Splinterlands, The time I went from Scraps to a Gold Foil Legendary

in Splinterlands3 months ago

This weeks social media challenge by @splinterlands is to write about our most remarkable moments in Splinterlands, and I thought that this would be the perfect time to go back and look at my "From scratch to to GFL" Series that I did now over 3 years ago.

image.png

  • THE BEGINNING

I started the series of going from Scratch to a Gold Foil Legendary in February 21st of 2020 with this post, The beginning to a grindful journey.

I did not want to hinder my progress on my main account so I used an alt account @profitvotes to conduct this experiment.

I first had a look at the market and then the lowest prices Gold foil legendary was the "Scale doctor" card at $39.75, Which today is priced at $550.
But the times have not changed that much, because right now the lowest priced GFL on the market is "Cropse fiend" at only $44.5.
image.png................................................................................ image.png


I then explained the rules that I would abide during my series, which were:

✔️

  • I started with LVL 2 Malric inferno and LVL 2 Alric Stormbringer summoners (which I delegated from my main account)

✖️

  • I couldn't use resources outside of what I earn from Splinterlands (This was so it was 100% authentic Splinterlands run)
  • I could only aquire resources from playing/trading/renting with my Splinterlands cards (to clarify that no external sources couldn't help me)
  • I couldn't buy packs/orbs/mystery potions (So the challenges couldn't be completed by just getting lucky from opening packs)
  • I couldn't join a guild (don't know why I added that tbh)
  • I would use monstermarket.io to make purchases of cards for that sweet cashback (This is still a nice way to spend less when buying cards)
  • I wouldn't allow myself to go below 60% ERC (This was added because I wanted to show, that anyone could do it)
  • Goal was to own a GFL, renting one would not count (For obvious reasons)

image.png
This was the initial thumbnail I used


  • THE JOURNEY

The journey took me 578 days total, but only 80 posts (which means 80 active days of playing).
image.png

Everytime I played the account I made a post about it, so technically I went from Scratch to a GFL in just 80 days of playing, but the extra 498 days played a huge role in asset appreciation. It also goes to show how unmotivated I got somewhere along the lines that so many days of not playing came into this.
I had never looked at this side of my journey from 3 years ago before making this post and it kind of shocked me that it did take me this long, when I had always felt like I finished the whole series in under a year.

By the mid way point at post #40 the cheapest GFL price had risen to $45.59 and my total account value was at $12.74 in Cards + 1029.59 DEC. (I had 427 trophies, so deep in Bronze).
This was in Oct 6, 2020 which was already 228 Days into the challenge.

The big jump

Between posts #68 and #69 the cheapest GFL price on the market jumped from $119.99 to $319.98 seemingly out of nowhere (The crypto market boom was here). There was only 7 days between post #68 and #69 and my collection value also went from $69.41 + 1682.94 DEC to $172.14 + 1753.32 DEC.
With just a week of not even playing, my collection had risen almost 3x in price.
image.png

  • THE ENDING

At episode #79 my collection had risen to a mind boggling over $800 value!!! and the cheapest GFL was only $297 on the market. So I called that episode "The end is near" and by post #80 I was ready to end my almost a year and a half long series of going from Scratch to a Gold Foil Legendary in Splinterlands.

On september 21, 2021 I went ahead and made my last post on the series where I bought a Gold Foil legendary and showed off where I had ended up with the @profitvotes account.

Between post #79 and #80 was another 4 days and the market started declining already.

But this is what my accomplishment looked like on the final day.

Collection value: $722.08
DEC Value: $36.24
SPS Value: $45.65
image.png

And then I bought the long waited Gold Foil legendary

image.png

I hope you enjoyed the recap of my probably biggest accomplishment in Splinterlands, where I went from just 2 delegated level 2 summoners and nothing else to a Gold foil legendary card, and not only that, I still had over $500 of extra cards leftover to show for my grind.

If there's anything you should take from this post. It's that, everything is possible if you put your mind to it.
What are you waiting for ? Go do your battles and earn your daily rewards now!

Go to Splinterlands

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tsnaks.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Thank you very much <3

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Spread the word on X !

Congratulations @tsnaks! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List