Splinterlands Battle Mage Challenge - Broken Arrows

in Splinterlands3 months ago (edited)

Thumbnail.png

Hey!

Welcome to another Battle Mage Challenge, this time featuring the “Broken Arrows” rule, where Ranged attackers are not allowed.

Broken Arrows

Ranged attackers cannot be used in battles, so that means that you’re left, if there is no other rule, with only Melee and Magic attacks to deal with.

I do not believe that there is much in-depth strategy involved in this rule. The only thing I can tell you, defensive wise, is too debuff your opponent’s attack and, of course, try to buff yours. Since there are only two possible types of attack, you’ll very likely affect your opponent’s offensive power.

In all the other aspects, business as usual. If this was the “No Magic” rule, others would be the advices, since you would only have to worry about physical attacks however, here magic is still in game, as well as Melee, which is a physical attack.

Bar.png

Battle
Ruleset

Ruleset.png

Lineup & Strategy

This battle was done during a Brawl. Bronze cap, only Chaos and Rebellion sets in this fray. Alongside with the “Broken Arrows” rule, there was also the “Unprotected” rule (No Armor) and “Counterspell” (All Monster get the Magic Reflect effect), so using Magic is still allowed, but is dangerous. So, considering this ruleset the only possible way of offense was Melee.

Lineup.png

  • As a Summoner, the Helios Matriarch. I was between her and Tarsa, who buffs your Melee, but I felt the need to use a couple of Dragons, which I believe are key cards in some cases. Besides, since I am in a Brawl, I can double my Gladiators with her.
  • As a tank and first Dragon, Djinn Chwala. Even though his constitution is affected by the Unprotected rule, which took his Armor away, his Thorns and attack make him a strong card.
  • As a second tank with Reach, Chimney Wallstop. Another card affected by the Unprotected rule; however, he has a lot of attacking power plus Bloodlust.

  • Then the Tenyii Striker. I was not particularly convinced of using this card, but because of the ruleset I didn’t have many options, so I placed him as another supporting attacker.

  • In fourth position, my second Gladiator, Fina Voxom. Quite a dangerous card, since it has a strong attack and the Opportunity ability plus Bloodlust. One thing that benefits her is the lack of Armor in this battle, which allows her to attack directly to Health points.
  • In fifth place, the Disintegrator. Considering that you’re only able to effectively attack with Melee Monster in this battle, it is a good idea to position a card that debuffs Melee attacks, and that is the purpose of the Disintegrator here.
  • At last, my second key Dragon, the Void Dragon. Weak attack, but his high Speed and ability to fly, combined with the Matriarch’s Speed buff, makes him a very evasive Monster, and that is his purpose; to evade possible Sneak attackers and protect the back line.

Bar.png

It’s funny how neither of us chose to use Tarsa, considering the ruleset, however both of our teams are solid. I don’t know what to think of my opponent, since I don’t know if it is a bot or what, but I think my victory was due to:

  • First: my opponent didn’t debuff my Melee attack, which is a big mistake in this ruleset. I would’ve definitely replaced Djinn Renova with the Disintegrator, keeping my cards at bay.
  • Second: I made a good call by protecting the backline with the Void Dragon, especially protecting the Disintegrator.
  • Third: my opponent was not able to make use of any Gladius, which is a great disadvantage in Brawls, and not because he didn’t have any. I checked his deck.

I do have to say that I like the role of Iziar in his team. Is one of those Reward cards I still don’t have. She has plenty of hit points and her Void effect protects her from small Magic damage, including the one generated by her own attacks.

Battle Link

This is it, thank you for reading!

Long bar.png

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

you took a good decision choosing that dragon summoner!

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @axelx12! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List

Checkout our BDVoter Daily Hive Showcase & Participate into our Daily giveaway to win various prize.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT