Back on the Blog Front!

in Build-It3 years ago (edited)

}

Been a bit busy

There I am again with a post, and this time I would really like to write all kinds of things. But at the same time I also think again… now just stick to one subject at the same time. After all, that's more than enough. Who is interested at all in my story about what we've been doing recently that I wasn't very active on Hive? Well, that's a bit of a hypothetical question whose answer will only become clear over time… or not. LOL.

But what have I done during the time that I was not active here? Well, as I said, my partner suddenly took up the plan to buy a wood lathe. In one of my last blogs I had already posted some pictures of the house as we built it. Then we still had to hang the door in it, the window still had to be made and of course it had to be decorated.

In the meantime we have progressed some steps again ...



Painting

We stained the outer wall and on top of the roof we painted with tar paint so that the rainwater does not have a chance to enter. Because that is the last thing you want… that you want to turn on the wood lathe and that the engine turns out to be wet due to rainwater. Just to mention something.

Time for delivery

After the house was stained… we had to wait for the wood lathe to be delivered. And by coincidence my partner was also at home when the lathe was delivered. The reason he was free is another story ... but to explain that very briefly. There is currently little or no work available at the company where he works, and as a result most days people just sit and look ahead. Very sad but true. It will be clear that the days are very long in this way. And that was why my partner decided to sacrifice some hours and take time off. It is better to do something at home when looking ahead at work.

It's a shame it takes him hours of vacation for that reason, but I could understand his decision very well. So when the lathe was finally delivered, we were both at home and that was a good thing after all. I could never have placed that lathe in the house on my own. It is a lathe on a base, and the whole weighs no less than 95 kilos. Now I'm not a wimp, but lifting 95 kilos of dead weight on my own is really beyond my strength. Walking with three shepherds at the same time is not always easy, but that weight is self-leveling, and I only have to stop. I digress a bit ...

Back to the wood lathe. We screwed it together, first the base, then the top and mounted it back together. Triple checking if everything is right… and that was it. The wood lathe was in our house… and we can get started! First furnish the house in a functional way… with the chisels, for example!




Safety first

Now they are still in a bucket, but we already know that we have to make a wall rack for that. Because of two reasons. Now they are sideways behind you when you are at the lathe, which is fine, but now you have to be very careful when you step back. And also if you want to quickly change chisels, you have to pay attention. Because sometimes you let the lathe run, but because it's a pretty small space ... you can hit the lathe if you're not paying attention. And the last thing you want is to make contact with a rotating wood lathe. Loose clothing that you have not paid attention to for a while. Your hair that can be grabbed if you are not paying attention. Safety is one of the things you should always keep yourself aware of, so a wall shelf is a much better solution for the chisels.

Build something more

What we also needed was of course a wood storage. And yes, we have plenty of room outside. That is really not a problem, but you do not want your wood to always be outside in the rain. You don't want to have it all in either. So the pallet on which the wood lathe was placed when it was delivered had immediately been given a new function.



Exactly… that pallet came in handy to be able to put the wood off the ground during drying. And with a few posts and a few boards next to and above ... we now have a small wooden roof. A small wood storage place where our wood can dry. Well the wind, not the water.

Chopping wood

Then it took some work… because we had some trunks of a large chestnut tree. A large branch that had broken off during a spring storm a few years ago. But those pieces of wood were way too big for our lathe. So chopping wood was the solution. Cut the logs in half so that they can dry. In order to eventually be able to be processed into a beautiful product when it has dried.

I'm still learning ... but at least I'm sure I like it a lot. And will certainly keep you informed about the workpieces that will soon be rolling off the lathe. My first piece of work will be a table lamp for on the wall.

To be continued!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 47 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

I look forward to seeing many project posts of things made with your new lathe.

Hi hetty-rowan,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.