You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #CallingOutMyPrivilege podcast

in DSound4 years ago

Usually I am on the opposite side of the field, but your words do seem to reach across a bit better than most I have heard. Mainly I take on the attitude to not give unto others more than I have for myself, else I might spiral back down into my past failures which were so difficult to escape.

The language (word choice and phrases) we choose makes a big difference in opening minds. Buzzwords link us to a faction in alignment with or against a group of people. When repeated, a person listening might jump to the conclusion that the person speaking those words is as extreme as the latest provocateurs who were shouting it in a viral altercation video.

Compassion and understanding are universal truths that transcend parties and division, which I think opens doors. Thank you for this.

Sort:  

Thank you sooo much for this beautiful response, @creativetruth - yesss! Compassion is a hard line to walk, when the privilege perpetuates because an entitled person is so very insensitive to the effect that they're having on those around them. And doesn't want to be sensitive to it, because they genuinely believe that THEY'RE the hard-done-by one... I feel that this is one of the illustrations of having the 'privilege' of being able to hold onto our trauma and use it as a means of 'proving' that WE are 'victims', so that we can retain our privilege, essentially.
Sometimes, depending on what the atmosphere of the conversation is, there's a time and place to pull away a veil - but sometimes that veil might need a yank ;-) I am always learning more about the art of the removal of the veils... Compassion requires mastery, presence, awareness of where we might be using our power heavy-handedly... I learn a lot from responses like yours. :-)
Much gratitude to you,
Clare