New Summoners What Does This Mean For The Current Cards

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Chaos Is Coming

Summoners.png

Chaos dvider.png

Hello Splinterlandians are you ready for chaos legion? We lately have had some of the summoners revealed to us and in this post, I will go over what I think it means for the meta. Now, this is just my opinion so feel free to disagree and this is all just speculation so we will see what happens when CL fully releases.

Chaos dvider.png

Fire Summoner

Tarsa

unknown.png

This fiery little girl is known as Tarsa giving a +1 to melee and +1 to speed she looks like she will be a nice addition to fire. A combo of both Malric and Pyre put together sounds scary on paper and I think she is easily the go-to pick now for fire being 4 cost to me isn't much of a drawback for both of those buffs. I think she instantly slots in as the new hotness and will start giving people fast and fearsome burns all over.

I don't think much changes with fire going forward we will still see the usual suspects like Serpentine Spy and Finneas Rage but I also feel with getting both buffs characters like Magma troll and Aganju will be more viable. Currently, I feel both those cards are underwhelming but this little girl may change that. Also, keep an eye on kobold bruiser he is still very cheap comparatively and I feel he benefits huge from Tarsa.

Also with her release, the fire cards stayed pretty much at the same price a couple of rises in a few cards but for the most part, they didn't double in price like some of the other splinters cards did. The real question is what other cards will release alongside her that will be able to use these two buffs really well. I'm sure we are in for a treat and have seen some more stuff floating around mav chat that looks insane. I will give a more updated review of the whole set when I know more but for now this is fun to speculate on.
Chaos dvider.png

Life Summoner

General Sloan

slaon.png

Ohhhh Boy now this guy is gonna shake things up, I always loved running Selenia Sky with life as there are a lot of amazing life ranged units. General Sloan they call him and love the look of the card this guy is high on my list if not at the top of it. I have been building up my life deck for the past little bit and really looking forward to testing this guy out and seeing what he can do.

When news of this guy broke oh wow did prices of ranged life units jump, I flew to the market and quickly bought up what I could now that I could afford much but there was a few I knew I had to secure before I got outpriced. I missed on herbalist literally had the cards in my cart and then poof they were all gone. Going from 1.70$ all the to 2.88$ in seconds I missed my chance but wanted to get one to levelled up for that cleanse.

I then proceeded to go over and get hero of the beyond there was not much listed and bought up 10 of them so I could get him to level 3 where he gets last stand paired with close-range this dude is gonna smash some faces I feel. This card is gonna shoot up in value over the coming days, If you look across the board for ranged life all of the prices are starting to climb so this is your chance now to get some before they get too crazy.

I have a feeling life will be shifting some of its focus from being really annoying to deal with to being really annoying to deal with lol. As I said life paired with Selenia was an amazing combo but now with life having its own +1 ranged summoner, I feel it will be even more powerful. Yes, Selenia is still the better choice having access to some of the ranged dragons but she is very expensive and won't be allowed in the modern format so this guy is a perfect fit.

Chaos dvider.png

Water Summoner

Kelya Frendul

water.png

Perhaps the summoner I was looking forward to most was the new water summoner I felt they had to make a melee water summoner but instead we get this. Now I'll be honest I'm underwhelmed with this one we already have Lir who will be available and a much better choice than Kelya. Obviously, she is a lower mana cost at only 4 mana which is the running theme with all these new summoners but I just don't feel this one. Lir was already one of the lesser-used untamed summoners yes he can be very successful against Yodin comps and I liked him but also don't have the funds to get him.

With all the melee monsters in water, I felt it would have been a great choice to make a water melee summoner replacing the ever-present magic spam that currently dominates the lower leagues. Yes we will be saying goodbye to Alric in the modern format so we won't see as much of it anymore. But going forward I'm unsure how well this one will do I'm sure there will be some crazy water cards that come out with CL that will make Kelya more a good choice but from early looks, I don't get this one.

Same thing here as the fire cards not much has changed in prices as she doesn't add something new to water so a lot of the cards are still at the prices they were over the past week. Let me know in the comment section what you guys think of her and if I'm missing something or just judging her to early.
Chaos dvider.png

Death Summoner

Thaddius Brood

unknown.png

Here comes Thaddius Brood doing typical death things, giving -1 to magic and -1 to health. He is a perfect choice for the death meta I love the negative buffs he gives and will be a great addition to death lineups. I feel this guy will also slot in and start to nullify a lot of teams early on, I have been saying chaos legion seems to be focused around death. Every splinter will be getting buffs obviously but the theme of this set just seems very death-related and have a feeling we're gonna see a lot of new death comps enter the meta.

As with this guy's info coming out, Bone Golem shot up in price going from 8$ to 13.50$ overnight. I haven't seen too many other death cards really go up marrows ghost a went up a little but nothing too crazy. Either way this is a very exciting card to add to death and can't wait to start crushing magic spam with this guy in the near future.

He also doesn't share anything in common with the old death summoners other than Cryptmancer but Cryptmancer is very rare and we won't see him in modern so this guy will have a ton of use along with the likes of Mimosa and Owster.
Chaos dvider.png

Dragon Summoner

Quix The Devious

dragon sumon.png

Following in the dragon footsteps we have a legendary summoner and oh man this guy looks awesome as well. Falling under the death meta as well this guy is reducing range and speed from the enemy. I love how different the dragon summoners are they are all very unique in their own way.

He as well is a great addition to dragon comps and will be very interesting to see all the different ways to play him. I see this guy pairing well with death and life both for obvious reasons. In death comps he will further nullify the opponent and in life comps, he will pretty much do the same nullify the opponent while your team has an absurd amount of armour and health.

Browsing through the dragon cards I don't see much of an effect on their price either I will be watching over them over the next few days but I think for the most part they will stay the same.
Chaos dvider.png

Earth Summoner

Obsidian

unknown.png

Now we to get the card I feel had the most impact Obsidian. She gives just +1 to magic for earth which doesn't sound all too crazy until you look at the amount of earth magic monsters. I was shocked to see all the prices of earth magic monsters start to skyrocket after she was released. For instance, my level 4 Centauri mage went from 125$ to 400$ in a just under a few hours. And that was just the start cards like sporcerer and mushroom seer both went up as well. They seem to have come down now a little bit as of writing this post but I feel they will soon be back on the rise.

I think this is an awesome addition to earth and am excited to get my hands on one hoping I pull a bunch of her and General Sloan as those are the two summoners I liked most. I feel earth will become very dominant with magic in lower leagues now kinda what Alric use to be but now it's earth's time to take that mantle.

Give Me your opinions in the comment section below and tell me who you are most excited to get out of the new summoners and what impact you think they will have on the meta. Do you agree or disagree? do you think these summoners are op are just ok? And what do you think the meta will look like in the next few weeks?

Make sure to follow me on twitch because I will be having a Birthday Bash 24HR Stream on December 8th at midnight so technically December 9th when it's my birthday opening up a bunch of packs and doing some insane giveaways follow me here to find out more as I will make a post on it in the coming days.
Chaos dvider.png
Make sure to follow me on twitch because I will be having a Birthday Bash 24HR Stream on December 8th at midnight so technically December 9th when it's my birthday. Opening up a bunch of packs and doing some insane giveaways follow me here to find out more as I will make a post on it in the coming days. SPS/DEC/Packs and other amazing prizes will be up for grabs you don't wanna miss it.

Come play Splinterlands today

Check out Rising Star today

Follow me over on Twitch

Check me out on YouTube

Follow me on Twitter

Thumbnail made using Canva

Drabs587.gif

Sort:  

I'm excited seeing all this new Summoners and can't wait to open my chaos packs.
I'm glad that the swarm of Alric's will decrease. 😅

Yes me too I'm so excited good luck on all your pulls, may the RNG be with you 😀

I agree on all front. Earth has always been one of my favorite splinters and I think it just got even better.

Yes, I do believe so as well gonna be very interesting to see how it shifts. I'm excited about death and life even though earth has been a fav of mine too I feel life is gonna be my new go-to comp

Super excited for this!!! Thanks for the insights. Personally thinking now of Earth, Death and Life Splinters to focus on first.

upvote banner gif.gif

Yes bro death and life are gonna be crazy, I'm interested to see what happens with earth and how much it becomes the magic centric team it is looking to become.

I will be honest with you I am both excited and terrified for a shake up in the meta. I am excited as I am a pretty new player to the game so for me to shift to a new meta should not be that difficult. Now the part that terrifies me is that it is a new meta , and I do not feel I have fully grasped the current one. So I suppose I will take the good with the bad and let the good times roll lmao. Great post and love your streams keep it up my dude.

Thanks, buddy that means a lot and yes we there will be big changes coming with the meta but we will all be learning it at the same time. Sure some may pick it up quickly but you are at the perfect time for it. You will be able to see the changes and what is happening as opposed to trying to learn a bunch way down the line.

Congratulations @drabs587! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!
@drabs587! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:

Join us in Discord!

Tarsa is completely unbalanced. Pyre and Alric together just for one mana extra? Of course I am in! Both of them will no longer be useful.

Yea she was scray she was changed to +1 melee and +1 Health now still very good. But at least this doesn't completely remove pyres value.