You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Caught

Every time I hit the battle button, my cognitive abilities are filled with "really, i can't use these abilities or these cards?" instead of "how can I use my cards in an interesting manner given these rulesets and scenarios?"

I realise suddenly that this has started to become my cognitive process while playing. Perhaps the fact that I don't play as often as I'd like has, ironically, helped me keep some enjoyment with playing. As Slobberchops says, the revenue side of things could well be what lures us away from treating it like a game. We were actually discussing as a good whether to go up to T4 brawls and lose every brawl just for the SPS earnings or stay in T3 and continue to try and improve there. My biggest concern in going up is the demoralising feeling we're bound to get constantly losing and that sticking out the enjoyment from the game.

It applies to every other thing in life that formerly solicited joy, and I don't know why.

I hear you. We've been feeling the same of late especially with everything that's happened these last few years. I think it can be worse when you don't know why you feel that way, though. I hope your therapy session was able to shed some light on things for you.

It was great to see you again on Thursday. You always shine so bright I would never have guessed this was going on under the surface. Sadly that's often the way, isn't it.

Sort:  

Thank you.

It isn't just the last few years, it is the last few months, I think. We've all been through an enormous number of hoops, leaps, and stressors.

The lights that shine the brightest also burn the hottest. They don't last as long. I think 5 years in the Splinterlands system is a pretty good achievement.