Casual Players DO have a place in Splinterlands

in Splinterlands13 days ago

Question: Can Casual Players find a place within Splinterlands? Answer: Yes.

image.png

I heard it said by @aftersound that Splinterlands is no fun for casual gamers.

Now, I figured that I would start an account from scratch.
I also would try to think as a New Player would & attempt not to have any preconceived expectations about the game.

Bottom line; Would I enjoy Splinterlands as a New Player?
Result: Yes.
Is it perfect? No.

Will it ever be Perfect?
Well, I certainly hope not! Having room for improvement is what makes this game so much fun.
I would hate to have a clearly marked Roadmap, & a clear slide-rule, to what I will have if I do X, or reduce Y, or spin Z.
I don't think that can work in Crypto anyway!
The axis of Supply and Demand will always act like Drama Queens everyday of the year. The whole, Twilight Zone Unknown, appeals to me as a new player.

What do you need as a New Player?

You need a BOOOOOST

I delegated this account 3000 SPS to provide a x20 Reward multiplier.
In Bronze 3 this equates to about 6 Glint per win based on the small batch of cards that the account has.

I also delegated about $80 in cards to provide the necessary depth of cards.

Without this connection to an experienced Player (namely Myself) then I wouldn't really know what is going on.
I thank "Me" for giving "Me" the start I needed.

You need to have a "climb the ladder" attitude

I approached playing like how I play Web2 games. Which is normally on the hardest mode and with the expectation that I will die alot!

To have never played Splinterlands before, why should I have unrealistic, Year 2020, expectations of crypto ridiculousness.

I want to grind my way.
Yes, I will lose alot, but, as a new player, I can start to see how the game plays.
What is a Summoner? What are Splinters? What do these abilities do?
The basics are the entry point. I am familiarising myself with the environment I am in.
Everything is new & trying to find a Win is the name of the game.

image.png

I hit Bronze 2, only to be smashed by the META back down to zero.
This Meta thing is a Roadblock to me being victorious!
But, do I want to follow the META?
Or, do I want to find a kink in the Meta armour?
Why not try other ways to play? Then, hopefully, I'll meet other new players who are throwing cards out there to see what happens - then it is fun to have a close win/loss. That is fun.

I next bought some cards with the CREDITS provided.
That was a journey too.

You need to keep away from Salty Splinterlanders!

I kept away from MAV Chats, any content labelled with negativity, the naysayers & those pining about, "them good ol days".

I just used my limited time to throw down a few games.

How about the Returns?

image.png

I'm playing casually. So, I am not smashing out my 50 energy per day.
I am lucky to eat through 5 to 10 battles.

But for the time sunk, it is reasonable, and the real SPS returns come from Guild Brawls.

Guilds are the big Win

image.png

Guilds are the mainstay for my new player experience. From a SPS Returns POV.
Whether, I win or lose, I am gifted some Merits & SPS for my participation.

That is an easy path to gain some really powerfully necessary cards & to increase my Staked SPS value.
Gladiator cards, especially, when armed with a Gladiator summoner can add another layer of Spice & learning how BloodLust can turn the tide.

Also, it is how most of my Staked SPS has been earned!

However, without the guidance from the other Me, it would be a tad harder.

What could make it better?

  • Mentorship with SPS delegation
  • Card Delegation to give the deck some ooomph
  • Pity GLINT for when the TIME invested doesn't result in WINS. Being able to buy an Initiate Draw allows me to understand the store.
  • The 1 click RENTAL may be a good thing to provide even stronger cards.
  • Automatic entry option into a, "Guild for Noobs" / or a New Player Friendly Guild.

Would I invest my money into the game? Yes.

This is a tricky pickle because you don't know what method people use to get that last pickle out of the jar.

So, being a new player, I'd want to know what my deck requires to become more competitive.
Delegated cards should only get you so far.
Then, with your Time invested and seeing Your wallet growing, you start to wonder how to get to those loftier heights.

That's where I would want to buy cards to move upwards.
I wouldn't want to RENT. I am not an extracting BOT & paying Rental fees should only be a short-term venture to work out which cards I want to own.

Casual Gamers Are An Important Part of Splinterlands

Casual gamers should always find a place to spend some time & money.
It doesn't need to be bankrolls of returns.
The person just needs to see some progress to tempt them into spending more time and effort.
However, I do enjoy playing casually.
There's enough to keep a time poor person interested.
Everybody is looking for a place to rest, unwind & hang their hat.

We can be such a place.

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord