You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Differences Between Latin and Germanic Peoples!?

in Writing Club6 months ago

Thank you for mentioning me. One minor correction, if I may: I did not major in British literature but in digital media this year, i.e. 2023 (I'm currently studying British culture and civilisation on MA level, that is master of arts). I don't mind you using a photograph of me, that's fine. By the way, I am also brown-haired and brown-eyed. At least that's how I would describe myself. 🙂

'dragă prieten' @vikthor !
I hope the fact that I made mistakes due to my poor English skills does not offend you!
I saw your picture and thought you had black hair and black eyes!😄

I am not offended at all by what you mentioned regarding the infrastructure in my home country as it is true (and quite sad at the same time). And, indeed, for young people like me it's not easy to live here in my home country, but, all things considered, it's getting a little bit better for me and definitely better when I am to compare my current situation to my past abroad.

I understand!

I would also like to point out the fact that I am bit of a mixture, genetically speaking, if you remember my genetic test that I blogged about earlier this year. This means that I am indeed Mediterranean as you mention, at least a third according to my genetic test, but I am also a bit Finnish and on the Italian side my remotest ancestors were from England and on the Romanian side my remotest ancestors were from Germany. Quite weird, but that's what science said about me... All the best!

I looked at you and you looked like people of Mediterranean race!
I thought your cultural roots, rather than your genetic lineage, belonged to the Romance languages!

I hope you continue to understand my awkward English!

Mersi!😄

Sort:  

No, that's fine, we all make mistakes from time to time. I do not feel offended at all. Perhaps it was a confusion all along and not as much of an error.

As for me looking mostly Mediterranean, yes, that's true I suppose, given my physical appearance, but, at the same time, I am multicultural. That also extends over what you mentioned, namely my cultural roots and the fact that I am a native speaker of a Romance language, albeit not a very well known and widely spoken one (though still quite notable).

All the best!