Splinterlands - What I would have done differently in my first week ?

in Splinterlands3 years ago

I started playing Splinterlands on the Hive Blockchain about 2 months ago. Its a great fantasy based trading card battle game. You select a team and battle it out to gain victory. In addition to that, Splinterlands offers considerable earning potential as a play2earn game.

 " " \"mycards.png\"""

When I first started playing Splinterlands, I found it quite daunting - as there just seemed so much to learn. The biggest aspect being the need to begin to understand the different elements (factions that you can battle with) - and how best to select the cards from those factions, when building a team to fight. It was a lot to take in, and like a number of others, it actually put me off a little, but then I went back to the game after a few days and persevered.

I had played trading card battle games before - not extensively, but I do enjoy them. I was also attracted by the earning potential, and the fact that there is a heck of a community behind it, and a lot of social media buzz about the game.

 " " \"220215 battle.png\"""

One of the main problems I faced when first starting was the sheer volume of information and articles around on Splinterlands, and what to look at first to get advice. There are lots of videos on YouTube, but some are crazy long - like 20mins, etc, and I didnt want to have to wade through a 20min video each time I wanted to fight a battle.

I've now had sometime to reflect on my early time playing the game, and I thought it worth posting some bullet points on what I would have done differently, with hindsight. I'm in no way an expert, but a few pointers would have helped me to better understand things and progress a little quicker in the first week or so.

 " " \"staking.png\"""

So if I had to start again, here is what I would have done:

  • I would have watched a few beginners intro videos, just to figure out how to set up a battle (I did do this, and would have struggled if I didnt),
  • I would have then played around a bit with battles, and say stuck to a particular element to learn how to use that element before moving on. To augment, this I would have watched a video or two about that element, and took a number of battles using it, ignoring, quests, etc - just to get some better experience and understanding under my belt. I would have stuck to doing this for the first so many days.
  • This bullet builds of the one above - I rushed too quickly into buying cards so that I could start on the investment side - instead I should have kept on working on the second bullet point above, to learn the basics - and then branched out into other things. And I dont mean weeks, just a 2-4 days of getting battles under my belt - noting that the free cards you can use at the start of the game are good enough to win, when you first start out - as long as you select the right ones. I was under the impression that I would have to buy better cards to win battles, and that is not true when you first start - I'm sure it is if you want to get higher up, but its not in your first week.
  • Once I was comfortable with the elements, I would have then started making sure I could do the daily quest, as it gives you reward chests. But I rushed into the quests, and because you have to do different things to win them each day, I had not yet grasped the basics enough to be able to do them easily, and hence they were taking a long time, and I was getting disheartened.

 " " \"quest.png\"""

  • Then after that (say after the first week or so) I would have begun to research what cards to buy at first. To do that, learning how to use https://peakmonsters.com/ would be a good starting place - its a card market that has various tools to help sort through and find the cards you want to buy. Again, it would be about playing around, understanding the cards, and learning from others, before starting to buy ( I bought first and then learned ! doh !).
  • I would have then started looking at the airdrops and staking side of things, as there are some additional ways to earn from the game which are really cool - staking is offering 32.14% APY at the time of writing, which is pretty incredible really. While you start looking into this, it would also be worth beginning to understand how the various tokens related to the game work (Credits, DEC, SPS, SPT).

So thinking back, thats how I would have done it. Youtube, Hive Blog and Splintertalk are the key resources I would used to aid the learning.

Others may disagree on the approach I've presented above, and maybe I will too in another month or two - but that second bullet is key - just play and learn at the start, and dont worry about the other things in the first few days - those things can all come later.

Anyway, if you fancy trying Splinterlands then check out my referral link to the game - and give it a try - the gameplay is great, and the earning potential is massive.

Sort:  

Congratulations @hoosie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 14
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice