NeedleWork Monday - Making Face Masks

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

This Corona virus pandemic turned out life upside down. We are all fighting it and we are all pitching in to help. One of my tasks in this battle is to make face masks. Unfortunately, I don’t have a sewing machine, so I am sewing by hand. It takes me very long to make a mask because I don’t know how to make them, I am learning. But I have a strong willingness and an amazing helper, 😻, so I will get much better at it.

For now, I made two different designs, and I created a couple of masks. Soon I will make more and give them to people around me.

4D1309F7-E441-4E9E-8DDA-79FE65F0B3B9.jpeg

My first mask was an improvisation from a bra 👙... I saw on YouTube how you can do that and I experimented. Only one mask came relatively ok, as I had good materials. I am not writing a tutorial, as there are hundreds on you tube, I am just sharing my result.

ADF46E81-25DE-4DD1-BEED-1AC5C027196B.jpeg

It came out ok because I used a ready made mask that I previously bought online. A simple, stretchy face cover. I cut the bra and fitted inside of the mask, then stitched it by hand, all around the edges. The hardest part was the bottom, where the chin is. I had to make it tapered, so I cut the foam and took 1 inch in.

9A349CB1-E59F-4127-A497-7633425F828E.jpeg

Next design is a more fitted one. I made this for my daughter. I watched countless YouTube tutorials until I figured out my own. So I measured her face and drew a pattern on paper, then on fabric, then stitch everything by hand. This face mask came really good because I did my research, I used water resistant fabric for upper part, cotton for lining and I made a pocket inside where you can slide a filter.

I even glued a smiling mouth 👄 to decorate the mask to cheer my daughter up a little.

0A104062-0284-4AA8-B553-3928D3C1E9F0.jpeg

0CC52E9B-4DCA-4C73-A61A-CDF7E2A2A709.jpeg

My last design is a larger mask, with inner pocket, so you can insert a filter. I also put an aluminum wire inside so it can be fitted on the nose. This mask is more comfortable because the elastic goes around the head, not only the ears.

5ED4A86A-B50A-4B9C-B709-08969E793DF6.jpeg

This mask is the try-on, it needs improvement. The upper side is very good, fits well. The inner part not so good, I will have to improve the slit. The elastic part is good. Ohh.. and the materials. I found some water resistant, yet breathable fabric from re-usable shopping bags. Let’s see. Today I will finish it. After that, I will start making more and give them to people I know.

Be safe my friends!

7EE59559-36E6-4754-978D-A28CD0360A51.png

This post is my contribution to #needleworkmonday challenge founded by @crosheille and hosted by @muscara, @shanibeer and @marblely .

14552DA6-4E50-4290-842F-8ADE8056A43A.jpeg

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg


peakdfooter.png
PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain

Sort:  

I love the smiley face one.
I would so wear that.
In fact today I went out for groceries, and wrote I'm smiling with a smiley face on my white mask
Your's look a lot cooler :D

Thanks 🙏 We must keep our spirit up. Anything helps. A smile is always good.

 4 years ago  

This pandemic is so gruesome, I am in constant fear for my mother... sigh. As my father was so ill with leukaemia last year we still have some face mask (we had to wear them constantly to be able to talk and live with him), but soon I also must sew a mask especially as I am allergic to the surgical face mask. I love your version with the big red lips, it cheers me up and it looks perfectly done - cudos to you sewing this so neat without a sewing machine.

Thank you, trying. My fingers hurt. We live in fear here too. I don’t like it. I want this to end!!!

 4 years ago  

Oh sigh... yes, fearful times. Nevertheless I wish you happy Easter (if you celebrate) and wonderful days with your loved ones. I hope you will find some time to distract you from this pandemic and relax. I will try the same.

Great work I love the smiley face one ;)

Thank you my fiend, trying, trying.....

Thats all we can do at the moment keep on keeping on as best as we can

Very nice idea to glue a smiling mouth on the mask ! ^_^
rt01lr.png

Yes, I cut out the lips from a make-up bag and glue it with hot glue.

Nice job! Making things people need is an awesome way to spend your time and creativity. 😄

Yes, I agree. I am trying my best, I wish I had a sewing machine.

Good job and thank you for doing your part in this period of crisis.

Thank you. Trying to make some glued masks, they won’t last long, but it is better than nothing.

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

Are you a Splinterlands player? If Yes, then checkout MonsterMarket.io. Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase, and 2% cashback on every booster pack purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space - 60% for cards and 40% for packs, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDvoter Team

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

Thanks for sharing these different mask ideas. I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published each Thursday.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

Thank you!