Quilling - Paper Art

in Hive Diy2 years ago

7C7B249D-277A-4521-9D3F-15ACC08CDF7C.png

My sister-in-law came over a couple of weeks ago with her quilling kit. I’ve always wanted to learn how to make this paper art so we spent two hours going through the basics.

I love exploring new forms of relaxing art to do in my free time. I probably won’t get serious with this art but do plan on learning how to make my own greeting cards with it.

Quilling is an art that deals with the manipulation of paper. You roll it, shape it, glue it then design it to make beautiful art.

This is one of the first designs my sister tried. She made this and glued it to a greeting card to spice it up.

6786F3C0-C9EA-4D87-BCB3-F7ED78CF3AEB.jpeg

This design is what really sparked interest in me and made me want to learn to do cards this way.

There are so many pretty and vibrant colored papers to use. I love how they come in these loop like strips that you tear off and separate just as you would do for a sticky note.

7CEFAB97-82AF-4208-BA78-BF243157145D.jpeg

You can purchase supplies separately or buy small, medium and large sized kits to get started. Some people make their own strips of paper to save money. My sister started with a nice sized kit and has put her materials in a bin.

E0002A99-5D94-489F-B686-47FF664AE10E.jpeg

She started with showing me the basic tool that is used to roll the paper. This is how most designs are started. After doing a simple roll you can manipulate it however you want from there.

E5C1223F-4407-474C-B253-92EB8F63F483.jpeg

0783716B-88C7-4C9E-95A6-83414E5E6531.jpeg

This fork/pick tool was really cool too. She uses this when she wants a more elongated design. This is a good tool to use for making leaves…

1AD38115-EAB9-48BD-BD55-4F9BB6EB7CC5.jpeg

2F418177-CCA6-48FA-933F-31B2250E1417.jpeg

If you haven’t noticed by now I have no idea what the real names for these tools are called. She told me but of course I don’t remember and I’m too lazy this morning to go look them up. So I’m just naming them by what they look like. 🤭

This next tool I used was my favorite. It’s the crinkling tool that crinkles the paper. 😁

635B74B1-B899-469D-B90E-B16298E06630.jpeg

I love the way it makes the paper look and feel. My youngest took my crinkled paper from me and I never seen it again lol. I had to make another one because she loved it so much.

This sizing board is used to help you with getting exactly the same sizes on pieces. If you want to manipulate the designs into particular sizes and shapes this is what you’ll use.

650C8574-F27F-4125-AECB-3F0F423FEBE8.jpeg

Here’s the crinkled piece I made…

851B846C-889D-40AA-934A-5CE6F894D0DF.jpeg

It was cool watching it roll to size once I released it in there.

This next one is a dome shake maker. You have to glue the end of the paper first in order to manipulate it into these shapes. Once you do that it takes just seconds to achieve a desired look.

520EA927-72B3-4076-A78C-F42772DBBDC2.jpeg

I was amazed when browsing through Pinterest by the millions of things you can make with this paper art. I’ve even seen what other Hivers have made here with jewelry and decorations. Speaking of jewelry a pair of earrings might be on my to make list too. 😃

It was really relaxing rolling the paper and chatting with my sister at the same time. It also was a nice break for my hands as needlework is more strenuous and tenses up my muscles after doing it for so long.

She told me we can practice a few more times making designs and then she would help me design my greeting cards. When that happens you know I’ll be back here to show you. 😉


Have you ever tried quilling? Does this type of art look like something of your interest?


9E23A578-F63D-4B7C-B955-FC67D9C26725.jpeg


All photos are my own.


Thanks for Reading!

Sort:  

If you haven’t noticed by now I have no idea what the real names for these tools are called. She told me but of course I don’t remember and I’m too lazy this morning to go look them up.

Haha! This is so me! I would probably try to look them up for a post, but not knowing what to search would also be a problem.

These are so pretty. I don't blame your daughter for disappearing with some as it all looks great to touch as well. I love things with texture. I recall a display of textile art one time and one of the pieces looked so wonderful with its texture that I wanted to touch it, then I got told of by my daughter because I missed the sign that says not to touch...😳

Hahaha so I'm not the only one?! Great! 😄

I normally would have looked them all up and had them ready for the post but time and energy had slipped me this week. It was just easier naming them on my own for now. 🤣

I think this is such a pretty art. Crazy how you can make so much with paper.

Haha ooopsy! I know what you mean though, it’s hard resisting touching things with interesting textures.

Thanks for the comment. Let’s hope by the next time I share this I’ll have my act together with the real names.
😅

It feels good when you derive the habit of learning new things everyday which is pretty nice in having experience some where else and also benefiting from what is been learnt. Keep up the good work I appreciate every part of it.

It does feel good. It keeps me curious and my mind working which is a good practice. I love challenging myself to learn new things :)

Thank you ~

It's really good doing so

I have never done it, but, it really looks like it could make some fun cards! Isn't that what we all love, to give something memorable or something that says you are special? Of course, the first thing that came to mind was, how am I going to make an envelope to fit it?

Or will this be a card that doesn't require an envelope?

Crafting never ceases to amaze me! Thanks for showing it off!

Yes! I really love giving thoughtful and memorable gifts.

That’s a good point. She actually made her own envelope too. She has a cricut machine and will also be showing me how to make them. I’m sure you can also just purchase an envelope with a little extra room too.

Absolutely! Im glad I was able to try it and share. Thanks for reading Denise ~

Hahaha you don't remember the names but I can see you remembered the dome shake maker 😅 or is that not its name too?

I've never heard of the word Quilling but believe me when I say that second design your sister in law made on a greeting card picked my interest too 😍

I'm going to research more about this side of art, super cool

Who says art aren't full of beauty and surprising creativity?! 😁

Well, I'm hoping you learn quickly and maybe start tutoring us here how to make some at home 🥰 I'll love to learn.

Lol no, that's not the name. It makes dome shapes so today it's called the dome shape maker. 🤣

I know, it’s easy to get interested in a craft like this once you see it’s beauty. I hope you like what you see and maybe you’ll get a kit before I do lol.

Thanks for the visit ~

Hahaha I thought as much, maybe you'll make a post soon to tell us their real names 🙈 would be super easier to read it on Hive than going to search for them myself 😂 pardon me.

I'll get a kit before you? Who knows! 😅 I doubt that though, you're the needleworks herself 😉😁

Yes, when I make another post about this I will surely have the real names by then. 😅

Hahaha too funny! ☺️

Haha no problem, I hope I don't miss that post ❤️
Thanks for the chat, I was actually smiling 🙈

I thank you as well for the chat. 😉

How cute is this, it looks absolutely satisfying. It reminded me of an acquaintance who makes incredible pieces on paper, I tried to get her to join Hive (without success) because it would be great to see her step by step... If you liked the work on paper, you can see her works here: www.instagram.com/blenkienpapel ❣️

It was so satisfying shaping those little papers and seeing how cute they turned out.

Oh wow thanks for the info, I'll have to check hers out!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

It's always nice to keep our hands busy as we our minds relax and and just let the creativity flow naturally...

I so agree @arrliinn! I love when it flies naturally and sometimes effortlessly :)

Congratulations @crosheille! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 17000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 18000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support

I’m just getting to know about Quilling. Wow! I’m certainly going to make some research on it.

Oh cool! If you end up doing this art please do share and tag me! 😃

Oh, I will. Thank you.

For sure ;)

Wow these are really cute and creative
I would love to learn these for real
Wow

Aren't they though?! You totally should learn this and share your experience if you do. I'd love to see more people try this!

Seeing this made me want to have a quilling tool kit🙊. I have made some greeting cards using quilling patterns but without those tools. Used alternates for those tools.

So cool to know you have actually made greeting cards! I think it helps to really liven up cards and make them even more special. If my sister didn't have so many supplies I would get a kit too. But for now I'll just have fun with her things. 😄

Sisters are there to share 😁. Giving handmade cards to someone shoes how much we love and care for them. That's why I like to make them by my self.

I couldn’t agree more :)

Imagine the beauty that came out of the paper art. This card is indeed beautiful...some people are so creative. Wow. .your Sister did well here and I am sure you will do magic with those your fingers as usual 🤩🤩

I am waiting patiently to see your own greeting cards well designed...maybe I will learn more from you.
Currently, I am using embossed cardboard paper to make a little craft 🙈 , I wish I can do better like you 🤩

Just trying out something though..lol

So sorry for the late reply. Thank you for always reading and commenting, that means a lot.

Yes there is so much beauty that can come from this type of art. I hope I find time to explore it more.

It’s okay, using the supplies we already have on hand is good too. As you learn about new techniques you can slowly add them in. It’s always good to experiment ;)

Yes ma
Thanks for your reply 👍

Great @crosheille i also love papercraft!

Thanks Devy! Oh wow cool to know you like these types of crafts too. Do you post them on Hive? I know I follow your needlework but never knew you did paper crafts.

You're welcome @crosheille .. i love paper crafts and i already posted some, but i never tried paper quilling although yet