In the last two days I have learned:

20221016_111957.jpg
These green tomatoes will probably survive the coming frost tonight if covered, but

20221016_111948.jpg
This bloody watermelon I have been nursing and babying, probably will not.
This morning, right now in fact the temp here is 38°F, pretty unusual here this early, and it will be colder tonight.
Weather heads are saying that today and tomorrow we make break both High and Low temp records for these two days.

image.png

I already knew this, but it has been driven home:

Time Marches On

Coming up on three years in my new home, and now the large potted plants on the porch that I put there by myself, moved in and out last year, I just can't do it now.
Folks I am getting old. My hands elbows and shoulder hurt, especially in the cold, so I learned that...

if you ask, most times people will help you.

I have always cared for my plants, my Dracaena's started out as ONE stem in ONE pot in 2007, before the windstorm that busted the other pot, I had two of these on my porch

image.png
And I was (barely) able to lift those pots from those stands and set them down on a cart to bring inside.
The one on the left was blown over in the storm, the pot busted all too heck, so now rather than one pot, I have THREE pots (smaller of course).
So here is the plan this year. Well back up.
Last year, I tried to keep some of the potted plants in a small plastic green house (I already had)
It was a lot of trouble and anxiety, with limited success.
So this year, I am moving everything to my studio,
I have Purchased another green house I will set up INSIDE for the plants.

image.png

This will allow me to control the humidity, humid for the plants in the enclosure, not humid outside because that would not be good for the acoustic piano, guitars and electronics that also inhabit that space.

image.png

I borrowed this little cart from one neighbor and loaded this much myself, and pulled it around to the back door to the studio (gasping for breath by the time I got there, COPD is no joke my friends)

20221018_085512.jpg
Then my other neighbor showed up and unloaded that cart, together we came back and got the larger pots I couldn't lift alone, so that now, I have a jungle in my studio

20221018_095952.jpg


So the thing to be learned here is, no matter how difficult it is to ask, (because you are an independent bast&&d,) ASK for help when you need it. Like the bible says:
Ask and Yee shall receive, knock and the door shall be opened

"Ask for help when you need it"

by
Jerry E Smith
©10/18/2022
All images taken with my cellphone
All but one taken this morning


image.png


cyktlq.png

Sort:  

"Ask for help when you need it" sounds simple enough huh? But not everyone finds it that way.

Sometimes, I don't know if it's pride, insecurities, or even embarrassment that causes it, but I find it hard at times to ask for help.

Even from people who are close to me. Does that make me foolish or weird or something?


Nice of your neighbors to help you out though. Ha! You'd definitely be getting more O2 now that those plants are in the studio. Heck, it might even help with your playing!

P.S: What's COPD?

Oh @zeraton , if you don't know what it is, I would sure wish you never find out by experience.
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, is a gradual and irreversible build up of scar tissue in the lungs.
Inhalers and other meds can slow it down once it starts, but there is no cure.
Not yet, but one can always hope!

Damn, sounds really rough. Is it deadly in anyway? Or just a dread to have?

As far as I know it is generally progressive and in the end deadly.
You may die of something else first, but....
I met and became friends with a GRAND fellow back around 2016, he was in stage 4 COPD, he would get out of breath just walking around his house.
He couldn't DO anything without his oxygen tube (like drive to the store or church etc.)
He finally gave up and died about 2019. Such a loss, he was a great musician, a lawyer and just a good friend to have.
I still miss him

He couldn't DO anything without his oxygen tube (like drive to the store or church etc.)

Goddamn! That's sounds terrible!

He finally gave up and died about 2019.

Jeez, and the melancholy just keeps coming. A loss indeed. Was he a pianist like you too?

No but he was a damned good guitarist and could learn a song by ear in a second, I suspect he had perfect pitch

Perfect pitch huh? Most likely yeah.

Lol, I always envied people like that actually. Lucky bastards.

Ha! And then there's the rest of us, who have to settle for less like relative pitch.

Oh well...

I KNOW the story.

Hey there @jacey.boldart , thanks for stopping by.
Sorry I haven't been very sociable and coming to see you lately.
I shall try to do better

@jerrytsuseer,

Good morning! How cool of you to post in dear @wwwiebe's community! (He is a cool fellow, but don't say I said so!). This weather alone will give you a run for your money. Add health problems and heavy potted plants? Well... I am sure you already know where I am going with this; you were doing it after all!


Then my other neighbor showed up and unloaded that cart, together we came back and got the larger pots I couldn't lift alone, so that now, I have a jungle in my studio


I am glad that you were able to get some help. You know how I am about all this; every time I watch my better half doing things around the yard, that I used to love doing with her... then realize... "I just can't do that anymore!" really sucks! But we do what we can right? Look forward to seeing some photos of your "soon to be there" greenhouse in the studio. I think that's pretty cool anyway... good oxygen source! Have a good day today brother... (Hope you had an easy time going out to town).

Wes...

@tipu curate

I am glad that you were able to get some help. You know how I am about all this; every time I watch my better half doing things around the yard, that I used to love doing with her... then realize... "I just can't do that anymore!"

I was just explaining to a fellow named @zeraton about COPD, which he apparently knew nothing about.
As far as I know there is no treatment other than to slow the progression, and if you don't die of something else first, you will eventually die gasping for air.
Just horrible way to go

@jerrytsuseer,

I quit smoking cigarettes in May 2020. Yes, I use a vape (4 ingredients rather than however many) but I just traded one addiction for another. My Mom and her life partner both have COPD as well as emphysema... Her partner has it much worse. I have known folks who had it, that did NOT smoke, but man... like you said, just a horrible way to go. Sure... we could sit and talk about how they can cure all the "insert your fave sickness here" till we are blue in the face. But despite all of that. I think it is awesome you got some help, and sure appreciate your sharing it with us!

#tomorrowisthegoal
#buildingpositivebridges
#thoughtfuldailypost
#eatatjoes (lol)

#eatatjoes I will have to try that one

Breaking records highs and lows! Now that's some temperature swing, for sure.

I was so excited earlier this year - I had not one, but two watermelons growing on my vine. Alas. They died there, too. I will try again next year.

I love the green wall in your studio! That's awesome! With all your plants now in it, maybe you can photograph them in front of the wall and photoshop interesting backgrounds, such as Mars, or the depths of Hell (it is Halloween, after all).

Thank you for stopping by and sharing in the community!

That is a thought for sure, one I hadn't considered.
The green screens don't actually come round that far, but they easily could. Ya gave me some idears

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you @indiaunited, and to @bhattg for the curation


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jerrytsuseer ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.