NeedleworkMonday Freeneedling Challenge: Crochet Sunflower Earsaver

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

Freeneedling (1).png

No, I didn't really actually finish the entire thing in 20 minutes. I am a sloth crocheter, I usually take my time when making my projects. The main reason being that I learned my lesson not to rush my projects lest, I'll end up having to frog my entire work or being disgusted/disappointed/discontented with my finished project, seeing all the mistakes I made just because I wanted to complete it in haste. Another reason is that my crocheting spirit has its own schedule and will. I am a homeschooling mom, needing to complete all the housechores but still wanting to get hold of that crochet hook and yarn but still feeling drained after all the tasks in my to-do list.

Freeneedling (2).png

This was the pieces I finished during my freeneedling time. I am used to measuring how long it will take for me to finish a project, not set a timer and create one within that allotted time. I tried to set a time limit before, but I always end up saying, "Just one more row, and then I'll stop." or "Just one more episode, and then I'll stop." That's when I binge watch while crocheting. or "Just one more battle, and then I'll stop." That's when I play Splinterlands while crocheting. Most of my win streak happens when I'm crocheting while playing.

Crocheting has been my zen, I almost always turn to crocheting when times get tough. I would normally bring my current WIP with me anywhere I go because crocheting is almost as good as listening to music while waiting at the cashier in the grocery store, or waiting for your turn in the clinic, or even during the commute to wherever I would go.

My mind wanders off to somewhere else whenever I start crocheting. As soon as I got the gist of what I'm trying to do, I start thinking about other things. Most of the time, it's the projects I plan on doing after I'm done with what I'm working on. Once I stop fantasizing about my next projects, I would go on thinking about the chores I have to do when I'm done with my daily crochet session - which I keep at a minimum of two hours.

While making this project for the freeneedling challenge, I have my little one right beside me, both of us busy with our own stuff. She's building her castle made out of building blocks, while every now and then calling out to me to tell me what's going on with her kingdom. She has lots of stories everyday. Today, her kingdom was visited by aliens. At first, the elves and the fairies thought the aliens were evil and wants to take over the world, but it turns out they just want to be friends.

Freeneedling (3).png

I'm glad to participate with the freeneedling challenge this week because I have been looking for ways to free up some space in my yarn stash. I have milk cotton yarns in my cart already just waiting for the right time to click on the Place Order button. I can't right now because my husband has been lowkey asking me about the yarns I've been holding on to. I agree with him that I went a little overboard with ordering polyester yarn back in 2019 and 2020. There was a sale! And the colors were lovely. Thought I didn't have a project in mind back then, I still wanted to have those colors. Besides, my seller gave me free yarn cakes too.

Another reason why I accumulated a lot of yarns is my inability to estimate how much yarns I'm going to need for a project. Last December, I ordered way too much red yarns for the MTO I accepted. For my Belle dress project, I also purchased more yarn cakes than I actually needed. In my mind, I thought it's better to have more yarns than to have the trouble of having to delay my project completion just because I ran out of the yarns I needed. It was a good plan until it was not.

Freeneedling (4).png

I'm a sucker for sunflowers. It started when I watched the anime Samurai Champloo some years ago. The sunflowers just looked so beautiful. It always looks so happy and uplifting. Maybe it's because it looks like the sun. I started crocheting again since 2018 and most of the projects I made are gifts I give to my loved ones, mostly for my daughter. Seldom do I make projects that are intended for me. And when I do make ones for me, I forget to make me a sunflower piece. Thanks to the extra yarns I hoarded from my MTOs, I was able to have a set of yarn colors that are perfect for a sunflower.

Freeneedling (5).png

Last year, I made crochet earsavers for the frontliners on the hospitals near my area. I made one for myself and my daughter too. I decided I'd make one for me with a design that's near my heart. It just looks redundant though when I wear it because I have a sunflower tattoo on my nape. But meh, that's how much I love sunflowers. Because of this project, I am planning on making sunflower themed projects (curtains, fridge cover, and table runners) for our house. All I need is for my crocheting spirits to agree with my plans, and it's good to go. You know how it is when you have a current MTO but your heart and mind is really asking you to work on a project you have in mind? That's the drive that I'm counting on in finishing all those projects I have in mind. Hopefully, they translate from my head into actual beautiful sunflower themed pieces.

Freeneedling (6).png

20210422_124054.png

@romeskie is a full-time stay-at-home mom to a homeschooling toddler. Loves crocheting as a hobby. Maintains a mini food forest, aiming to grow more to achieve that farm-to-table homesteading. Learned how to cook after leaving the corporate world to take care of her family and is now starting to acquire basic baking skills. Learn more about her adventures and misadventures in the world of motherhood.
Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter

Sort:  

very beautiful sunflower. I like it!

 3 years ago  

Uh oh sdkfjsdjkfh… I wanted to answer all topics you mentioned in your post at once, didn’t work out :-DDD Ok, first your crochet time. I always admire parents who also homeschool for their ability to manage time. This is so much work and not only work but doing this with/for someone you dearly love, so I guess it is hard to have limit of what you can do. Finding nevertheless a bit time for your own relaxation and joy is not only important but speaks also to your good organisation.
Now on to the yarn: it is not possible to have too much yarn 😂 You never know there could come another pandemic which can only fought with crochet and knitting (hmmm, this does not sounds believable even to myself :-DDD) But better to have a spare cake or ball of yarn than being like me, who never calculates beforehand how much she needs and then ends up with one ball to little 😱
And now the sunflowers: yours is amazing, could you send it into our garden please, so that the sunflowers learn form it :-DDDD Because i have no idea what happened this year (ok, maybe I have an idea: too cold, too wet, too many slugs) but our sunflowers were tiny and look very sickly.
I went yesterday evening with my husband on a walk and we foraged some sunflower seeds from plants which grew between a corn field. The light was very dramatic:

4EB85AB0-8474-4B03-A20C-5E410A8BEBDD.jpeg

CB93AFAF-BF03-4F95-B296-0A898C51B540.jpeg
I hope these will grow better next year (in our garden). Do you have some sunflowers in your rooms or garden?

 3 years ago  

These yarns saved me from getting crazy when the pandemic started!

I love the clouds and the sunset (is that sunset) in the photo. I hope you get to grow sunflowers this year.

I have tried to plant sunflowers but haven't succeeded. The one time I thought I could make it, we had to move to a different place so I went back to square one. I would hope to someday have sunflowers in my front yard. That would be a nice way to greet passersby and visitors.

Hmm, may I borrow your idea to make sunflower all over your home because I wanted that to for how many years. I told my self If I have our own house not rented I will crochet it with sunflower and plant sunflower, too. Now, wd have our own house I think I must pursue that idea. I love your mask earsaver, it is crochetiful sunflower.

 3 years ago  

For sure Mami! Magtatanim din ako ng sunflowers sa bakuran ko pag may sarili na kaming house.

Great sunflower crochet you made!

Made me wish if i could do crochet :)

Wow this is so beautiful, cute, lovely am just short of words because this is so beautiful, the crochet 🧶 is really amazing

I really liked your sunflower. Like you, knitting is an escape for me, it's my moment of peace, tranquility, practically a meditation. hahaha I also think we have the same problem, I'm not good at calculating how much yarn I need for a project, so sometimes I either buy too much yarn or I lack, which is not good at all.

I love this! When I think about the future, I sometimes imagine crocheting beside my future child as s/he plays.... and you are doing it now! Hahahah cuteeee

The sunflowers are very pretty and I am curious about the type of yarn, I have yet to discover much more in the world of knitting.

I'm trying to buy only the yarns I need, although my curiosity to buy more colours is getting the better of me (haha) and I haven't tried so many textures yet. Good vibes!.