You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's up to us

I'm not really sure what I can add here, man, I think we're getting tangential. I never mentioned or have advocated for banning accounts, but since you brought it up, that ties in with point 1, ironically, since in every other gaming platform banning would occur as a response to botting - which is viewed in every other gaming platform as cheating - so why bother 'getting gud' if you're going up against cheaters - why bother even talking about 'governance' if the game underpinning it all is in a broken-ass state for a good portion of the player base - who, in turn, are usually treated with a hefty dose of sarcasm and dismissal ("maybe they should play in other arenas within it") when they speak on the topic.

Sort:  

I didn't mean to come across as sarcastic or dismissive. I was just pointing out that this isn't an average game and it's appeal extends beyond the typical gamer mindset, and crosses into realms that aren't historically associated with gaming.

I just think there's something here for everyone, but that doesn't mean just playing the game is the thing that everyone will be into. There are a lot of fun and profitable ways to engage and if newcomers aren't digging what they're playing with there are options to mix it up.

I'll probably re-read your original post tonight and add more, but I have to get ready for work now and I'd like to think about what exactly we're talking about (or at least what I'm talking about) before I ramble farther.

I didn't think you were meaning to. It's just an odd trend (?, if that's the right word) I've noticed since I've been here and spent most of my time observing vs. talking in the public sphere.

And I agree - it's not an average game, it's got multiple points of appeal and engagement and earning. But the core game itself has got to be fun.

And really, what I'm trying to go about here is not to say "this is what the developers of the game should do etc. this is the black and white solution etc." but firstly speak of my own experience and learning and growth here (which is every day), and then if I'm lucky, speak to the mass of players who are in positions to affect a lot more than their own pocketbooks with their choices.

I don't think bots are some kind of scourge to be eradicated as much as I think we've reached a point now where we players need to think long and hard before flipping on that switch for ourselves. That switch is here, if not for everyone, then for everyone soon.

100% manual :)

image.png

That's beautiful, right there.