#needleworkmonday | Building a Sustainable Wardrobe - Buying Pre-loved Items

As the seasons change in England, its time to review clothes for the spring and summer. Is it too soon to put away my big winter coat? Much loved and fabulously warm, but also space hungry, it needs a cupboard to itself.

I like to see what's on sale as the seasons end and whether there are any bargains. I was lucky - a few items that I had been after on the Oxfam website were reduced. I had been looking at them for some time but the price had been more than I wanted to pay.

I'd been checking out moto and biker jackets: they seem to have had an especial thing this winter but I have wanted one for a long time. I used to have a leather one but I've found as I got older that leather is very heavy to wear.

Oxfam has loads of biker jackets, and I'd been following the two below for months. The third item, a woollen coat, is something I'd been coming back to time and again. Both the biker jackets were under £14 and the coat was £24.

They should arrive this week.

Ossie Clark

IMG_1616.jpeg

Faux snakeskin biker jacket by Ossie Clark.

Actually, this one had already been previously sold. I'd made up my mind to buy it anyway, at its old price, but someone had got there before me and there was the ominous "this item is no longer in stock" message in red against it. I remember feeling really disappointed. But it mysteriously reappeared.

Ossie Clark was a major British designer in the sixties. He went for long floaty dresses using fabrics designed by his wife, Celia Birtwell. His wikipedia entry says that, "he was brilliant at doing anything" from a very early age. I knew him first through the famous painting by David Hockney, "Mr and Mrs Clark and Percy."

Quba:Sails

IMG_1615.jpeg

Woollen coat by Quba Sails, a maritime company that makes clothing from canvas sails.

I liked the shape of this coat and it's collarless neckline. Depending how heavy it is, I would wear it as a knee-length winter jacket, Victorian-style. It'll be good to have some extra warmth around my legs. It's a bit of a weird photograph, I wonder if one side is that long.

IMG_1617.jpeg

You'd have to buy it for the label, if nothing else. I'm wondering if it has metal buttons.

Rocha John Rocha

IMG_1614.jpeg

Another take on a biker jacket, this time a mink coloured quilted version by John Rocha.

I like that both biker jackets subvert the image with non-traditional colours and textures, the mink coloured one having a nod to the longline Barbour jackets.

John Rocha is an Irish-Chinese designer born in Hong Kong. Seventy now, and a CBE for services to fashion, he gave up showing at London Fashion Week about ten years ago. As well as fashion, he worked with Waterford Crystal designing glassware (I have some John Rocha red wine goblets) and has designed many interiors. His daughter, Simone, is also a designer.

IMG_1618.webp

Source John Rocha and his daughter, Simone, featured in Vogue, May 2014.


IMG_1619.webp

Source Bonus extra image: I love this black and white photograph of John Rocha by Simon Brown, also featured in the Vogue article, May 2014.

Previous adventures with clothing audits

image.png

37BCFE6A-1297-46C2-9304-E24701F93431.jpeg

Part of Needlework Monday, the community for everything needles, fibre and fabric (FAQs).

Founded by @crosheille supported by @marblely, @kattycrochet, @lauramica, @neumannsalva and @romeskie.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I'm not into designer clothes, unless they are made by people like @clareartista or @kesityu.fashion , specifically for me, but we all have a different taste and I hope you enjoy your buys! ;<)
Sending a hug!

I am afraid we let you wait quite long times in between the collections😁
Very nice to read that though😊💕

After 6 years in Portugal, I like to think that I am pretty patient. Nice to get a sign of life from your side. You are being missed and so is your stand out content.✨🤗

...true, now the heat comes so there is even more patience😅
I guess I had to take a bit of a winter-sleep, but I am waking up now😊

I guess I had to take a bit of a winter-sleep, but I am waking up now

Hope you are feeling refreshed.
It's full on Spring, feels like Summer here, since a week and a half.

Nature is going crazy ( in a good way )!✨

Nature is going crazy ( in a good way )!✨

Here too! I love it, every day feels like exploring a magical jungle, amazes me every year again, as if I had never seen it before😁

Some serious earlt Summer weather here, in Portugal, as you have read in my post. Super enjoyable and energizing ✨

Good to have you back :^)

I'm not into designer clothes as such. I've been looking for a moto jacket for quite a while and there were a lot to choose from. These ones, especially the Ossie Clark one, were the most interesting and their amazing history was a bonus, both their original creators and the age of the items, in one case, about ten years and, in the other, over twenty-five years. And then to bring items back into use for less than £14 is pretty amazing.

Mind you, I've to see and try them on yet! 😍

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Thank you 😍

@shanibeer, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

!ALIVE

@shanibeer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurators. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

When you said biker jacket forgive me, but those are not exactly what I expected!

Hehe 😍 What was in your mind?

Somethimg more like this 🙃

image.png

Oh, that's like the one I gave away (minus studs). As I've got older, I find leather much too heavy to wear. I like these because they have the shaping and provide the silhouette, but subvert the image with different fabrics and textures.

John Rocha used to work a lot with Debenhams. I loved his clothes because they were just a little more 'different', slightly ethnic, whilst not being too far out. I never knew he was Irish/Chinese, I'd always guessed he was native American as that's the vibe I always picked up from his style. You live and learn.
Hope you're well and settling into the new routine :-)

He's always been on the periphery of my knowledge, so it was interesting to find out more about him. Thank you for telling me, I want to investigate more now.
I'm good, thanks, I had a quiet week this week, away from one job and the other isn't really work.

Hope these jacket will not be expensive

Seeing pictures of people from my country wear winter jackets is always lovely, lol
I’d love to wear it someday
They seem expensive though

Now that winter is over here, jackets will be bought next year.

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I wish like having one of this jacket 😍🧥