You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Newest Tool

I remember using an empty thread spool with little nails pounded in one end to weave a long rope of crochet thread. I was just a little girl then. I probably still have it somewhere, but don't remember how to do it any more.

Sort:  

There are lots of videos about spool knitting:

By now I should think of youtube right away, but I still don't. Thanks for the suggestion!

I make cord the same way, but often find it faster to make it on 2 double-pointed needles--knitting it that way is called I-cord.

Oh boy, I've never heard of double-pointed needles! There is much I still don't know about knitting!

They are used in groups of 4 or 5 to knit tubes, in the same way as a circular needle. This post has some pictures: https://hive.blog/hive-127911/@fiberfrau/slow-and-steady-socks