West

in Love The Clouds2 years ago

Standard image (3).png

The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled.

- Plutarch -



I can often be found sitting on the beach, a bench or the grass gazing to the west with mixed feelings as the sun dips away over the horizon to light someone else's day. I say, mixed feelings, because it's in moments like this I like to think things through, seek answers to life's challenges and problems or find clarity within myself.

I remember the evening on which I took this photo; it was warm and quite still with moisture heavy in the air as a summer storm receded. I sat on the beach for a couple hours, long after the warmth the sun had left the sand had dissipated and listened to the ocean lap gently at the shore. I had gone there to ponder a question that had troubled me; the view made it easy to do.

I was struck by the sunset which left me with a strange vibe. The darkness of the clouds against the brightness of the setting sun struck a chord; it seemed nature reflected the indecision I felt inside. I found my answer that night though, came to a decision and acted soon after; that was last summer and I'm pleased with the decision I made.


I chose the Plutarch quote for this post as it seemed to fit. I've had many internal fires spark from the tiniest of embers whilst sitting on a beach looking west at sunsets like this. The beauty I find in nature sparks many thoughts, feelings and emotions and it's those that catch fire in my mind and cause me to act as I need. I feel passion when I look at scene's like this and it's that passion which drives the other elements of me and helps create a better a better life.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  


As an outsider looking in, you seem so much happier now that part of your life is over and you have stepped onto a different turf. Maybe the word is content. The universe owes you a year. The next one is yours.

Use it wisely.

I'll take whatever the universe hands out, good or bad...But if you could put in a word for more good than bad I'll be grateful. :)

:) You know I will. We all like you better when you are happier. We like you anyway, but, Cleo says you are a pain when life isn't good.

Just looking after the kitkat.

We like you anyway, but, Cleo says you are a pain when life isn't good.

Ain't this the truth. 😀

The noises around Nigerian beaches won’t let anyone ponder within. However, I clearly imagined how you felt by how the sunset came while you was thinking deep.

as the sun dips away over the horizon to light someone else's day.

I love every part of this post tbh.

The noises around Nigerian beaches won’t let anyone ponder within.

Thankfully I'll not experience that. I love the beach I go to...Usually it's pretty sparsely populated.

Thanks for your comment.

Welcome 🙏

Very beautiful

Thank you.

“I've had many internal fires spark from the tiniest of embers whilst sitting on a beach looking west at sunsets like this.” This sentence really spoke to me. It spoke to me in the way that I miss having these kind of moments. Moments of reflection are very important when you take the time to listen to your own thoughts, that are many times drowned in the stress and distractions of daily life.

I don’t really have a beach to go to here, we’ll I do, but it’s winter time now so it’s not too pleasant. Perhaps the solution would be to go make such a space at home. I have a guest room that I guess could be modified to be a nice calm place for meditation and reflection.

Hey mate, thanks for your comment and nice words.

I think it's a great idea to make a place at home where you can reflect, find peace and meditate a little. I know people who do that at the park, local library, by the lake...I guess it can be done anywhere one feels comfortable.

I think you’re right. It’s just about finding a spot that suits your own preferences and where you feel comfortable.

Beautiful contrast, so perfect 🥰🥰🥰🤗🤗🤗

Thanks, I appreciate you taking a look and commenting.

Thanks to you too.
Have a nice week 🥰🥰🤗🤗

West calls loudly at the end of every day to stand and ponder when the sun disappears over the rim.

Same sun shines for everyone, let go and it comes back, good to spend time reflecting, put it to bed before you go yourself.... 😆

!BEER


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Indeed nature is beautiful, i enjoy sitting outside under the tree, it helps me thing and clear my head. Nice write up my friend.

Trees are always good companions.