How I turned my $1500 into $1828 investment! It could have been $120 more!

in Splinterlands2 years ago (edited)


image.png

First off I want the reader to know this is how I actually process what's going on inside of my brain. I have to write it down or type it out to fully understand my own ideas since my thoughts go off the charts sometimes and become really complex. Hopefully you can follow along with my logic and point out any discrepancies or errors I may have made. :D

So I went ahead and converted my DEC into swap.hive to have a solid grounding. I had around 157,000 DEC or something like that. I did miss the higher value a day ago which did cost me about $120 in lost profits which really hurts but I just chose to go out now at .0115 DEC to 1000 or about $11.50 which isn't too bad I'd say. I did invest when it was lower so I am making a profit regardless. It does kind of hurt my pride a lot in all honesty not selling it a higher price that I just missed but putting my pride aside I need to eventually get the ball rolling here into a more serious gear setting. I would not be upset at all if DEC went up to .15 in the next few days, I'm content with what I'm learning in my crypto journey. :) I mean whatever goes up can also come back down.

I believe the original amount I had used was eiher $1400 or $1500 when I add all my extra buys no idea why I keep saing $1600 sorry about that.


image.png

Now this is what I'm thinking...

So if one Hive is worth $.81 and I have 2,243 Hive then I have about $1,828 worth of Hive. (The price is always fluctuating but normaly it hovers around .81)

Now if I want to spend up to a maximum of $7 per pack I would need 7/.81= 8.64Hive per pack. That would give me 2,243/8.64= 259 packs at 8.64 Hive a pack. (This is from the secondary market and what's written below takes a different view of this)

Now this is what I've been wanting to do with the secondary sale after the presale where 2 million packs will be sold and 2x the amount of voucher's will be given. So this is very dependent upon the price of the voucher's but --->"theoretically"<--- speaking I was thinking that if voucher's would drop to $3 a voucher I would buy 200 voucher's so I could at least qualify for the extra 10 packs you get when buying 100 and I would still be paying $4(CL)+$3(voucher)=$7 per pack but now I also get airdrop points included and 10 free packs added.

So that would put me at 200 vouchers x $3 each = $600 Plus 200 packs x $4 = $800 so if we take and combine $600+$800= $1400 which would give me a total of 220 packs or 66,000 airdrop points.


image.png


Now I would still have $400 left over which means I could simply just go all in and buy 259 vouchers for $777 if they were sold at $3 each and 259 packs at $4 for $1,036 which would give me a total of 259 packs for $1,813.

The other thing I can do is use the extra $400 as a buffer for buying voucher's at a higher price. So let's say the voucher's were not at $3 and I'm crazy for thinking that but they were much higher. What would I do at this point? Glad you asked! ;)

So if I just wanted to stick to the 200 packs for the extra 20 I would need 200 voucher's which would give me a maximum amount of room of $600+$400=$1000/200 or $5 a voucher which would guarantee me the 220 packs.

Simple math would show $4(pack)x200 packs = $800 and then the $1000 I would use at $5 a voucher.

So what does this mean for me now? This means I'm not out of the game just yet and still have a small opportunity to make an investment where I can qualify for a little bit of cards being airdropped which is a huge blessing I've always wanted to be part of. I would be in with the crowd although I'm not sure how many if any at all I would receive from airdrops if I only had 220 packs total.


image.png

Worse case scenario is that if voucher's do not hit $5 or $3 but remain at a higher amount then at this point I would simply just buy the packs off of the secondary market and just hold on to them before the public sale went live. If packs were being sold at $7 or less then I'd still qualify for the 259 but with no airdrop points at all but either way I'd still be in the game of reselling but in just a different form. The biggest difference I can see is if I'm able to buy the voucher's at the $3 price which would give me 259+20 packs vs the $5 range which would just give me 200+20 packs with a total difference of 59 packs which is kind of huge. But something is better than nothing to keep it in a positive way.

EDIT:
I totally forgot to add the part where I needed to buy $800 worth of SPS which is at $.51 right now so Just bought 1542 at that price so this will be another factor I did not even think about. If SPS goes up really high then I'm going to have around 1560 sps which could go in any direction. I need to buy these to get the packs on the actual website if voucher's drop to $5 or $3 so I guess this would be my new form of "DEC" in variable change. Hopefully it goes to the moon and I'm blessed with some extra packs! :D
image.png

All images taken are from the splinterlands website please don't shoot me I'm just using them to tell my story I do not own any of them.

#SPLINTERLANDS #SPT #ONEUP #LEOFINANCE #HIVEGAMING #CRYPTO #PLAY2EARN #CTP #MONEY #PALNET

Sort:  

Did not expect the rest of the post to contain a plan that will make you lose most of your investment.

I predict an 80% decline in value in packs/voucher related stuff post presale.

Oh wow so then I should just buy the packs and not do the airdrops?

Air drops need to be worth about $1000? to justify buying them. I don't think that will be the case, plus the market will be saturated.

Well you are making the statement my friend that it's a bad investmetn so where is your math coming from? I'm very confused as to what yo uare trying to tell me. I'm very confused right now not following what you are getting it. It's good or bad or what?

It's a bad investment because look at voucher prices, pack costs. Packs will gradually decline to below 4. And right now, you need vouchers to participate in pre-sale. Voucher cost is likely greater than air drop benefit. Thus, a poor investment.

Packs are going to go below $4 when you still need a voucher that is worth 4x that amount? This is completely making zero sense to me. How in the second ssale am I going to be paying $16 per voucher? You will get 2x the voucher's they will decrease. How did you get packs below $4?

Vouchers won't be needed for the remaining 50% of the sale. (Or maybe more.)

Congratulations @shaddrak! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!