🦗🪲🪳🪰🦋 Si-kay-DUH

in Visual Shotslast month (edited)

1000009286.jpg

You can hear them now. Chattering amongst the trees throughout the forest and making their presence known in the city. It is a specific sound. One that is unmistakable. As it grows and the crescendo approaches, they all seemingly in unison, announce their presence.

They are the Cicada. One person might tell you it is the most annoying sound in the world. Another might say it is their favorite alarm clock during the late Spring and early Summer. I tend to enjoy the unique choir that they add to the beauty of nature.

Have you ever heard them? Some would say it is a rattling of tiny bones. I think it sounds like a high-pitched didgeridoo. What I like about it, is how it makes its way across the available space sound can travel.

1000009288.jpg1000009276.jpg

If one were to listen closely, you can hear the way it happens. In the distance, you'll start to notice a faint sound that gets louder and louder, almost deafening, until sweeps past you and rushes through the air. Then it slowly fades and repeats. Sometimes a little faster or slower. But it is definitely a sound wave of it's own.

1000009274.jpg1000009271.jpg

If you've seen husks such as those, you probably know what I'm talking about. This year, a massive hatching of what they call the '17 year' cycle ones are present. They are typically much smaller and in more vast numbers than their larger green 'annual' cousins.

1000009280.jpg1000009281.jpg1000009279.jpg

Maybe it's just my weird science brained affinity for bugs that fascinates me with the chorus and beady little red eyes. Maybe a part of me wants to round a bunch up and try a few of theses recipes I keep hearing. I do like water bugs. 🦐🦞🦀 Ha! Regardless though, however you choose to look at them, REMEMBER TO BE YOU! I always am, because, I am.

thealliance new pagebreak 2.png

Wanna find me on that other shit?

image.pngXlogo400x400.pngyoutubesub.pngimage.pngteleg.png480rumble.pngw!tty tik tok.pngLinkedin-PNG-Pic (4).png

I ism the NISM that ism the NISM that ism.

Sort:  

Love them. We get tons and tons of them every year, so many that the parks are always full of holes were they emerged—looks like swiss cheese ground, and later in the summer when they all start dying the streets will be so clogged with them we will have street cleaners come daily just to push the bodies out of the way. They are so omnipresent that their sound alone is used to mean summer in anime or dramas.

I look forward to seeing photos from the 17 year brood that comes out this year in the states!

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@dbooster just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @enginewitty.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I always hear them since I was small, especially at night.

I don’t really see them up here.
!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @enginewitty.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Great shots! I like cicadas but do not find enough to shoot them :) In Greece, they have not appeared yet.
I just subbed to you in YouTube (katycrete) -

I forgot. In Greece we call this
Tzitziki :) Because it sounds like a tzi-tzi

Wow.. Great shot you managed to capture of them cicadas 😉
I hear them sometimes but we don’t have many like you and they more common higher up in the Country.
I never seen one close up Eather so Thank you for sharing that.
I do find insects and bugs interesting to and always enjoy when I manage to capture some.
Beautiful pictures 😍 and I can almost hear them if I close my eyes Unless its you trying to imitate them? 😂 Hahahaha

Hope you are having a fantastic weekend love 🤗❤️💋🥰😘😍🤗
Mad love

Thank you for being YOU

Awww... Cicadas are charming creatures, here in Venezuela many adult specimens seem to appear with the arrival of the rains and sing in the trees!... This is a beautiful species in your photos, very good work and interesting text! Thanks for sharing @enginewitty friend!

!discovery 30
!VSC
!PIZZA

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @enginewitty

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @enginewitty

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 3/25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(3/10) tipped @enginewitty

A long time ago I misheard Chiquita 🍌 rather than Cicada.

Waw, it's really a beautiful photo, and by the way, how to make the photo be on the left, is there a writing code for smartphones

I have yet to hear them this year, but in the height of the summer, YES, I have heard them all my life, having lived all of it in The South. It's a way cool sound, unless one is outside trying to talk on the phone. 😂 Excellent shot, too! I've never gotten such a closeup, so kudos!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening