Think Twice Before You Mess With Us

in PhotoArt2 years ago

pssshsawhs

I looked up from my drawing and glanced over to where I heard the whisper. But all I saw was my Mom. She lives now with me in my tiny house and like so often, she is sitting in her rocking chair in front of the fire. Feet stretched towards the glowing embers, eyes closed, lips not moving. Hmm, maybe I'm now starting to hear things. I turned back to my drawing.

psssphhwheeeerrrrsss

I was getting worried and quickly turned my head asking "Mom, you okay? May I get you something?" After a tough year, mom had been getting better and finally the institution allowed her to live under my care just a few days earlier.

psspsssphhwheeeerrrrsss sehheellsssgs

"What was that mom?" now fully facing her in front of the fire. Mom was still softly rocking in her chair, quietly smiling. I had to smile too, it was so good to have her home. I walked over and put another small log on the fire, stopping for a moment looking into the fire while softly brushing mom's shoulder with my hand.

I jerked my hand back, I shivered. I felt a... moving sensation on my hand, shoulder, neck. So, so light and cool despite the fire. All windows and doors were shut to keep the cold winter air out. What is happening, I thought.

"Mom, did you feel that too?." I slightly squeezed her shoulder again. It was cool to the touch. 'Let me get you a blanket'. I turned, grabbed a blanket from the sofa, and draped it around her small shoulders. I held on to them to further warm her.

psswherrrsssss ppllssseeellllls

I heard the whisper again. It almost seemed to make sense yet there was no one else here except my mom and me. Mom's eyes are still closed and her lips did not move, I swear. Is it now me who is hearing things?

Hugging mom tightly, I started rocking with her, back and forth. I felt the warmth of the fire on my back yet mom felt - so cool and fragile. I reached out to cradle her head in my hands when I heard it again, clearer this time

pssswheresss help meeesss

"What the...?!' I jumped and let mom go expecting to hear more words. But there was only silence. Even the crackling of the fire seemed to have stopped. Mom's eyes were still closed but now her lips were moving

"Where are you? Help me, please come back to me"

I fell to my knees, shaking and hugging my mom "wake up, mom, please!" To no avail. Mom simply smiled with her eyes closed, she looked so fragile but - happy, and content in her world.

After what felt like an eternity I eased off, let her go but held on to her hand. I turned around to the sound of another whisper, crispy clear this time

"Your mom is home now, with you and with me. We have spent a lifetime together. From here on I will be watching over both of you."

I heard this whisper clearly while still holding mom's hand. Slowly I let my head sink into her lap and closed my eyes. It wasn't long until I drifted away into sleepy dreams with a smile on my lips, knowing that everything would be okay with mom and me. For as long as we can hold on to our (imaginary) friend, our guardian angel.

photoart-5.jpg

divider.png
I feel like I need to say a few words about this whole post. First and foremost: I am not a writer, I am a visual artist. This post's image is a digital composition of my own photos and several digital assets I have accumulated over my years of making digital photo-art (sources and links below).

The title of this piece is: Think Twice Before You Mess With Us and I published it first on my DA page on 12/29/2018, almost exactly three years ago.

When I saw snook's challenge through @dreemsteem's entry I thought about posting this image only but then I felt inspired to have it accompanied by a few words as well. While I had fun writing this short story I don't think that I'll be writing much but rather stick to my photos and paintings instead.

If you made it down here - thanks so much for reading!

Cheers,
(Ocean)Bee

divider.png


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©Oceanbee|ImagesByCW

Other sources:
Model: faestock / Era 8
Wings: frozenstocks /Angel Wings
Lion: Fotostyle-Schindler Lion
Bottle: foxeysquirrel (bought in Teddi's shop with other files)
Everything else is blended & painted, purchased and my own resources.
Tools: PS CC 2019 and Wacom Intuos Pro M.

divider.png

Sort:  

Einfach wunderschön !LUV


@beeber(2/4) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Herzlichen Dank! Freut mich wirklich, daß es Dir gefällt.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @oceanbee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner

Congratulations! You've been awarded an upvote from The Creative Coin Fund.

Copy of Copy of Freewrite 40Day 1100 (1).png

Manual selection by @cliffagreen.

Your story IS PERFECT!!!! and so is your art!!

I think you underestimate yourself when it comes to writing.

Thank you so much for joining in!! I am so happy you did!!

Awwww, that is so very nice of you to say! I was really nervous putting this out there. So I hit 'publish' very quickly before I could change my mind - LOL.

Thanks again!

Honest. IT REALLY is a GREAT story!!

YOU really REALLY should keep writing!!

You did it. You really did. You made me tear up just a little with your comment...

I will tell you this about me. I do not lie. I am horrible at sugar coating anything. When friends ask me tough questions or want advice I make very sure they want my advice because I do not lie and say things as I SEE them.

So, with that in mind, I have no reason to tell you your writing is great other than because it IS.

HUGE HUGS to you

and know that I am not that nice that I leave comments I do not believe in 1000% :D

I am starting to see your personality, snook, 😉. Thank you very much for your words!

Sometimes it is hard not to lie when you don't want to hurt someone and still say the truth... I know because I don't lie either.

Right back at ya with

HUGS

😍

https://www.dictionary.com/browse/cherub

cherub
a celestial being. Genesis 3:24; Ezekiel 1, 10.
Theology. a member of the second order of angels, often represented as a beautiful rosy-cheeked child with wings.
a beautiful or innocent person, especially a child.
a person, especially a child, with a sweet, chubby, innocent face.

I am just going to drop this here :D