When Technology Was A Carburetor

in Visual Shots5 months ago

Green means GO!


IMG_7554.jpeg


Red means stop.


IMG_7553.jpeg


Yellow means

GO VERY FAST!!!!


IMG_7556.jpeg


It's how I learned to drive—Ford Festiva, 5-speed. That and stop twice at the next one. Reverse was addicting in that car on dirt roads.

Seatbelts were optional back then and texting while driving wasn't against the law because phones didn't do that yet.

T.e.X.t.n.g

Autocorrect was still in development.

Information was 25 cents, 50 on Sunday's and real life kids played outside. All of the neighborhood streets had kids playing on either side of the road if not in the middle of it.

We would pause 3 Flags Up when a car came.

Car!!


IMG_7550.jpeg


For every main road there was two dirt roads. Los Angeles County, California, early 90's—dirt roads from Disneyland to Santa Monica.

Back when timing and jets meant you're rebuilding a carburetor.


IMG_7564.jpeg


For every main road now there's 10 alternates and a thousand fakes. Venturing across town's so effortless now, word count counts as the first word.

Less characters, more eye candy. Attention spans are beginning to look a lot like dirt roads.


IMG_7566.jpeg

IMG_7582.jpeg

IMG_7572.jpeg

IMG_7743.jpeg

IMG_7739.jpeg

IMG_7741.jpeg

IMG_7568.jpeg

IMG_7569.jpeg

IMG_7586.jpeg

IMG_4422.jpeg

IMG_7583.jpeg

IMG_7740.jpeg

IMG_7590.jpeg


FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg

Sort:  

Green means GO! GO! GO!.

Hey Dandays it's been a minute, glad to have you back again😊😊

Hello. Same time same place, tomorrow. Bring a fork!

I ain't Forkin' Round. I am already camped out waiting like I am in a black friday sale line at Wal-Mart

untitled.gif

Drivers, START YOUR ENGINES!


IMG_6155.jpeg

Roger that captain!

Loading...

So, you either got a new camera or you must have taken an online photography class.
Splendid pictures and being that we live on a dirt road and 90% of all of the roads in our town are prone to potholes the size of a basketball, mud that have you doing fishtails, and small streams flowing down them after a rainfall, those pics I can relate to. Wash your car and keep it in the dirt driveway if you want to see what color your vehicle is for more than a brief moment.
Attention spans have gone the way of playing outside, a thing of the past.
Seat belts being optional gave me the latitude to cut them out because I got tired of sitting on the buckle. At the last family gathering, we had a few laughs recalling the time I brought up an old couch to the farm and the three boys drove in the back of the pickup truck, while lounging in style on the couch. The only rule I had was if you see an officer of the law hide under the blanket. Those were the days.

Stay well and give your gal a hello from us.

Negative, still using the same-ol Kodak disposable.


Man, you just took me back to hiding under the blanket at the drive-in! Thank you. You are right, they were.

First one I was Scarface. Star 80 played before it. Imagine a 4 year old watched those today, it would be all over the internet. Look what you did, now I can't get out the the drive-in.

Always a pleasure hearing from you, Bob. Stay warm.

Drive-in theaters were the best. A few lounge chairs in the back of the pickup truck, a few blankets, and who really cared what was on the big screen.😍

The wood-burning stove is cooking as I type.
IMG_5757.JPG

Dang, nice stone work. How tough is that, sticking rock to wall? Never done it. 1-10, how easy is an old bath/shower combo to upgrade to a walk-in?

Loading...

These pictures are magnificent, especially the ones with that beautiful twilight sky. Best regards!

Much thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed them. Taking them didn't suck, either. = }

I don't think we've met, thanks for finding me. And for the reblog. Go sucre, eh.

👍 ❤️ Upvoted ❤️ 👍

Thanks more than this.

Deal.

@dandays,
Thank you so much for the witness vote.
I promise, I'll keep up the good work.

Remember when we used to have to wait to see our photos after we took them? Sometimes weeks.

For sure. They're so much faster now. I dropped those off in the morning and they were done by lunch.

3 Flags Up was called Smear The Queer back then. I had it worded truthfull but.. It's 2023 now, truth crushes feelings and everyone's a sensitive armchair quarterback from fhe comfort of moms recliner so I censored myself.

Thank you.

Ah, I see you thanked yourself for your censorship as well. Nice.

I can hardly admit I atta boy myself all the time without someone calling me out. = }

Sub-honk.

'sall good, homie. Atta boy yourself as much as you need! God knows we don't get enough of them from other people.

Tunnel-honk! honk honk honk

Wow, Dand... These pictures are way cooler hehe and I love the rhythm to yellow... way too fast.

Zzooooooooommmm!

Hello, balikis. <- What is that, a name? You've always been real nice to me, you, thank you. I don't forget those things.

Haha... you get it. And we go!!!

Hehe, yeah. That's my name.... it is sweet, right? Too sweet. Hehe. Well, I am taught to be nice, and besides, your post always rocks like a jam! I just always find my leg back to your space. And the bonus part is that you are really fun too! And I like fun!

You are welcome 😊. Let's just keep going with realest connections.

So...like...I'm...like going to go ahead and

!heartdropsparkly

Heartdrop_Sparkly.jpg

They took forever to develop. Nothing slower than a wet disposable camera.

What great photos, they all have their charm. Beautiful landscapes too. Thanks for sharing with us @dandays Have a nice day 👍🏻🙂

!discovery 40
!VSC

@dimascastillo90 has sent VSC to @dandays

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@dimascastillo90 ha enviado VSC a @dandays

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 9/25

My pleasure. Thanks for having me. I'm not used to acknowledgement when I post to a community, glad I found you guys. It's refreshing.

The pleasure is ours, welcome to @visualshots I hope you have a great time here 🙂📸


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

!LOLZ
!LUV
!PIZZA

@eii sent you LUV 🙂 (3/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Why did the visually impaired man fall into a well?
He couldn't see that well!

Credit: reddit
@dandays, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of eii

(2/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@eii(3/5) tipped @dandays