First cold frames for the winter

in Hive Diy3 years ago

It's winter. Pine needles have fallen all over my yard, and the frost has ensured nothing else grows.

Time to build cold frames.

img_20211114_120253.jpg

This past weekend was a busy one for me. I finished building my monstrous Rabbit Hotel that is a 4 x 4 house with a 12 x 4 run.

Here's a picture of it.

rabbithotel.jpg


And I also finished converting the old chicken run, into a large chicken barn with the new 12 x 8 run attached to it!

chickenbard.jpg
It sure isn't pretty, but it's functional


So since these two very large projects are finally complete, I can begin work on the other projects I have on my list. Cold frames and the fence.

The cold frames are relatively easy, and I can make them from scrap wood I have around the house.

If you are unfamiliar with cold frames, they are mini greenhouses made from old windows, so that you can grow vegetables over the winter.

I have a pile of cull lumber I grabbed from the local hardware store, so I grabbed a couple of those pieces of wood and started screwing them together.

img_20211114_114627.jpg

I cut up some 2 x 2's to provide extra support on the inside.

img_20211114_114752.jpg

And I grabbed a 2 x 4, marked a 45 degree line down to the other side and ripped it.

The cut wasn't perfect, but this is going to hold soil, and so when you're making these, remember that it doesn't really matter if it isn't perfect.

img_20211114_115307.jpg

I then screwed in a 2 x 4 to the back, allowing space for me to later attach hinges for the window.

img_20211114_120202.jpg

And then I placed the window on top to see what it would look like once I place the hinges.

img_20211114_120240.jpg

img_20211114_120253.jpg

That's 1 out of 4 done!

Next thing I'll do is to get these in the garden beds, fill them with soil, and get some fresh veggies over the winter.


This project didn't take me too long, and I was glad to see a finished project in a short amount of time, as opposed to working on something for weeks or months.

Let me know if you have built cold frames using another method. Mine is very simple, and it gets the job done.

Sort:  

This is some awesome work man! You should try improving your tags for the post so you can get more communities lol. Palnet, neoxian and proof of brain are pretty common and popular all-purpose communities. I tag those on all my posts and sometimes you get some good votes from them, sometimes you don’t.

The winter boxes look good, what are you going to try and grow in them? Something hearty like potatoes or something? Just curious what could withstand the cold temps. Are you going to line the dirt with black wrap to absorb as much heat as it can?

My biggest struggle with tagging is that I don't know what each tag represents. I wish there was a quick reference guide to know what content is good for palnet, pob etc. Ive seen someone get down voted by an entire community for using the POB tag for something a curator felt didn't belong there, so I've been careful.

Also, for the cold boxes, if you put it in an area that gets a lot of sun, you can grow lettuce and kale over the winter. No need to wrap it or anything, the dirt stays warm in there as long as you have a solid 6 to 10 inches of dirt above the ground.

We did this in the spring when the weather was still cold. Sarah put those plastic lettuce containers that you get at the store over the seedlings, and it drives as a mini greenhouse. Even when there was frost on the ground, everything underneath the plastic flourished.

Congratulations @swayzilla! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I started with glass on my cold frames, but as each one eventually broke, I went to the poly panels used for roofing. They have pretty good light transfer if you get the good ones, and no more breaking...

Got some lettuce babies who'll be ready for their new home soon!

This is a really awesome project - not gonna lie, I’m jealous of your space!

Thank you!! Yeah when we first moved here, we moved from the city to the middle of nowhere. Luckily Boston is only an hour away, and a smaller city 20 minutes away, but it really does feel remote, and so we can do things like this.