Opening the Rift

in Splinterlands2 years ago

With everything going on, I think it is worth getting a little space and talking about something else for a bit, so - Splinterlands is on the cards!

image.png

I ended up buying 2000 packs and getting the extra 400 bonus packs with the intention of maxing out one full deck.

image.png

My first pack opening...

image.png

image.png

Underwhelming.

I think the theoretical number to max a deck was around 1450 packs.

So, I continued on opening after buying all the potions necessary (it took a couple rounds), I ended up cracking 1600 of the packs in quick succession, which was not quite enough to max a deck. But instead of opening more, I decided to buy what I needed off the secondary market.

I needed

  • 2 Skargore
  • 14 Rune Crafter
  • 22 Bramble Pixies
  • 4 Lemell Refugees
  • 1 Whelp Herder

Which came to about 22 dollars extra - or the price of 4-5 packs.

image.png

So now, I have a regular Rift Watcher army at max level, with a few left over odds and ends.

image.png

And, out of 1600 packs, I scored 136 regular legendaries, which I think is about on par with the average, as it is a strike rate of 1:11.75 packs.

image.png

But of course, people are also interested in the number of Gold Foil Legendaries too:

image.png

I don't have much luck with these, but perhaps everyone feels that way. I ended up the proud owner of six GFLs so far, but nothing maxable for play. I am not sure I would max them anyway at this point, but that might change in the future, if LAND ever happens.

1600 presale packs are worth $8000 a pack, plus vouchers. However, with the vouchers buying 2000 packs, there is effectively a 20% discount as it collects 400 bonus packs. I didn't pay for the majority of my vouchers directly, so that is not a direct cost. There is an opportunity cost of selling them though. However, those 1600 packs worth $8000 are now worth:

image.png

Yep, that is a loss, if not factoring in the 20% discount. With that included, it is still a positive gain. However, I suspect that they will drop further in price for a while as more packs are opened and people sell, especially since the general consensus is at the moment perhaps - that they are not as strong as assumed. But, is this the case?

At least for me at first glance, it would be the case, but what I have quickly realized is - they are are very hard to use well. Once I learn however, I feel that many of these cards are going to be staples, at least under certain rulesets. While struggling so far to use them - in some cases, I have wiped the floor with them when I get the lineup correct. Now, I just need to experiment more to get it "right" more often.

Consistency requires practice.

image.png

With three million packs in total, there are still 2.3M left to sell, but I think the pack sales on this has been heavily affected by all of the other offerings from the Splinterlands team, like Tower Defense. I feel that this dilution of attention is more a negative on the ecosystem at the moment, especially given how the proposal for SPS to be dropped on the TD packs is being whipped through the governance process.

I don't like the practice of politics at the best of times. Less in my gaming.

"Rift Watchers" may be aptly named to describe the current landscape of the Splinterlands community.

But, I won't let that get me down for now, as there are challenges in personal life to worry about, which I will turn my attention to now.

As far as the season of play is going though - I have scraped into Champion 3 in Wild and did the same for Modern, but played just one more round, and ended up slipping back to mid-Diamond 2. I am back in Diamond 1, but I have killed my ECR and I am unlikely to get back to Champion 3, as I will be heading back to the hospital soon - where real life awaits.

Can't avoid reality for long.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I've been thinking SO MUCH about the decision between opening and holding the packs.. and at first glance your $8000 value of packs being worth $7,599.17 at current market prices - holding seems like the right move.

However, given the massively increased SPS winnings in Champ III and above, plus the tournaments you'll now (potentially) have better results in, you may be able to close that $400ish gap really really quickly.

However, given the massively increased SPS winnings in Champ III and above

Unfortunately, I can't make it any above at the moment - struggling to get into C3 by season end and to do so - my ECR gets wrecked.

Yeah, I'm on the cusp unable to break in.

I'm hoping that next season you'll have a much easier time of it since you'll have your maxed RW cards from the start. I do not look forward to meeting you on the battlefield.

Hope you make it in - it is so much easier to start from diamond - though I still struggle.

Learning these cards is a nightmare though! So many new things to consider.

My heart bleeds for you?

:D

What I mean though is, it is going to take me some time to get a hold of them. There are some pretty devastating possibilities, but getting them right is difficult. I chance upon a few, then forget them for the next round I could play it. It is so easy to go with the defaults.

Haha, I knew what you meant, but of course I can't miss an opportunity to be a jerk about it.

Even just introducing Conqueror Jacek into my collection has completely rocked my world. He's opened up so many combos that have been brilliant and so so bad... and that's just one summoner. So I honestly can't imagine what 43 new cards including summoners does to that 2:30 of deck building.

I bought hardly any but can't open them to Saturday when I get back from ibeefa! Something to look forward to at least!

Have fun - Don't drop too many Es.

It's hard not to drop them when you're mad drunk 🤣🤣

opening is always fun at least - for the same price though, I could open many different gadgets!!

That reminds me, I could do with a decent gadget, it's been a while!

I only purchased 10 packs but was lucky enough to score a golden foil summoner which I did sell for $48. So more or less break even. Also not planning to purchase some more.
It is hard to keep up with all the evolutions. And even harder to find a break even point.

That is a decent return already!!

More than I could imagine!

Wow! You maxed them out, that is awesome!!! Have a great end of the season! ~@clove71

Thanks Clove! :)

I made it into C3 in both formats, so happy to stay there (only scraped in)

I honestly don't get why you lot all bought so many packs, my purchase was just a hedge.

I think maybe spend less time in that Discord around purchase time, we all just goad each other on to make bad decisions.

This time around I sold all my Voucher for a nice little profit and already I can buy back what I want cheaper than the cost of the packs, probably be cheaper still in a month or so!

But, you don't play. I am still playing and without these, it is going to be nasty once people know how to use them. Sure, I could rent too, but still have an aversion to being completely rwlient on it.

But you don't play

Yeah strangely I've adopted a rational approach to this whole investment thing!

It is easier to rent, but if playing in Diamond and Champions, not as lucrative :)

Nice opening of 1,600 packs and congrats on a full RW set. The Legendary Neutral is so cool.

With the EV of a RW pack being so close to the market price, opening them now makes sense even if you don't play with them, renting them out will cover any difference. And if you are playing in Diamond+, it feels like it will almost be a requirement to have them to be competitive.

Will be a must for diamond+ up for sure. Will take a while to work out, but there is a lot of big hitters in the lineup.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joydukeson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks :)

What are you thoughts on the new summoners? Just by looking at it, I am not sure how I would use it, or even choose to use it over the existing ones.

The life one is decent, as it makes any taunt into shieldbearer. Haven't used the others much yet.

Yeah it seems that the individual cards value aren't trading close to the value of the packs at the moment. So far I have opened a pack, even with one Epic summoner, it's still below the initial cost of 5 USD of SPS + 1 VOUCHER.

Whelp Herder seems like an interesting card, reminds me of Deeplurker, a Little League version. Haha.

if opening in bulk, they trade on average close to the cost, but opening individual packs, one pack might be far below.

Whelp is a little like that - though I haven't got it to work well yet!

greetings @tarazkp
No doubt that the investment of the 2000 packs is very good, that way you can improve your deck a lot, splinterlands is a very good game and when you improve the value of the Sps will be much better for everyone.
I have little time to enter and it has cost me a little but recently I was able to reach silver III, I hope to continue improving getting resources to buy more cards.
I hope also that you are already improving your health

Are you enjoying playing?

greetings @tarazkp _
No doubt that if I enjoy it a lot but I have a hard time reaching the levels, I recently reached silver III but I have to be able to acquire more cards to be able to reach silver II .
I play every day, I hope to learn a lot more

One considering the immediate market value will assume, you are at a loss since the cost of packs is less than the rewards you obtained after opening them. The cards themselves are priceless considering how good they are now. You can outperform most people with these cards. They are very powerful. I have been using them, and they seem to give me some edge to win in some matches. My major concern perhaps will is the coming bear market. It could really affect the card market and sps as well

bear markets affect everything - so it is what it is with the prices. if playing and having fun though - at least there is something to do in the meantime.

It is not always easy to max out your decks to become the most powerful king on the battlefield. I am pretty sure you enjoy your progress.

Max deck - still no king... ;D
*I have a max RW and CL - but missing most of everything else :)

well you bought a lot of packs im thinking of buying some but I don't understand much about of sps I try to stay away from an investment I don't understand

Unless interested in being active it might be better to stay away. It isn't about playing, but as you said, understanding is important.

Yeah I you have a point so I will be learning how sps works

2000 packs are crazy xD

2000 RW packs...!! That's huge man, that's huge..

Also congratulations on pulling all those GFLs..

Now, when you have a full set of maxxed out cards, do some grind already..

I grind all the time! My ECR is always hammered.

I think it is worth the thrill opening the packs 😀

You still come out ahead in the end, which is excellent.

Opening is fun!

as I will soon return to the hospital, where real life awaits me.

The infinite connection of love with your child is the most healing magnet there is in this universe. Believe it, trust it, strength and faith always Sr @tarazkp

Trust is in short supply.

Your little girl is a loving baby with her own light, in these moments when her health is not a game of life, it is a treasure to be protected with faith and hope to continue, with the only magic that exists in this world, love hand in hand with science .... That is called trust.

Together as parents, be your rock of love, of family constancy. God be with you Mr@tarazkp

Congrats sir. You already have max Riftwatchers cards.

lucky :D nice cards bro