SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge - With CAPTAIN'S GHOST...

in Splinterlands4 years ago

Hi Dear - SplinterMates,

For this week's Battle Share Contest Organised by the SplinterLands Team; details can be found @ Weekly Splinterlands Battle Share:: For this week challenge, we have Water Element Monster who is named as CAPTAIN'S GHOST - Is he the real GHOST and will he with his magic powers do the real damage; we will explore this monster. I strongly feel that Winning or losing battles does not matter. What matters most is how you stack up your cards and build them. In this post we will explore CAPTAIN'S GHOST ; share strategy around how a player uses the card i.e. its placing position on the battlefield and how often you use the card and at what level it works the best for you.

image.png

In this blog post; I'll be discussing some of the high-level pointers like::-

  • CAPTAIN'S GHOST Monster card level discussion, stats and how I am stack with the monster card CAPTAIN'S GHOST
  • Gameplay & Strategy discussed in detailed
  • Battle Results & How Often I use this earth element card CAPTAIN'S GHOST
  • A Final Note to keep things simple; simplicity is the one that is admired by most people & I'm one of them that likes to keep things clear and simple.

So how I'm stacked with this Water Element CAPTAIN'S GHOST Monster? Here is the snapshot of the THREE cards that I've of this monster.

image.png

First thing first; combining these THREE cards & Buying two more cards to level up this card to level 2

image.png

After combining these FIVE cards, I was able to upgrade the card to level 2. With some extra DECs in hand, I thought of buying this Captin monster from the market. At level two I get to explore the - Affliction ability; which is great as it nullifies your monster healing ability.

image.png

I feel this monster card will be good at level 5 for which you will need to combine 40 cards. The extra ability that you get at level 5 is

image.png

Oppress ability. To be frank here, I've explored this ability of the monster. But it looks like it does double damage for monster who does not have an attack. So will keep it for future to explore the Oppress ability. If you have explored this ability. Please let me know more about how this ability overall works like and is it good to have or not.

Now that we know about the card and how I'm stacked up with it. Lets Battle As

THE::

image.png

So it was a 20 MANA CAP Battle with one rule; where ranged attack monsters cannot be used.

Considering that I need to use the Water element, so as to explore the GHOST monster my strategy in this battle was to take up my tank the legendary monster - "LORD ARIANTHUS" love its Magic reflect ability. Also, our to be explored monster CAPTAIN'S GHOST placing it at the end position so that I can do the maximum damage with its magic ability. I was able to get +1 magic with my summoner - "ALRIC STORMBRINGER" that gave this GHOST 3 Magic attack.

Here is the LINE-UP of our Monster Cards::-

image.png

Game Plan & Strategy Discussion::

Yes; this time I've my Lord Arianthus lined up first. I'm a great fan of its Magic reflect ability and thorn ability as well. In this battle, I was heavily relying upon the Lord of all the monsters Arianthus. Due to my league position, I was not able to explore all its abilities so a bit of regret on that but still I was sure the Lord will do its magic.

CREEPING OOZE; was the next to go and was mainly used to slow the speed of my opponent's monsters.

Frankly; speaking I use OOZE a lot of times and the main reason is that its a low mana cap card and comes in handy to lower the speed of your opponent monsters. This gives your monster the first chance to attack. As a result, most of the time CREEPING OOZE plays a very critical role in your monster line-up.

MEDUSA is a great lady with its STUN ability. I was able to get +1 to its magic ability via summoner - "ALRIC STORMBRINGER". If you have not tried out the STUN ability of the monster then I highly recommend using monsters at least 1 in your monsters line up. If you watch my battle closely you will notice that the STUN ability of MEDUSA played an important role in our victory.

image.png

Finally comes the Captain GHOST. I did mention that I have this card at a very low level that is level 2; hence not of the strongest card at this level, though at this level you get to explore the - Affliction ability. I would have loved to have this card at level 5 and explore the extra ability that we get at level 5 which is Oppress that allows us to do double damage when attack enemy with no attacks.

Furious Chicken was a ploy card and save the Captain GHOST if my opponent had a plan to attack my monsters from the end. Though we didn't get to that position and I could save my Chicken from being fired...lol

The rest is history and I'll keep it for you to explore in the Replay Match. So overall the strategy did work out well and here are the result:: A Clear WINNER getting me 36+ points and +15 DECs the In-game currency.

image.png

Watch the Battle HERE

image.png

If you have been reading the post thus far, then I'm sure you would have got the answer till now. Anyways let me answer it. This is for the first time that I've explored this Captain's GHOST and the only thing that makes me nervous is its high mana i.e. 7. It's a good card to have in High Mana cap matches i.e. 40 and above and for battles which are low mana caps players need to be very cautious with regards to its position and at what level you are playing the card with.

Moving forward I plan to use this monster card for high-rank matches and if opportunity strikes will try to get this GHOST leveled up to at least level 5 so that I get to explore the Oppress ability.

A pro-tip, that I can give about this card is that though its a HIGH MANA Card but because of its low speed you can leverage it for battle rules where Low-Speed cards are more powerful than the high-speed cards. So it's like making the card low factor to work as a high factor for you.

A Final Note to keep things simple; Tell me in One Word Should I include CAPTAIN'S GHOST in my card collection?

The simple and straight forward answer is a No and only when you consider or your criteria for the card is SPEED and Mana. If you are a player who loves to have high-speed cards and a moderate type of Mana Card then this card isn't for you. Players at high ranking levels may still consider having to add this GOST added to their collection and it really becomes a GHOST at level 5 when you get to explore both the abilities which are - "Affliction" & "Oppress"

Coming Soon:: - Playing LIVE Battle with CAPTAIN'S GHOST - LIVE Strategy Discussion In the Battle Feild..

Best Regards

Do you love playing games and do you want to earn as well while playing the game. If YES then come join this amazing online trading cards game SPLINTERLANDS here

See You @ The Battle Field - May the POWERS be with You!!

Cheers & Thank You!!!

Find me on LBRY & Earn LBCs



SplinterLands

Image Courtesy: SplinterLands

Sort:  

Thank you for your Battle Challenge post!
MonsterCurationFlauwy.png

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd

Well... nice heads up about the theme card.
I hope you really loved playing with Captain's Ghost.
Nice writeup.
And it's a nice strategy.