You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: End of Year Clothing Audit

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

You made me think - for a long time. Hmmm, only two pair of shoes and several pair of bamboo sneaker socks. Not a lot... but I hate buying clothes even in good times. I love your example because it shows that you don't need to buy new things "exactly like that", but you can use your own wardrobe to get the achieved goal, the style/look you like.

When I lived in Berlin, I often went to second-hand shops - there were so many of them. And even the small town I live in has two: one with clothing only and the other, bigger one, is more of a department store for used things. When I broke the glass lid of my biggest pan two years ago, I went there every few weeks and then I had one that fit :)

Sort:  

Hello @muscara, happy new year, I hope you had a restful holiday over the festivities 😍.

I enjoy those videos - as much for the analysis of the look, so I can take the ideas and then apply them when I see a look that I like. Some work better than others, of course, but it is good fun (and an excuse to play dressing up). I think it helps to identify where there are specific gaps and encourages a more focused approach to buying additional items.

You're right about second-hand shops, my whole first home came from them including things like an ironing board (I still have it forty years later). It is so satisfying when you are able to find the exact thing, like the replacement lid for your pan. I was very pleased with myself when I made a new handle for a pan-lid using Sugru 😂. Sugru is great, I have used it for several small jobs around the home.