You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rushed thoughts from a desk | It was beach day!

in Cervantes3 years ago

We never made it to Sisal but it looks really nice. I mean the color of the sea is almost like on the other side of Yucatan (Riviera Maya). Seems more inviting than the nearby Progreso beaches...

Btw good to know your girlfriend is here on Hive too. What´s her username?

@tipu curate

Sort:  

To be honest I like the caribbean nature side and beachside more, but they are very close between Yucatan (Merida, el Cuyo and others) and Quintana Roo (Tulum, Bacalar, Playa del Carmen etc) but the thing that kills it for me is the people. The people in Merida and 1000x times more pleasant, warm and respectful. Plus no cartels.

Thanks for the Tipu man, I appreciate it. I'll give you her username in a bit

Yeah, I have the same feeling. The eastern coast is more beautiful in terms of the sea and beaches but I don´t really like the behavior of the locals there. My friend once said: "It feels like they want you to pay for breathing the air here." Quite aptly I think. Plus these days, there is a huge increase in all kinds of scams not just by the ordinary folks but also the police. In PDC, police would stop random tourists right on La Quinta, make up some excuse for a body search (usually drugs) and when doing so, they steal anything valuable (money, cameras, jewelry etc.) from the confused unsuspecting person. More and more reports of these scams have been showing up all over the Riviera. Pathetic. And yeah, there is a spike in the cartel violence too. Especially Tulum. 65 murders in this little town just between January and September this year... Crazy. I don´t know why Merida is such a safe haven but it obviously is... You picked a very good place as your new home.