Henri's Dinosaur

This all started in April 2022, about 16 months ago, and I posted about it last Novemeber

Back in Easter, I saw a couple of my great nephews (my sister's grandchildren). One of them, Henri was six and like many little boys was into dinasours. He's really sweet and gave me a lecture on the different types of dinasour and their characteristics. I've made him a dinasour before so I said I would make him another one. We even discussed what colour and type of dinasour he wanted.

Fast forward 5 months....

In September I saw Henri again. He'd grown a tad since Easter and came rushing for a hug when he saw me ❤️. Then the first thing he said was

"Where's my dinasour?"

Thinking that little children will forget about these sort of things, of course I hadn't made the dinosaur. Big mistake!!!! I learnt my lesson and quickly got to work. This is my progress in November - not a lot!!!

Since then, I've been working on it on and off, and since Henri lives about 3 hours away and I know I won't be seeing him soon, I took my time in 2023 😅. Last week my sister said Henri was coming to stay, I knew I had to put my skates on as I could not afford to disappoint a 7 year old again. Luckily I have crocheted all the parts a while ago, I just haven't got round to assembly it. This would only take me one more day to complete, plenty of time to get Henri's dinosaur ready when he arrives.
20230827_160857.jpg

As you can see, the dinosaur has a rather unusual colour. In Easter 2022, I think Henri requested a particular colour, but since I didn't think he really meant it I wasn't paying much attention to his request and it's been so long I would have forgotten anyway 😆 I vaguely remember it might have been grey or green. This was the only similar colour yarn I had at home. I also used a blueish white yarn to add some colour to the dinosaur and used it to knit the legs, tail, and I also added a ring around its body. This is where I tried to be creative and deviated from the pattern, but I'm not sure it worked out well.
20230827_160931.jpg

Ta da!!!! Say hello to Henri's Dinosaur 😅😅😅 Although he looks rather odd, I'm quite pleased with my effort (of course I would be!!!!). In particular, given his weight and how big his head is, I'm very impressed that he can stand on his own. And if he's feeling tired, he can always lean backwards and his tail will support his weight.
20230828_153531.jpg

I did a photo shoot with Henri's Dinosaur. I figured since he's been in the making for so long, he might be a bit hungry and would like a nibble at my plants before I take him to Henri
20230828_153759.jpg

20230828_153945.jpg

20230828_153831.jpg

And here's Henri's Dinosaur on his first journey as I take him to his new owner. It's only taken 18 months. Bye bye Henri's Dinosaur I hope Henri will love you!!!

20230828_155432.jpg

Sort:  

Omg this dino is adorable. What amazing talent you have, for creating it. I'm sure Henri will love it all the same, and treasure it all his life.

Thanks @pixiehunter, I followed a pattern to make it, so that wasn't too difficult, no way could I have made this from scratch by myself!!!!

Oh my goodness, I love your crochet creatures. The dinosaur is particularly cute! If there's anythig that makes me want to learn a new skill, it's this - although that's just jibber jabber, I aint picking up needles or hooks EVER.

Hey, isn't this what grannies are supposed to do!!!! You'd better start to get in their good books!!! 😄

I want to swear.... This ain't happening. I'm a cool grandma. untitled.gif

Haha there brains are like sponges when there that young. I think you did an awesome job making him a dinosaur. I'm sure Henri will be delighted when he sees it.

Even my sister was amazed he remembers every time when I see him. The worse thing is that after he was let down the first time, he subsequently asked me casually in a teasing way as if he knew I hadn't done it. Little cheeky bugger!!!!

Yes, Henri is going to love it and the color I don't think he's going to mind too much. Plus it's beautiful. And lucky him, a dinosaur rides in a car, as a co-driver.

It has been a short time to weave and assemble it. Hahaha...

He played really cool when I took it to him this afternoon, but I think he likes it. In fact my other two year old grand nephew was also there, and he's into dinosaurs as well, so he was playing with it most of the time.

Cool 😉

It has been made with a lot of effort and it looks very beautiful. Not every human being can make such things as you mentioned how much hard work it takes.

Omg. Soooooo cute! I LOVE this. 😄Did you have a pattern for this? So talented! Any word on Dino’s name?

I found a pattern from the internet, rather haltingly I have to admit, when I realised the kid wasn't joking and really expected me to make it 😆. No update on what he's been name or how he's getting on as Henri has gone home now. I dare not ask in case he's been abandoned already...

Cute little guy. Great color choice. Looks like he could have his own children's story adventures. I think Henri is going to love it!

I hope he does, but knowing kids nowadays, they have so many toys, I fear Dinosaur may be forgotten very soon..

Some toys are also treasured for many years. I suppose it could go either way...

Wow! what a beautiful and cute dinosaur, your nephew will be happy with his gift.

Cheers!

I did get a little smile when I gave it to him, hope he's happy!

!LOL

I don't think the flounder I caught today was very happy with me.
He kept looking at me kinda sideways.

Credit: reddit
@livinguktaiwan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of gameexp

(5/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Oh my this is so pretty. A standing dinosaur would beat one scrunched down any day. I know for sure that he's going to be so happy seeing this. And I hope you'll share his reaction with us. I'm sure it will be priceless. Well-done @livinguktaiwan 🤗

Henri would definitely love the dinosaur. It looks so adorable. Something a kid would live to play with.

Let's hope that Henri doesn't remember having a conversation about the color with you because if it was green he requested, then you may have to make another for the smart kid😅

Seems like so many kids are obsessed with dinosaurs. I wonder why....

They probably learnt somewhere that dinosaurs have gone extinct and the adventurous ones want to have a play toy that has gone extinct... this explanation just came from nowhere😅

That's great! I wish someone had done something like this to me when I was a kid. I'm sure you'll be a hero to Henri, Pauline. It looks perfect, haha. I'm so happy for Henri.

Kids are so well loved and spoilt nowadays and have always got so many toys, sometimes I don't know if they appreciate it

I don't think they will ever be appreciative if they get everything they want. So many children nowadays have everything they want. Still, I hope they can appreciate this handmade toy.

How the hell have you converted those threads into this beautiful dinosaur !!! It requires a lot of work and talent. It's very adorable.

Just follow the pattern, it's not that difficult 😄

Hi @livinguktaiwan I didn't know this side of you as a knitter, I love that you have created henri, he is so cute. knitting is a really beautiful thing and I hope his new owner appreciates it, even if you have spent 18 months to do it. 🤣

I used to knit years ago, and know like to crochet amigurumi when I have time, it's very satisfying to see a piece finished even though it may look odd most if the time

Now that you remember how beautiful it is to knit, you can start a new project.

You girls all knit and crochet so beautifully, I really envy you!!

That turned out very cute! How awesome. It reminds me of something my mother would have made for me when I was younger. She still knits and crochets, but she does more hats and gloves now for the homeless shelter.

That's so awesome of your mom, hats off to her for helping the homeless, I'm sure they appreciate her effort

Indeed! She's a saint!

Wow Henri's dinosaur is super cute. I sure Henri will love it -looking forward to reading about his reaction. You've got skills!! Once upon a time I learnt to crochet and embroidery but I do not think I ever finish a crochetted item. Congratulations!

It only took me 18 months, I'm sure you will finish it, you just need to start 😁!!! I find crochet is a lot quicker than knitting, if that helps. Haven't tried embroidery before, that is so intricate.

I think you did a great job! Now that I'm older, my crochet work is small items since larger items take too long and my finger start to hurt. Oh, growing old is not for wimps!

I know what you mean, small items can be finished much quicker and you, or at least I, get a great sense of satisfaction when I see the completed item. Though in my case, a small item can still take as long as a large item!!!

Aww, this is so sweet! I was so much into dinosaurs when I was a kid (I even had a huge dinosaur atlas and knew everything about them back then! :D) and I would love such a gift so much! Btw no worries about your plants, it looks like a baby T-Rex and those guys were strictly carnivorous :D Excellent job Pauline, your crocheting skills and creativity are really impressive!

@tipu curate 2

AWhh!! You're so kind Petr, and you were a dinosaur kid as well!! Just curious, what does a dinosaur atlas show? Where the different type of dinosaurs are located?

This is the atlas, I still have it somewhere among my childhood books at my mum´s place :)

It was basically a dinosaur encyclopedia. There were pictures and pretty detailed descriptions of all those dinos :) I´m sure your Henri would love such a book.

Wow!! I'm sure he would, or any little child who likes dinosaur. You probably have loads of things to pass onto to your little princess soon!

I’m sure Henri is going to be very upset. And you can feel safe with the blue and white thread details because they were very good 😊

Do you mean he will be very happy?

I was worried the blue and white will look very messy, so didn't use it too much, hopefully it's ok. Thanks for dropping by

Oh yeah, that’s what I meant 😅

What an adorable dinosaur! How funny that you thought he'd forget haha, kids tend to remember a lot lol.

Glad you managed to make him one after all, what a lovely skill to have!