โ™ก ๐™ฐ ๐™ฝ๐šŽ๐šŽ๐š๐š•๐šŽ๐š†๐š˜๐š›๐š”๐™ผ๐š˜๐š—๐š๐šŠ๐šข ๐š†๐šŽ๐šŽ๐š”๐šŽ๐š—๐š ๐šƒ๐š‘๐š˜๐šž๐š๐š‘๐š...

in NeedleWorkMonday โ€ข 3 years ago
Authored by @@marblely

NWMWeekendThought.jpg



โ™ก ๐š†๐š›๐š’๐š๐š’๐š—๐š o๐šž๐š› n๐šŽ๐šŽ๐š๐š•๐šŽ๐š ๐š˜๐š›๐š” ๐šœ๐š๐š˜๐š›๐šข โ™ก


Happy Weekend!


As we prepare our needlework projects for Monday, as we sip our warm cup of coffee or chocolate or tea, thinking about what project to share with the community, it is always good to give it a little more thought about what to share and how to write about the project.

One of the goals of the recently concluded Tease Us Challenge was to encourage a different kind of writing, a writing that starts with a tease and ends with a reveal. It is one way to write our needlework stories. We received so many exciting and fun-to-read entries that we are finding it hard to decide ๐Ÿ˜Š!
Which brings us to a quick update, winners of the Tease Us Challenge will be announced this Wednesday, instead of the earlier planned Monday, thank you for your patience ๐Ÿ˜Š

โ™ก โ™ก ๐•Ž๐•™๐•’๐•ฅ ๐•š๐•ค ๐• ๐•ฆ๐•ฃ ๐•Ÿ๐•–๐•–๐••๐•๐•–๐•จ๐• ๐•ฃ๐•œ ๐•ค๐•ฅ๐• ๐•ฃ๐•ช? โ™ก โ™ก


You may have heard or read about the 5W1H questioning method or
some may have heard of it as the โ€œ5 Wives and 1 Husbandโ€.
When we write, we can think about the 5W1H questioning method, basically the:

What, Who, Where, Why, When and How


Every needlework project starts with a thought or an idea, or perhaps an inspiration or just a visual from somewhere. Sometimes, a project appears in our dreams ๐Ÿ˜Š
Even when it is something in our mind, even when there is nothing started yet,
we can share about the thought.

โ™ก ๐’ฒ๐“‡๐’พ๐“‰๐‘’ ๐’ถ๐’ท๐‘œ๐“Š๐“‰ ๐’พ๐“‰! โ™ก

There is much we can write about. Think about answers to questions such as:
โ€ข What captured our eye?
โ€ข Who can we make it for?
โ€ข Where can we find the materials?
โ€ข Why are we thinking about the project?
โ€ข When can we make it?
โ€ข How do we make it?

We can include photos of the items that caught our eye or links to videos we came across during our research.

When it comes to how-tos, while we enjoy writing about how something is made and sharing process photos, we can further think about answers to questions such as:
โ€ข What helped us decide on the fabric / yarn / thread colour / type?
โ€ข Who inspired us?
โ€ข Where did we find the inspiration?
โ€ข Why did we choose to make this project?
โ€ข When did the idea start?
โ€ข How did we feel starting, during and after completing the project?

A how-to answers the "how" question which essentially is only 1 part of the 5W1H questioning method. There is so much more that we can write about when it comes down to it.

We can share our thought process, our challenges along the way and how did we overcome them. And not every project we decide to venture in turn out the way we hope them to be. If we feel frustrated, if we feel happy about it, if life happened in the midst of us trying to work our project, guess what?

โ™ก ๐’ฒ๐‘’ ๐’ธ๐’ถ๐“ƒ ๐“ˆ๐’ฝ๐’ถ๐“‡๐‘’ ๐’ถ๐’ท๐‘œ๐“Š๐“‰ ๐’พ๐“‰ ๐“‰๐‘œ๐‘œ! โ™ก


We are here to support one another, to learn from one another and to inspire each other.
Remember, it is our community's motto to:

๐’ฎ๐“Š๐“…๐“…๐‘œ๐“‡๐“‰ ๐’ถ๐“ƒ๐’น ๐ผ๐“ƒ๐“ˆ๐“…๐’พ๐“‡๐‘’.


Let us not limit ourselves to how-to tutorials. Let us expand our imagination.
Lets share our story,

โ™ก ๐‘œ๐“Š๐“‡ ๐“ƒ๐‘’๐‘’๐’น๐“๐‘’๐“Œ๐‘œ๐“‡๐“€ ๐“ˆ๐“‰๐‘œ๐“‡๐“Ž โ™ก


The sky is the limit and the possibilities are endless.
Variety and uniqueness give readers and curators a breath of fresh air to read and it helps ignite our creativity too ๐Ÿ˜Š

However, new members are required to share at least 1 post which includes process photos of your original work as this validates and proves the work you are sharing in the community is yours (please refer to our FAQs). After that, you can share your needlework stories in many different ways ๐Ÿ˜Š

โ™ก ๐šƒ๐š‘๐šŠ๐š—๐š” ๐šข๐š˜๐šž ๐š๐š˜๐š› ๐š›๐šŽ๐šŠ๐š๐š’๐š—๐š. ๐šƒ๐š’๐š•๐š• ๐šŠ๐š—๐š˜๐š๐š‘๐šŽ๐š› ๐™ฝ๐šŽ๐šŽ๐š๐š•๐šŽ๐š†๐š˜๐š›๐š”๐™ผ๐š˜๐š—๐š๐šŠ๐šข ๐š ๐šŽ๐šŽ๐š”๐šŽ๐š—๐š ๐š๐š‘๐š˜๐šž๐š๐š‘๐š...


dividerheartleaves.png

NWM Discord LInk.jpg


NeedleWorkMonday Founder:
@crosheille


Administrator:
@marblely


Community Builders:
@neumannsalva
@lauramica
@romeskie
@kattycrochet


๐ŸŒท This article is written by @marblely ๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿ–ฑโœ๐Ÿป

Sort: ย 

I loved today's note. Just at this moment I was reflecting on how to write more casually, because many times I want to share things that are not "perfect", sometimes I get tired of posts that need a lot of editing.... But I come from a somewhat strict upbringing where "if you're not going to be the best, then don't do it."

But I don't want that pressure (I'm exhausted), I just want to be happy and enjoy little things, even if they are not the brightest thing in the world.

All the questions you propose practically form a really nice template to guide you in writing, it's beautiful. Thank you very much! ๐Ÿฅบ ๐Ÿ’›

ย 3 years agoย ย 

Hey dear... thank you for your kind comment. Yes, it is tiring... it is fun to change the way we write sometimes, change what we write about, change how we write. I understand what you mean, I have a similar upbringing and at the end of it, it is something I impose on myself. I got tired and nowadays, I try to be chill, maybe a little too chill :D

Don't pressure yourself. Writing should be fun, what more when it comes to something we like writing about! Have fun @tesmoforia!

This post brings me to life
I really like this approach to publications, I think that more than a compendium of technical publications it is pleasant to read personal details of the creative process of each person. Hugs dears, I hope I never miss a needle Monday <3

ย 3 years agoย ย 

I hope you don't too because your weekly sharing brings life to the community :) It is with hope that we don't stress ourselves too much when it comes to sharing in the community. It is meant to be fun and full of heart and soul.

Dear, sorry, I just read you had Covid. I hope you are recovering well. Stay safe and stay well.

Hello

This post is really enriching, thank you for sharing this valuable information, I did not know this technique, I know it will help me, both to improve my posts, and to support me when analyzing the problems I face in my work.

Thank you for offering us information to learn and grow.

Greetings.

ย 3 years agoย (edited)ย 

It is a good technique for analysis and presentations @jicrochet. It is very useful to guide and construct our thoughts. Thank you for your kind comment. We learn and grow together :)

ย 3 years agoย ย 

I was really happy to read this post, I was excited to see this new way in which we can share our experiences regarding the projects we do with needles.
Doing tutorials is also a nice experience and I have learned a lot to make my publications in this community, but I always felt that I was a bit shy about telling anecdotes about things that happen while carrying out my projects.
On the other hand, there are days when Monday arrives and I have not managed to finish the project and I did not dare to show an unfinished project. That is why this new dynamic is very liberating, it motivates me a lot to write and with all those questions that you show us as a guide, it will be very comforting to write my next publications.

@marblely, thank you very much for such excellent news and for all those guidelines.

ย 3 years agoย ย 

Thank you @kattycrochet :)
I agree, tutorials are straightforward but a lot of work too to present. Sometimes, it is nice to relax a little and share what we have even when it is unfinished or not started. Variety is fun and we do need different flavours to not get bored. Every thought, every word, every idea, every sharing is meaningful and we would love to read them :)

ย 3 years agoย ย 

Beautifully written @marblely! These questions definitely help us think about other ways to share our work and incorporate our lives into what we write. There is so much more to explore and talk about other than just tutorials!

Thank you for this lovely inspirational weekend thought!! ๐Ÿ’—

ย 3 years agoย ย 

Thank you @crosheille for your love and support ๐Ÿ’—
Yes! I found them really helpful when I was working and it is still helpful today! It helps to construct our thoughts and think of the various areas that needs to be addressed. Hope we will be able to see more heart and soul writing :D

ย 3 years agoย ย 

For sure ;)

I really hope we see more heart and soul writing too! ๐Ÿ’“

This post has already helped quite a few and I know as others read it will help and encourage them too ~

ย 3 years agoย ย 

This is a good guide to inspire our members to write nice posts, telling a little behind the scenes of each project. Good technique of the questions, I didn't know it. Thanks for sharing โค๏ธ.

ย 3 years agoย ย 

Hey @lauramica! Yes, it helped me and I hope it helps all of you too :) Thank you for your kind comment โค๏ธ

Thank you for your post @marblely I was really grateful for the teaser and revealation techniques because I really thought that we must share projects that is finished, thats why many mondays I can't post because my is not yet done. Now, yeah with your guide post we can post freely even with the unfinished projects.

I like this challenge. I can publish the reason that motivated me to do the project. If that's the sense I'm making of it, I think it's a great idea.

But to avoid confusion, I want to ask you. I have an amigurumi that I made some time ago and I would like to make a post about it, because of the story behind it. I can write about the project, but I won't show the process. I don't have pictures, just the finished amigurimi.

Thanks for the advice!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Yeah, there are things that made you do it because you need to which could lead to a successful little business and that's my story I wanted to share with you. Till then!

In this community we are taking a big step. They are right, weaving is linked to art and art is about building worlds, where we can play with shapes, colours, sounds and expressing ourselves in a free and authentic way.

For example, I remember that I used to walk around for months looking for inspiration, that changed and now there are moments where I get too much inspiration, that's why I walk around with a notebook in my hand, haha. I don't know how this process will be for other people. Good vibes!