#needleworkmonday :: Continuing my hole searching

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday from HIVE!


After last week's darn holes, I continued my hole searching this week as the community buzzed into HIVE. I was darning and patching holes after holes from shorts to pants to t-shirts.

Sorry, there is no pretty needlework project here, just a practical one that comes to bite us every now and then. I could choose to ignore them but it has been too long since the holes appeared. I need to clear my To-Do stash that has been building up to a mountain high.
Okay, an exaggeration on my part 😜, just a small hill.

Holes in shorts and pants were easier to find as they were fairly big in size but t-shirts holes were the tough ones and there were so many of them too! Where and how did the holes come about, I was baffled and still am. Could it be little creatures biting the t-shirts? 👾 I hope not 😱. But the holes just appear out of nowhere! Twilight zone....

I lifted each holey t-shirt up into the air with light shining through to search for holes. T-shirt holes can be quite tiny but not tiny enough to be ignored and they can appear randomly anywhere. Here is one:
4.jpg

This t-shirt had 9 tiny holes all in all.

Using the same stitch as I did last week...
3.jpg

...I ran the stitches through the tiny holes in all directions possible until the hole is covered but I tried to be careful not to oversew because that area will be hard which won't be comfy to the skin. It is important to keep the t-shirts as comfy as they are in their "condition", or else it defeats the purpose of fixing them. I stopped stitching the moment the holes were covered.
5.jpg

I was also changing the elastics of old shorts which are no longer elastic. I decided since I am at it, I might as well patch up and change what I can to save the clothes while I am home during the lockdown. Times are tough and whatever that can be saved and reused, we should.

Here are 2 more holes fixed... can you see them? 😉
6.jpg


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

Here's wishing everyone a good week ahead and
Happy #NeedleWorkMonday!


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

NeedleWorkMonday

Founder @crosheille
Admin @muscara
Admin @marblely
Admin @shanibeer

💗 Our Motto: Support & Inspire 💗

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.
Take a look at the FAQ to learn more!


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Remember to subscribe to the NeedleWorkMonday community!

Read here to learn how!


This is also an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort:  

Well done!

 4 years ago  

Thank you!

 4 years ago  

Good job on such a delicate fabric. I would have been afraid that the knitted fabric would unravel. But your mending skills are very inspirational (I keep saying this and my hill is no longer a hill but a mountain 😱)
I hope you do not have an infestation with insects (my mother found some in her wardrobe after she had also holes in all kinds of fabric, natural and artificial fibres) After killing them and buying a repellent, her clothes are ok so far... I hope it stays this way.

 4 years ago  

O dear.. I hope not.. insects will make me go nuts with cleaning. We do put moth balls all around.
Oh you know what, knitted fabric is quite forgiving when it comes to sewing this kinda thing. When you pull it here and there, it kinda disappears haha.
Thank you @neumannsalva for dropping by always. It is nice reading your comments each time :)
p.s. my sewing machine died :( this time, the handwheel is all jammed up. I knew I was pushing my luck with sewing when the machine started making funny sounds, almost like clunking but I sewed on. I did some research but it has nothing to do with bobbin or dirt this time. Sounds like this time I will need to send to the shop but we are on lockdown for another 2 weeks if it is not extended!!