Love The Clouds In Buffaloland

in Love The Cloudslast year (edited)

Greetings! My entry to @tobetada’s Love The Clouds.

Not far from my house is Buffaloland where over 60 buffalo roam. Some have babies, I will mention how, later in this post.

The babies retain the orange colored fur until they are older and then their coat changes to the dark brown of the adult buffalo.





On a beautiful day, the clouds are big and fluffy over the herd. The gentle buffalo peacefully graze on the green grass.





Time for an afternoon siesta.





Buffalo are not native to PEI but the original two were a gift from Alberta in 1973. Since then they have gone forth and multiplied.

At one time the herd was culled to keep it under control and the meat was sold. Since the Buddhists women took over care of the herd they do not cull but sterile the males.

How the babies are there…

One crafty male managed to escaped sterilization. I’’m happy he did as it is so nice to see babies in the field.

All photos and text by @redheadpei

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

For more information on the contest, check Here


Sort:  

That landscape is really pretty with the clouds and the buffalos! i loved it!

for me is crazy to read that they sterile the males!! isnt better to have more buffalos ? if they dont want that much in their propertie they can sell them or gift them... is always better to have more than less jaja

Yes it is unfortunate they had to sterile the males to keep the herd under control. Buffaloland is only about 200 acres so they are not able to keep too many unless some buffalo are slaughtered and the meat eaten. The buffalo are safe under the Buddhist watch. Buddhist doctrine is for non-killing or harming animals.

Nice view! love those clouds and buffaloes.
Good luck for the contest!!!!

@redheadpei en verdad extraordinaria combinación natural.

what a beautiful field! I had seen many large buffalo but never a baby!

The babies are so cute…of course all babies are. 😊 Thanks for your lovely comment, @franciabuitragoo.

Have a wonderful weekend. 🌞

Lovely photos. Brought back memories of all those western movies I saw when I was a kid. The second photo had some really cool clouds and I like it the best. Hope you make it out of the honorable mentions this time and in the winner's circle. Best of luck 🤞

Thanks Gems @gems.and.cookies and for your kind support. I think I’m in a western movie sometimes. 😆 🦬 Sometimes when I pass Buffaloland and see the buffalo out in the field, I start singing, “ 🎶 Give me a home where the buffalo roam.” I’m in the car so no one else can hear me. 😆

I've heard that song @redheadpei. My dad, may he rest in peace, used to sing it when we were still little. I think he's the original cowboy in the family 🤣

Singing inside the car is so much like singing in the bathroom. You can belt it out as loud as you can and no one complains 😂

I can’t remember the first time I heard the song, Gems but it probably was my Dad for he liked western music and had quite a few records sung by the cowboys like Wilf Carter.

Interesting facts about that song titled “Home On The Range.” It may have been written as early as 1871.

On June 30, 1947, "Home on the Range" became the Kansas state song. In 2010, members of the Western Writers of America chose it as one of the Top 100 western songs of all time.
source

Have a great rest of the week 😊

Very interesting! I didn't know that. 1871!! And to think the song found its way across the Pacific to Asia during the time when there was no internet and cell phones. Amazing!

Thanks for the info. I learned something new today, thanks to you 🤗

Wow! The buffalo's and the clouds are just perfect, looking all so chillin' and resting, just happy about life.
Your photo is beautiful dearm. I love them, very therapeutic.
Best of luck!

Thanks @aideleijoie. Yes they Buffalo seem happy under the puffy clouds. 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 133 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Simplemente encantador ese cielo y los bufalos, se ven hermosa esa combinación @redheadpei

One male has to get through to keep the herd growing through each generation.

Although they do prefer a good tussle to attract the ladies attention, I think the cull would be just as kind in keeping numbers down.

When our game reserves cull the meat goes to villages surrounding the park which makes many hungry people very happy!

!LUV

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @redheadpei.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more