#NeedleWorkMonday :: I just felt like knitting

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)


11.jpg

It was a usual day but I decided not to do my chores. Instead, I went searching for my knitting needles and a soft yarn. I suddenly had the urge to knit. I have neglected my needlework projects for months now and I have forgotten where I have placed my needles. I know they are in one of the many pouches I have and after rummaging through my hill high of things, I found a matching pair of needles with the soft yarn that I was thinking of.

2.jpg

It is always a mood thing and I have not been able to focus on needlework these days. But the other day, I just felt like working my knitting needles. I had no project in mind, and all I wanted to do was to move my fingers in knitting style. I was searching for a repetitive therapeutic activity and yes, knitting continental style will fit very nicely.

I casted on some stitches, not too many because I would like to see progress quick. The problem with casting on too many stitches, I take a long time to finish one row and when I don't see progress, I tend to stop.

4.jpg

When it comes to needlework, I am more comfortable with crochet but I like the softness of a knitted yarn. I don’t knit much and currently, I only know how to knit straight. No socks, no curves, just cast on a couple of stitches and knit all the way.

5.jpg

I didn’t feel like purling. I wanted to knit every row, Continental style, where the yarn is held with the left hand. I used to knit English style but after I attempted the Continental style in 2019 (which I wrote about it here too), I realized that I am able to control the stitch tension better and I prefer the movement too.

6.jpg

My stitches used to be tight with English style knitting and I would stop knitting after a while because my fingers would feel tired with all the tension.

7.jpg

The tension of stitches usually brings tension to my mind too. But when I started learning Continental style, I felt it was faster (in my slow standards) and the tension was more even and at a comfortable ease.

I brought my little knitting project along while I waited in the car.

12.jpg

I have short attention span these days. Each of my knit sessions could only last for 30 minutes or less, and that was just a few rows each time. I stumbled a few times when the stitch slipped out of the needle because I used metal needles but I managed to slip it back, or so I thought.
My knitted piece is now 3inches wide and 11inches long.

16.jpg

I thought I was doing quite a good job until I noticed there were a couple of loose stitches. Dang.

13.jpg

14.jpg

If it was crochet, I know how to fix the stitches by unraveling a couple of stitches and crocheting it back but when it comes to knitting, in the past, I tend to unravel all the way until the end and redo the whole thing but I decided to let it be time. I have knitted too many rows already. Maybe I will sew something over once I know what I am doing with this piece. For now, I am glad I fulfilled my knitting desire for the week ☺


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

Here's wishing everyone a good week and take care!


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

#NeedleWorkMonday and #NeedleWork

💗 Our Motto: Support & Inspire 💗

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.
Take a look at the FAQ to learn more!


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Remember to subscribe to the NeedleWorkMonday community!

Read here to learn how!

Sort:  

I never tried kniting but yeah I heard its therapeutic too just like crochet. Thanks to your post, I realised why I get more tense when I do amigurumi than just crochet.

By tye way I'm glad your knitting wants is satisfied. And i like your yarn. I think its a milk cotton yarn

 3 years ago  

It is as therapeutic as crochet, a different kind. But it can be frustrating too if we miss a stitch haha.
Ah the yarn is bamboo yarn but you are right, it looks like milk cotton yarn which I like too :)

@marblely Your knitting work has been very beautiful. Made perfect and suitable. I love your knitting work.♥️👌

 3 years ago  

Thank you dear. It was nice to knit again :)

So glad you were able to satisfy your thirst to knit this week. That is such a pretty yarn. Your one little loose stitch is nothing compared to the many gaps I always have when trying to knit. 😅

Sometimes it’s nice not to have a plan or a full out tutorial of something but just to relax at ease and move your fingers through the yarns.

I remember that post you did about continental style, I’ll have to revisit that one.

Lovely knitting btw ~ ❤️

 3 years ago  

Thank you @crosheille<3 The yarn is soft and squishy :D Haha.. yah. it takes some practice.
I used to have gaps too with English style. Have you tried continental style? I was inspired by the lady in Expression Fiber Arts, when I watched her videos, her fingers move so little and fast.

Yes, no plan, just knit. It works if we get the groove but frustrating when we don't. Luckily for this one, I got my groove a little. No, no, no tutorials! :D

Thank you dear ❤️

I have not tried that style yet but the next time I knit I sure will!

Heee heee no tutorials! This was a refreshing read ~ 😘❤️

Que bello tu trabajo, el detalle de los puntos le da un estilo de alto relieve.gracias por compartir. Bendiciones!

 3 years ago  

¡Gracias cariño! ¡Feliz lunes de NeedleWork! :)

Wow I love this crochet 🧶 so sweet!

Congratulations @marblely! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's NeedleWorkMonday Community Featured Posts #153!

Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#needleworkmonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the NeedleWorkMonday Community while inspiring the Hive blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

 3 years ago  

Thank you soooo much!! <3 <3 <3

 3 years ago  

Yeahhhhh knitting! And even my most beloved style: relaxed knitting without pressure, too much concentration or other hurdles. I also love this (only I make cardigans from all the rectangles I knit 😂🤣 )
In the sewing course I attend there are also knitters and they cannot understand that I want to knit simple things without braids or colorwork or or or…. Not that I do not love these styles, but knitting and crochet are both for relaxing, occupations I can do if nothing else works. So I am happy to read you also use this. And as I think I already wrote I think your knitting looks very neat and even. These tiny mistakes where a stitch got unruly… pfffff… I think you could sew them in (my friend Silvi does this) you could embroider something over it (saw it on instagram) or just go with them (me) as they make your knitting individual <3 <3

 3 years ago  

Yay! Hi-five! Yes, I am still knitting the piece... wondering what I should make :D
But my knitting is sooo far from your skill level. You are my sifu! Ooo.. I like that, making cardigans with all the rectangles hmmm. I think I can manage that. But my attention span is quite short these days. Need to work on that :D
I am considering to embroider something but I might just go with them because I am lazy :D
Happy NeedleWorkMonday dear. Hope things are good on your side. <3 <3 <3