Chinese Lantern Festival, North Carolina

in HiveBloPoMo2 years ago (edited)


0P2A3107.JPG


Let's go to the Chinese Lantern Festival!
Just a It is such a great opportunity to show off the beauty and art of the Chinese culture. Every year, the company sends workers to build these works of art similar to ones that they craft for the Chinese New Year. Because they are handcrafted, they are never the same, except the dragon who rests upon Symphony Lake - he was a careful redo from last year, actually 2019, the last year they held it. Due to COVID, it was cancelled last year. But, he is back! You must agree, it is quite the piece of work. I hope they do him again next year! I will say that you never know what to expect!! It is always a surprise!


dragon.jpg


I recently visited the Raleigh-Durham area of North Carolina. I was delighted that my visit would coincide with the Chinese Lantern Festival. Again. It is located right on the outskirts, in the town of Cary.


0P2A3205.JPG


More than 2,500 lanterns create the displays of the Chinese Lantern Festival, To me, it showcases the beauty and artistry of the Chinese culture, also displaying an migling of old world traditions with a touch of westernization. This is definitely a authentic multi-cultural experience. It is fun to try to spot the different elements of it.

0P2A3198.JPG


What an amazing display of color and artistry. This is one of my favorite pieces.

Gradient - Green.png

The festival will run from November 19th, 2021, to January 9th, 2022, from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. each evening. From Thursday to Sunday evenings, the Twilight Ticket Experience will get you in at 4:30 p.m.


0P2A3059.JPG


The Panda Express. Pandas are a big part of the Chinese culture. The Panda symbolizes strength, along with peace and friendship. Their gentle temperament earned them this symbol.


0P2A3168.JPG


According to China's various folk customs, people get together on the night of the Lantern Festival to celebrate with different activities. ... The most important and prevalent customs are enjoying lanterns, guessing lantern riddles, eating tangyuan, and lion dances. It is the truth. Google told me so.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmhwmgqNAp8ySJpD8e5vMmMu3DiYnzmkKKKPEVKWHcFQ9qqJRFaVJ1B1CtJe6i.jpg


Have you ever seen such beautiful lanterns? The hundreds of lanterns have more than 150,000 LED lights. The lanterns light up the path from the parking lot into the entrance of the park. You go sooooo slow it seems like a mile!! It's not! Once you do it, you want to turn around and do it again.


lantern.jpg

Center Crest.png

christmas pinecone.jpg


. I keep saying that less will be more this year. More than I expect. :) I love this season of joy, it is all about family and friends. In keeping with the Christmas Countdown, I give you one seasonal picture and the day count! There are 26 days 00 hours 03 minutes and 21 seconds.


chinese lantern festival piece.jpg


To the Chinese, butterflies symbolize freedom, conjugal love, beauty, and soul but at the same time death, the vulnerability of life, female vanity, and transient joy. Its metamorphosis is the extrication from flesh to the soul and rises from the heavy, ugly reality to the light and beautiful spiritual world. source


0P2A2995.JPG


There are days and then, there are days of great beauty. Countless days where the sun comes up, welcoming us to another day, Can't you see? Today is a #BeautifulSunday hosted by @Ace108. It just wouldn't be Sunday without it!


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmp8am5Bej9APyFeCcShMSmHqNstUDHGfzmLEikgvdzguSHJZxv2kf7uY1Tbvh.jpg


This is the Panda Paradise. It changed colors every minute or so and was just teaming with Panda Bears. Can you see them all?


chinese men.jpg


This post is definitely for a #SublimeSunday in the making, by the Meister of my morning, @c0ff33a. I do love my @c0ff33a and he likes eclectic! A match made in heaven. and #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a, where you share your Sunday, wherever you are, whatever you do.


0P2A2992.JPG


There are a few things that you should know before going to the festival!
The festival is rain or shine
No refunds or exchanges
“Any night” tickets can be used only once
The walkways are paved and are wheelchair accessible.


0P2A3103.JPG


And just like that, this post is done. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again! Thank you for taking the time, following along with me, perusing life. Have a wonderful day night!! week ahead! Never forget. Kindness counts, wherever you go, whatever you do.


The exact address is: Koka Booth Amphitheatre,8003 Regency Parkway, Cary, North Carolina You can get more information on tickets and prices here


Adult 13 & UP: $16.00
Ages 3-12: $11.00
Seniors: $13.00

Price will increase on the date of event, except seniors

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmp8aUcVmdcxmwprbts5PHZmwNmhLNWKJ4JnsWxmGTsRy76kuwdqmzbK1fJAG3.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBhnrFnQn3mUCzGtRRycWbZN8Qb5Vk7VYD6dnXR6CMde1YnZXMqMuW3Ptnr9.jpg

W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFNKkiqbuqY2w8xt5o9p.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


This is my pinmapple code: [//]:# (!pinmapple 34.562619 lat -78.925781 long Koka Booth Amphitheatre,8003 Regency Parkway, Cary, North Carolina d3scr)


Sort:  

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1398.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks so much, @lizanomadsoul and @pinmapple! I appreciate what you guys do and yes! I check out the other posts! Where else can you go around the world like this for free?

Oh my. I thought i heard one of the shops here already playing Chinese New Year songs is fast forwarding past Christmas. All very nice but it's the pandas with bamboo that's more fun for me.

I think this is as close as I can get, Ace! @ace108 They are already playing Chinese New Yeat? I thought Americans rushed it! :)

I hope you had a #BeautifulSunday!



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmpnfBNEoyK6c8smD3Ki8qVyVdErRzoYqVyT4u7ZWVtf2TkmifT2B1jajkrvzY.jpg


I think I like the one you included in the post better.

The colors and details of these lanterns are so beautiful, and thanks for explaining the significance of the details on them, visiting that festival must be such an amazing experience, its something i must do again, the last time I saw on in person was when I lived in Singapore and kind of scary to think that was over 35 years ago LOL

Wow! I can't even wrap my head around the fact of going all those places actually. When you think about it, you have traveled more in a few years than most do in a lifetime. It was a haven to go to. They sent everyone there as a reward for the other places you had to go. :)

They are pretty amazing to see, aren't they? I want to say there was a place in the Northeast that had them. Menden!

https://blackstoneheritagecorridor.org/event/festival-of-illumination-world-of-lights/2021-12-01/

I have indeed been lucky to have travelled a lot Singapore was one of my first experiences of traveling with the NZ army

Thanks fir the link I will check it out

Typical Chinese ... very colourful. Thanks for sharing these images from Chinese Lantern Festival. Nice post, @dswigle.

It is, isn't it? I do love the colors and how they pop! Thank you for taking a look at them. I appreciate it.

Have a most fabulous day!

Wow ... what a spectacle. I wish I could have seen it in person:)

I think you would have loved it! They also had Chinese acrobats that did an amazing job! These shots are not edited at all, except for cropping. That is how brilliant the colors are!

Hi, Pryde! Thanks for stopping by!

The dragon looks so pretty and loves the colors light. ❤️
Great article. Hope you enjoy it a lot.
God bless you dear sweet friend @dswigle

I do love the dragon! It was so huge and took up half of the lake! The colors popped and were not even saturated.

It would definitely have been too much! Thank you for stopping by and leaving your kind words!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much for the generous upvote! Have a great day!

Wow! Amazing Chinese festival. All are decorated beautifully. OMG! More than 150000++ LED.. it's really amazing.

Thank you! I take no credit for the light displays. They are pretty incredible and always have such a wow factor. I don't even have to tweak the pictures. They pop all by themselves.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. Have a great day!

It is definitely something new and exciting to watch for people from other cultures 😁

Actually, it is not our culture, but visiting from China.

I assumed that. It was a general statement including myself also 😉

I didn't want anyone to assume that it was something that it was not. But, yes. :) Thank you for stopping by. It is fun to share cultures, aiming towards understanding each other.

Yes, definitely. You get enriched by discovering new cultures. Thank You also for the interesting photos.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@pixresteemer(1/9) tipped @dswigle (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Thanks for the pizza!

Hello dswigle, excellent writing and magnificent photographs, I have been delighted with both. Thank you for sharing such an excellent occasion.

They are beautiful!
it reminds me of the lantern parade we have during the mid-Autumn festival in Vietnam. 😀

Those lanterns!!!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 83 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
6

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer. Much appreciated!