You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tribute Mario Benedetti: 100 years since his birth. | Literary Review [ENG-ESP]

in Cervantes4 years ago

Beautifully presented - just calling on @soyrosa as she will appreciate the effort you have gone to use mark up to write such a clear bilingual post (hope you don't mind, @soyrosa!).

Feeling very ashamed for not knowing who this author is! I only really know three south American writers - Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Isabel Allende and Pablo Neruda. Oh - I'm wrong! I just googled a list of south american authors and I also know Borges and Lhosa, though it's been twenty odd years since I read them. I'll have to look this author up! I do try to read from different cultures but I have to admit I don't read as much as I used to.

Sort:  

I recommend it, it is normal that you do not know him, there are still many readers who do not know him and more if they are not South Americans. Neruda, Allende, Garcia Marquez and Borgues, wow, you know more than you think, those are masters of literature. I am exploring the English authors, I am very much attracted by their literary culture, Charles Dickens, Orwell, the wonderful Agatha Christie and Lewis Carrol, But they have so much more that I want to read, the English are references in the literature.

Orwell is amazing. Try DH Lawrence. One of my favourites.

And then the American writers.. Steinbeck was always a fave.