Progress on the 130 Defender - A Disaster and a Great Fix πŸ”§

in Build-It β€’ 2 years ago

Sadly, we didn't finish the Landrover by the school holidays, but still, we're 'getting somewhere' as we say. There's soooo many small details that need doing, such as:

  • sides painted
  • underdoor panels painted
  • battery check point on dash
  • seatbelts installed
  • back door
  • seals between roof and sides, sides and tub
  • brackets to hold the sides firm in place

1662545464424.png

And so on and so forth. Sometimes I feel like a right bitch coming out and saying 'finished yet?' - I'm only semi joking but I'm also kinda excited.

IMG20220904152629.jpg

IMG20220904153406.jpg

IMG20220904153458.jpg

We bent some aluminium over the roof and pop riveted it in. LAndrovers are famous for rivets so what's a few more hey? In this picture it's yet to be painted the same colour as the roof - the glue and sealant is busy drying.

One wierd thing is the paint came up in two different colours - bummer. Variations between tins I suppose. Oh well, adds to the general quirkiness hey?

IMG20220907102037.jpg

He's been so angry at the door he was trying to fix - some 15 hours of sanding and priming and spot welding. Finally, he got to the point where it was ready to paint green. He hooked it up, painted it, went to take it off as the paint was running - and it felt face down on the gravel like a piece of buttered toast. Honestly it was awful - gravel and leaves stuck to the paint. I'm suprised he didn't swear blind!

IMG20220907103028.jpg

I retreated inside and went straight on Facebook marketplace. Would you believe there was a 2015 Puma door for $580? They're worth over 2000 brand new. This was basically a dream! I quickly messaged him and said 'Would you take $400?" and he said: 'For you, Mrs River, anything!'. Of course, I did a double take - it was a student from ten years ago! How funny. I jumped in the van and did a three hour round trip to Melbourne to collect. Boy did I win wife points.

IMG20220907153835.jpg

I'm a firm believer that there's a solution to every problem. Whilst it did cost us a little, it's not exactly over budget. We had also sold the dual cab section to make up costs - to a Landrover owner in a cool Perentie 110 that had done a trip round Australia. His wife was pregnant so coverting it to a dual cab seemed like a great idea.

IMG20220904104141~2.jpg

Luckily the lock we had fitted, and we sourced some rubber and glass. I do think we'll leave it dark grey as honestly, Jamie can't cope with more painting. It suits the colour scheme anyway and we're not after a picture - we want our own quirky, warts and all Defender 130 Panelvan.

IMG20220907153845.jpg

Whilst we haven't made the deadline to take it away on holidays with us, we've mostly achieved the goal of finishing the main part of the build at this part of the term - next term we'll be doing the camper build, or at least the bare bones of it. These things take time!

Just before we left for holidays we took it for a spin to get beers. Well deserved, don't you think?

IMG20220914165758.jpg

IMG20220914165927.jpg

IMG20220914161615.jpg

Oh and just checking to see if you are paying attention. There's something on this car that gives away which part of England Jamie is originally from. Can you guess?

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort: Β 

Oh and just checking to see if you are paying attention.

LoL, you caught me. I was distracted by those high resolution chickens hehe...

Hmm...Can't really make out what's said on the beers though so...I'll go with my second guess - the chickens!

So by the looks of those chickens, I'd say they're most likely the rare Holland breed therefore.... Jamie is originally from New Jersey!!!


Also, I think your rover might be haunted:

InShot_20220919_144503693.jpg

See that creepy hand sticking outta the roof?

Thanks for making me πŸ˜‚ laugh!! Yes we will exorcise the hand at some πŸ‘‰ point..

Good thinking with the chickens but no....

I don't know where his from but I know more about England's literature than England itself. Is it a crest or something?

Anyways, great job on that Project. It looks ready to roam all Australia. I'm guessing three will be tons of photos for that. Kuddos to you for that stonky purchased to solve the problem. I can't see his face in the photo where he's painting but the pose speaks for itself.

Reminds me of this paint gun I bought that has its compressor. It sucks. There's no way to regulate the air flow. First time I used, I wanted to throw it in the trash bin. And it's just some weight in the closet.

Oh yeah Jamie spent ages on fixing two compressors til he finally found one that worked!!

The crest for Kent, England, is a white horse. So it's a nod to that... Obscure I know!!!

Sounds like a hell lot of work.

Huh? So I actually got it right but didn't say the place. 🀣

Oooh the pain… of freshly painted metal and something as that happens… ouch 😣
I so know as I have been airbrushing cars and motors for some while before my other art.

Lots of work already done. And the paint colour in different shades, it can happen. It does add to the quirky ness like you say.

Such a great find, and you got it for a nice price too.
Happy new week @riverflows πŸ‘‹πŸ»β˜€οΈ

I always love stumbling over your post because it is always well explanatory with piece of literal touch. Happy you are able to finally fix your Rovers. It's now looking new and moreso,I love the color the River came out with. Or is it the same color as the old one or maybe that why the color looks different in my face? Thanks for sharing!πŸ₯‚

It used to be white, so the green is a change. Most people have white ones here as easier to import - you don't have to wait for the colour, or at least that was true at the time. So a coloured Defender is always appreciated! It's also a very classic Landrover colour called Keswick Green. Thanks for stopping by!

Oooh!

Thanks for the knowledge you have shared. I really appreciate. Take care.Cheers!

Hi @riverflows,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your chickens seem happy with it ; )

Hmmm the clue has to be the beer or the logo in the window πŸ€” but I can't recognize either and google is not helping. Thats above and beyond finding a replacement door πŸ‘ My family usually just hides when something like that happens because I can be a bit unpleasant 🀣 btw the panel van may not be up to your standards yet but the chickens look ready to move in haha

It's definitely the sticker in window. The horse is on the Kentish crest - it's actually from a YouTuber called Kent Survival.

You know I was soooo suprised Jamie DIDN'T lose his bananas. . I did vacate the area quickly just in case!!

He hooked it up, painted it, went to take it off as the paint was running - and it felt face down on the gravel like a piece of buttered toast.

Ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff brief ffffffffffffffffffff
I'd get so incredibly pissed. I see now why you ran away.

I saw a white 110 driving by on Friday. So beautiful.
Looks like you have a 'chickenian army' invasion.

Hahahah yes I did run - straight to inside, where I went to try to find a door for him! I am the best wife EVER.

Best ever. Too bad he was quicker to get married to you \o\

Aw, you are so sweet!

I see the inspectors were on the job. That must have been heartbreaking having the door fall like that. :(( Glad you could find another. Love the last photo, it looks great!