Making Crochet Christmas Decorations For The First Time

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

IMG_1507.jpeg

In my family, we have a tradition of sending each other Christmas decorations. I was isolated from my family for many years while in an abusive relationship, and this tradition got lost.

It has been wonderful to regain my family over the last 18 months, and I decided to reinstate our old tradition this Christmas, but this time I know crochet!

For my sister, I created a string of Christmas lights. My sister loves what she calls "shinies" or "sparklies," basically anything that lights up or shines in some way. So when I saw the How to Crochet Christmas Light Decorations pattern, I knew I had found the perfect crochet gift for her. From the look on her face, I think you can agree!

Screen Shot 01-03-22 at 10.15 AM.PNG

I found the pattern pretty easy to follow. It just took some time to complete. I worked on it for 30-60 minutes of an evening for just over three weeks. I love the way they dangle and move when suspended, so much so I'll probably create a set for myself at some point.


IMG_1519.jpeg

The second decoration was for my Mum. I decided to try making a Christmas pudding decoration. This one turned out to be the harder of the two to pull off. I struggled with the holly leaves, and the instructions were not clear in places either. I tried finding other patterns, but none of them worked out. It required some stitching that I had not done before, and every time I tried, it just became a straight line, not a leaf. So I looked for an easier leaf and adapted something from this Little Leaves pattern instead.

My Mum loved it anyway and quickly put it up on her tree when she got home.

pud-in-tree.jpg

I had fun making these, and it was my first time making stuffed crochet items too. I'll definitely do this again in the future, but I'll make sure to start sooner in the season as it was touch and go if they arrived on time this year!


Image Source: Thea Stone

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

I love both of your projects and its so nice you could give them to someone you love, clearly your gifts are a joy for your family. I especially love the tiny Christmas hanging, so cute!!!
Not sure if you saw that we have a competition running in the needleworkmonday community where you can showcase your handmade home decor:
https://peakd.com/hive-127911/@needleworkmonday/needleworkmondays-decor-challenge
Today is the last day to participate :-)

And even more information and a warm welcome to you into the needlewrokmonday community!
Every week needleworkers from around the globe get together to share our work, patterns, tips, ideas and shortcuts as we support one another. Our goal is to inspire the Hive blockchain to give crafting a try.
On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days we use the #needlework tag without the word Monday attached. We share and post our work directly from the Community page.
We encourage our members to share the process of their work through photos. This not only validates your work, but it takes us along the creative journey with you 😊
For more information about what we do and for our posting guidelines please visit our FAQs. If you have any questions feel free to ask me <3
I hope to read more of your crochet adventures...

Thank you @neumannsalva for the warm welcome, and for letting me know about the competition. I've commented on the post with a link to this post. Just made it in the nick of time!

I started crocheting at the end of 2020, so I'm a full year into the process now and love it. I look forward to sharing more of my crochet adventures in your community and seeing what everyone else is up to!

 2 years ago  

So cool you managed to post the link (I was also just in time😅). Looking forward what you will crochet… As a coincidence I also just worked with crochet, but knitting got more convenient for my fingers in the last years (crochet hurts them faster sadly)

the crocheted Christmas lights look so cute! 🤩 it definitely looks fun to make, even the mini Christmas pudding! 😁 thank you for sharing your creations!
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz

Wow thank you so much for your encouragement @ilovewintergem!

First let me say I am glad that you are back to spending time with your family again. I hope 2022 brings you all great memories together.

You did such a great job on those lights decoration! Especially crocheting something like that for the first time. Your decoration for your mom turned out nice too.

Thanks so much for your entry ~

Thank you so much @crosheille! This is such a welcoming community. Glad to know you think my first attempt at stuffed crochet was a success! ❤️

You’re very welcome. 😊

I am so glad you feel this is a welcoming community. We try to focus on making sure our members feel that way. It’s nice to have you here with us and I look forward to seeing more from you ~ ❤️

very good!!! I especially liked the colorful garlands. this is a very interesting idea!

Thank you @tali72! Yes, I love the Xmas light pattern, so colorful 😍

I love those crochet Christmas lights and the 'christmas pudding' definitely looks tough to pull off :<)

Great to hear that you are reconnecting with your famil and amazing that you could do so with theze amazing, creative, self made gifts.

Big hug!

Thank you so much, Vincent! ❤️

Congratulations @theastone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!

This is such a gorgeous post on multiple levels, dearest @theastone... Blessings on you and yours!

Thank you beloved, @clareartista!

Wow this really beautiful so cute and I love the different color you combined made it look so lovely

Aww thank you so much. 🥰 I love the rainbow colors too!

While I don't like eating Christmas puddings I think the decoration you made of it is great.

Thank you, @simonjay! :)