You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love The Clouds In Buffaloland

Lovely photos. Brought back memories of all those western movies I saw when I was a kid. The second photo had some really cool clouds and I like it the best. Hope you make it out of the honorable mentions this time and in the winner's circle. Best of luck 🤞

Sort:  

Thanks Gems @gems.and.cookies and for your kind support. I think I’m in a western movie sometimes. 😆 🦬 Sometimes when I pass Buffaloland and see the buffalo out in the field, I start singing, “ 🎶 Give me a home where the buffalo roam.” I’m in the car so no one else can hear me. 😆

I've heard that song @redheadpei. My dad, may he rest in peace, used to sing it when we were still little. I think he's the original cowboy in the family 🤣

Singing inside the car is so much like singing in the bathroom. You can belt it out as loud as you can and no one complains 😂

I can’t remember the first time I heard the song, Gems but it probably was my Dad for he liked western music and had quite a few records sung by the cowboys like Wilf Carter.

Interesting facts about that song titled “Home On The Range.” It may have been written as early as 1871.

On June 30, 1947, "Home on the Range" became the Kansas state song. In 2010, members of the Western Writers of America chose it as one of the Top 100 western songs of all time.
source

Have a great rest of the week 😊

Very interesting! I didn't know that. 1871!! And to think the song found its way across the Pacific to Asia during the time when there was no internet and cell phones. Amazing!

Thanks for the info. I learned something new today, thanks to you 🤗