DIY T-shirt Screen Printing

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

My nephew is turning 3 this weekend and I decided to make him screen printed T-shirts.

image.png

To be honest, I was going to make freezer paper stencils, but I ran out of freezer paper. And I was not in the mood to make a trip to the store for freezer paper. I remembered reading in a magazine somewhere about DIY screen printing with sheer nylon chiffon or more well known as sheer white curtain fabric and decided to give it a try. I had some fabric on hand from a Halloween ghost project, the embroidery hoop, Mod Podge and some acrylic paint.

DIY SCREEN PRINTING TUTORIAL

As I said, you need sheer white curtain fabric, embroidery or quilting hoop, Mod Podge, paint brush, acrylic or fabric paint, an old credit card or bowl scraper spatula , and a printed image.

image.png

Fit fabric into hoop tightly.

image.png

Put image underneath and trace around with a pencil.

image.png

Then paint Mod Podge on the areas you DO NOT WANT PAINT ON!

image.png

I started with a simple image and then moved on to a more detailed one later. Just to be safe. Once the Mod Podge dried, I placed the hoop on the T-shirt.

image.png

Put small amounts of paint on the Mod Podge covered part.

image.png

Then using the bowl scraper, I spread the paint as evenly as possible. Lifted off the screen and let the paint dry.

image.png

Obviously I need to work on spreading the paint a bit more even. Note: rinse the screen as soon as you are done, let it dry and you can use it again!

image.png

I added one more airplane and then cut out a few clouds from white knit fabric and stitched it on.

image.png

Sort:  

Ooh thank you for this, I have been wanting to try screen printing but all the tutorials were telling me to buy expensive materials that I couldn't afford. This I can do!

Hi there! Nice work. I'm printing on t-shirts to 😉
here you can watch my works https://ecency.com/hive-158489/@oleksandr/top-anime-prints-on-clothes

Excelente trabajo, salio muy prolijo, saludos.

The option to obtain customized t-shirts online is a simple one to make when you think about the variables of top quality, service, along cost. In the last couple of years, online distributors have really ended up being the best art screen printing for custom-made spots, embroidered, printed, natural leather, or PVC.