“Long History of My grandmother’s DIY Needlework 祖母の編み物DIYの長い歴史” [Japanese and English]

in Hive Diy2 years ago (edited)

04723847-6BA6-4C71-A730-055E4D26863D.jpeg

“Long History of My grandmother’s DIY Needlework

My grandmother could do many things very well when she was younger and energetic. Now she totally stopped doing things because she is very old. She looked like a super lady. She could cook, make, and baked almost everything. She practiced if it was new to her or updated her style. She learned and challenged many things for a long time.

One of her specialties was knitting. She made our sweaters, mats, scarfs, mittens, and more every winter. When she started knitting something, she was very quiet and fast. As soon as she started, it would be done in amazing speed.

When I was in Japan late last summer, I cleaned my grandmother’s room with my mother. My grandmother is at a nursing home now. She doesn’t use her stuff anymore like before. When I opened her needlework boxes, there were many balls of yarn which were for our sweaters but not hers. She always thought about her family’s food, health, clothes, lives, and financial situation. She was and is a caregiver.

I found my name, my father’s, brother’s, mother’s, and grandfather’s name tags on her yarn like “this yarn is for someone’s shoulder parts, or front body” and so on. It touched me a lot. I couldn’t get rid of the yarn which has our name tags. However, we had to clean up most of the stuff because we had to declutter my grandparents’ things at that time. I decided to take pictures of them and kept some of them. It was a nice time to check my grandmother’s needlework.

“祖母の編み物DIYの長い歴史”

わたしの祖母は今より若くて元気いっぱいだった頃、なんでも自分でできました。今はかなり年老いたので色んなことをやめてしまいましたが。以前の祖母はスーパーレディーのようでした。祖母は料理、作成などあらゆることができました。祖母は新しい事もすぐに学び、アップデートをしました。そうして長い間色んなことにチャレンジしてきました。

その中でも編み物は大の得意分野でした。冬が近づくと毎年家族のセーター、マット、マフラー、手袋など色んなものを作ってくれました。祖母が何かを編んでる時はとても物静かで素早かったです。一度編み始めるとものすごい速さでした。

今年の夏の終わりに日本を訪れた際、母と一緒に祖母の部屋を掃除しました。祖母は今老人ホームに入居しています。以前のように色んな物を使う事がなくなりました。編み物の道具が入っている箱を開けると、家族用のセーターの毛糸がたくさん入っていました。祖母のものではなく家族用の毛糸だらけでした。祖母はいつも家族の食べ物、健康、衣服、生活、財産事情の事を気づかってくれました。祖母は実にケアギバーです。

わたしと、父、弟、母、祖父の名前のタグがついた毛糸をたくさん見つけました。「誰々の肩パーツ用、前みごろ用」などと書いてありました。感動して、家族の名前がついている毛糸は捨てれませんでした。でも祖父母の部屋の断活をしなければなかったので、色々な物を処分しました。少し思い出の物を残して、あとは写真に残しました。祖母の編み物道具を見れてよかったです。

3FB1FE3C-92CC-45CB-AEEC-74E068276EEC.jpeg
She was maybe making a scarf or cape. It was never finished.

多分スカーフかケープなどを編みかけていたのでしょうか。

16D1CE6A-6E27-490D-B1F7-4FE6B6C2372C.jpeg
It is also a different pattern.
これは違う模様です。、

72AD4E32-2257-48D1-9151-911D26BA27D4.jpeg
I don’t know who’s vest but it’s a tiny vest.
誰のベストかわかりませんが、小さなベストです。

C814ADA5-8AB1-4179-82C3-06134B2D7F7D.jpeg
A633F1A3-26B8-4B5A-8B99-1C802EA5E553.jpeg
There were many balls of yarn in the boxes. The history of my grandmother’s needlework DIY for many years!

箱に入ったたくさんの毛糸。祖母の編み物DIYの歴史です。

326ABCD0-2924-4375-9F07-5137D32D6795.jpeg
My Site: https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1/home

Sort:  

Hey there!
Simple things.jpg

this yarn is for someone’s shoulder parts, or front body” and so on. It touched me a lot

Simple things like this make me smile:)

These are beautiful memories and memorabilia of and from your grandmother, that will last forever.

Thank you! Yes, my grandmother ‘s yarn collection made me very happy!