My Journey On Splinterlands

in Splinterlands6 months ago

Hello Splinterfans!

It is hard to believe that I have been playing Splinterlands for around 1 year and 5 months already! Although I feel like an experienced player, there is often times that I still feel like that newbie who wrote about their first day on Splinterlands on the 17th June 2022.


< My First Splinterlands Post >

Since then, I decided that I would try to make regular posts to track my progress and also to help me learn the game better. I also found it a good way to keep in contact with some of the Splinterlands community and by reading the posts of others, learn the game better too.

Before I started playing Splinterlands though, I first remember discovering a complicated looking card game and seeing people blog about it. Inquisitive, I joined a few streams and watched people playing. I was still totally confused about it still though.

However, after a few months of procrastination, I decided to jump in head first and did the tutorial first and then made my first post about the experience. Therefore, now looking back, I think having an onboarding process for new players is really important.

The great thing about Splinterlands is the community and it was really helpful for me that there is so many helpful people around to help with any queries and give playing tips. I still remember trying to navigate PeakMonsters for the first time and being totally confused but also excited at the same time. It was my real first experience making some practical uses of NFTs.

After completing the tutorials and getting some tips from other players, I focused on building my earth deck and using Mylor Crowling as my main summoner. Soon though, I found myself building up my water deck too and loved the speed and melee attack of water. However, the magic attack of my earth deck was my strongest deck for quite some time.

I remember some of my first achievements as reaching the gold league and unlocking new abilities of the monsters that for a beginner were too tough to understand. As time went by though, being able to play with these extra abilities was more fun and I strived to climb higher and remember reaching the Diamond league for the first time. I was really chuffed with this achievement as my deck was not able to be competitive in this league, but it was cool to reach it in the last days of the season.

However, after doing that a few times, I found that my home and favorite league to play in is the gold league and I am very satisfied to play here. It is not so competitive as the diamond league but it is also tough enough and with good variation to keep things interesting. It also does not require you to max out all your cards which is good for your budget 😀.

I was intensively playing Splinterlands everyday for over a year and a half but finally bought myself a bot recently to keep playing whilst I didn't have the time. I am still regularly playing most days in modern, but when I miss a day, the bot would then usually kick in. Although I have now got a bot, I am looking forward to the new gameplay that will make it harder for bots to play and I am sure at somepoint the game will be made so that bots are unable to play. I think this is a good move as playing against bots is not so much fun.

I really like collecting the cards and am not so much of a renter. I like to get some new leveled up cards each month. Some of my recent cards are Axemaster which I absolutely love to play with his 3 attack and double strike. My most recent purchase was a level 6 Bortus that I had my eye on for some time. He really is perfect for those magic only games where you need to play Djinn Oshannus as your tank.

I also play as part of the Special Ops guild and there I also enjoy to play the gold league level caps. I think joining a guild is a great way to add another element to meet others in the community and share tips and have some fun too.


< My Current Beta Collection >

At the moment, as well as building my gold level deck, I like to collect the beta cards and enjoy looking for bargains here. I love to see the older cards compared to the newer ones now.

When I look back in the last year, I think it has been a fun but sometimes tough journey. The team have made some great decisions that have brought Splinterlands to a good place where we are now and I think there could be lots of opportunity going forward. Let me explain how, but first lets look at where we have come from.

First the team implemented the new modern league to make it more attractive for human players and then SPS staking killed off lots of the bot farms which were just a leech on the ecosystem. Since then they have been making more and more things in the game easier and human-friendly such as the daily rewards timer.


< My Runi >

What I love about Splinterlands also is the game has so many of the basics right such as leveling up cards, transfering assets or tokens is free (except Runi) on Hive and other games on other chains just fall down with many of these basic things.

One of my best buys in Splinterlands was to get a Runi as it gives lots of good usage opportunities in the game and also it has gone up quite a bit in value too due to it being quite limited. I was at first unsure to get it or not, but now I am very happy with it and can't imagine playing without one.

I think with the bear market past us, we now have a great future ahead with a great new card set coming, changes to the gameplay to make more human interaction required and possibly lower bot usage. The tokenomics are looking good with DEC hitting peg and the flywheel kicking in for the first time recently which could send the value of SPS up which in turn could draw new players into the game.

My plan for the future is to keep stacking SPS and buying and upgrading cards to keep my deck competitive. I then hope to see the value of my assets growing again and that sure would be nice.

If you are new to Splinterlands, I think it is a great time to join as we are at the very bottom of the market and you can get cards and SPS very cheap now and there has been no better time to play the game! From a play2earn perspective, I think there are no better opportunities out there, especially ones that don't take your earnings in gas fees straight off the bat!

Thanks for reading.

Credits:

Title image created in Canva using images from source.
All images used from source unless otherwise stated.

SignUp to Splinterlands:

Let's connect: mypathtofire

Sort:  

I really wish I had held onto my Alpha cards. I had so many of them and I either combined them into Beta cards or sold them. Stupid move. I'm getting ready to pull some cards off the rental market right now so they are set to go for land play next week.

Ah that's a shame about the alpha cards. They are so sought after now.

That sounds good with land, I didn't buy any yet, but it's on my to do list!

I heard someone bought a rare land the other day for like $50 so the price has definitely come down.

yeah, I think there are going to be some good opportunities about.

Hello mypathtofire!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You receive 🎖 3.0 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 113 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Well, even though you have been playing for over a year, you may still not be good at some parts of the game
You've got great cards
Nice one!

Thanks. It still takes some time to learn the game and collect the cards.

Great progress! I play in gold too now, although I pushed my way to champion a couple times but it required renting too many cards. I'm content in gold for the time being. I didn't pick up a Runi, and I haven't really regretted it because I usually end up beating teams with a Runi. I use a bot about half the time anymore because sometimes I just don't have time to play and it honestly has a slightly higher win rate than I do.

I'm hoping the SPS continues the climb since I've been accumulating a lot of it over the last couple years, and I agree things do look good!
!DHEDGE

I find gold a nice sweet spot, maybe I will try champion league one day, but I think it requires many maxed cards and I would have to rent probably like you said.

The SPS news is quite exciting. I usually sell SPS for DEC, so that would be exiting to burn instead and see SPS pump more. Great work stacking!

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @thebighigg! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.bee
- @dhedge.ctp
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.cent
- @dhedge.alive

@thebighigg has 14 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.


Support Splinterlands by Submitting a positive review about Splinterlands on Gam3s & also nominate Splinterlands for the People's Choice Awards on Gam3s. Don't forgot to take screenshot & share those on Splinterlands GAM3 Awards Challenge! Comment section to earn some delicious upvote from Splinterlands.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Congratulations @mypathtofire! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 39500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 40000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for sharing! - @rehan12

Thanks for your support team.