atom of confidence.

Ohhh pero que genial, todo lo que necesitas y amas hacer en un mismo sitio, disfrutando tu viaje en todos los sentidos de la palabra y a la vez cosiendo. Que mas se puede pedir amiga. Tu amiga del hostal estará muy feliz.

Gracias por regalarnos tus experiencias amiga @lauramica

Abrazos y bendiciones...

!DIY

 8 months ago  

Muchas gracias Dayana :) Es cierto, todo conspiró a mi favor para poder divertirme todavía más jaja. Te mando un abrazo también ❤️

🙂✨💕

 8 months ago  

@dayadam just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post dear @lauramica! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

You can query your personal balance by !DIYSTATS

I can't believe it's been more than a month since your adventure in San Juan began, dear friend @lauramica, time really flies by.
That's great that they brought you a sewing machine, and you were able to make it work correctly, you are very ingenious when using the bottle to raise the thread
What a beautiful experience you have had with this more modern machine, and it is good that you liked the model and brand.
I appreciate you sharing this experience.
It's good to know about you. May you enjoy a beautiful afternoon

 8 months ago  

Hello Luis, it is true that time passed super fast. Time flies when you're having fun :) And this machine is great, I'm glad I sewed a little, it's fun ❤️.

Enjoy your day too, greetings!

Que bueno que ahora tienes una máquina de coser , si supieras la mía también es antiquísima, bueno es de mi mamá jaja pero la uso también y es Singer, pero me encanta , saludos 👋❤️

 8 months ago  

Mientras funcione bien no importa el año jajaja. Saludos para vos también ❤️

Hola Laura, coser con una máquina que no es la que regularmente usas es un poco incomodo al principio, luego le vas agarrando el ritmo y a coser se ha dicho, en una ocasión usé la máquina de mi hermana y no sabía como enhebrar, mi ayuda que era para que ella hiciera otras actividades, resultó en quitarle más tiempo ja, ja.

Saludos!

 8 months ago  

Hola Belkys :) Totalmente, para usar esta tuve que ver algunos tutoriales pero al final terminó siendo bastante similar a la mía. Me sorprendió como en tantos años las tecnologías no cambiaron casi nada.

Te mando un saludo a vos también, gracias por tu visita ❤️

Hola Laura, tu viaje cada vez se pone mejor. Es una gran dicha que puedas disfrutar de tu pasatiempo favorito aún sin estar en casa. Y que ingenioso lo de la botella
Saludos💕

 8 months ago  

Muchas gracias :) Fue una linda sorpresa poder hacer esto, todavía sigo trabajando en fundas y sábanas pero poco a poco voy a terminar jaja.

Saludos para vos también ❣️

Las personas con buena disposición al trabajo son siempre personas muy bien recibidas.
Que bien que haya usted encontrado como solucionar lo del hilo, es una solución simple y aunque no lo parece, las soluciones simples son soluciones elegantes.

Espero que siga disfrutando de su viaje, no me imagino que nos compartirá la próxima vez, pero de seguro que será interesante.

Que tenga una buena semana.

 8 months ago  

Muchas gracias :D Creo que lo que decis es cierto, y a los dueños de este lugar les gustó que a mi me guste hacer este trabajo. Todo está quedando muy lindo y prolijo.

Muchas gracias por tu visita y te deseo una buena semana a vos también 💖

Today's girls don't like to do such work but it is very important for girls because there are many girls who are learning this job and living their life well.

 8 months ago  

I believe that anyone can sew because it is a beautiful and entertaining art ❤️.

Yeah ❤️

Congratulations @lauramica! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 28000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 29000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023

Enhorabuena tu publicación ha sido elegida entre las mejores del día.

SIGUA CREANDO BUEN CONTENIDO.

image.png

 8 months ago  

Muchas gracias :)

Well that is awesome!!
I can feel all your enthusiasm to be able to use a sewing machine again😊 and even better when your work gets so much appreciation! I guess that makes you able to extend your trip for even longer...😁?
Enjoy!! (but I am sure you are)❤️

 8 months ago  

Thank you very much :) Yes, I will probably stay until I finish the needle work with all the sheets... which is not little but better for my travel time 😅.

Hehe well that's an excellent excuse to extend your travels, indeed😁🙃

Es un bendición 😍

 8 months ago  

❤️

Que linda toda tu experiencia querida amiga Laura, nunca te imaginaste que harías este arduo y fascinante trabajo durante tus viajes, y tuviste una muy buena oportunidad de hacer lo que te gusta, es super divertido y entretenido cuando compartes con personas que se motivan a acompañarte, mientras cortas y coses, además de las muchas cosas que platicas te ayuda a conocer mejor y hacer muy buenas amistades. Veo que cada día te diviertes más y estás más relajada, tu idea de crear un soporte para el hilo está muy bien pensada, bueno no es fácil conocer una máquina nueva pero con algo de experiencia todo se supera. Me encanta cada una de tus experiencias de viaje. Gracias por compartirlas.

How nice all your experience dear friend Laura, you never imagined that you would do this arduous and fascinating work during your travels, and you got a very good opportunity to do what you love to do, it is super fun and entertaining when you share with people who are motivated to accompany you, while cutting and sewing, besides the many things that you talk about it helps you to know me better and make very good friends. I see that you are having more fun and relaxed every day, your idea of creating a support for the thread is very well thought out, well it is not easy to get to know a new machine but with some experience we can overcome everything. I love each of your travel experiences. Thanks for sharing.